We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ter Duinen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ter Duinen
Ranked #6 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Kingsdown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

If you are looking for a quiet bed and breakfast hotel pleasantly situated in a quiet street next to the canal, of the highest standard in every respect, owned and run by a delightful couple, then look no further. You have found it.

Room Tip: Go for a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,498
    355
    34
    9
    6
See reviews for
341
1,282
34
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

We booked this hotel as it was very highly-ranked on Trip Advisor, and I usually rely on it!

We had a 'canal view' room. And while this was technically true, it was on the top floor, so to look out at the canal, one had to stand on tip toes and peer out of the velux windows. However, the view itself was lovely.

It was also listed as a double room, however it was in actuality a family room. 2 separate single beds, along with a 'double bed' consisting of two single beds pushed together.

Taking a shower was only possible by sitting in the bath, and holding the shower head and pipe.

These things are not, in themselves, terrible, and the hotel is only listed as a three-star. However, paying £150 per night for it, I did expect a little more.

On the plus side, the staff are absolutely delightful. The gentleman who checked us in, and the gentleman who manned the front desk on Saturday were both charming, polite and very helpful indeed. The downstairs of the hotel is, frankly, beautiful. A lovely place to spend some time, and the breakfast was good too. We also had some time to kill before our taxi arrived, and they were happy for us to sit and wait, having let us leave our bags all day.

Location-wise, I knew what to expect from the map - it's a 15-minute walk to the main square, but it's a very nice walk past the quiet canal and along the picturesque streets - so I don't find that to be an issue at all.

In summary, I would really like to have given this place 3.5/5 - I think that the price and reviews on Trip Advisor, when matched against the standard of the room, are slightly skewed. If I go back to Bruges, I would definitely consider staying here again, but not in that room.

Room Tip: Room 41, a canal view, is not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Lovely hotel, fantastic hosts. Really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Ter Duinen the rooms were very contemporary and our view across the canal was breathtaking. The hotel is a good walk to the centre of Bruges but the scenery is worth it.
Definitely recommend and will be returning !

Room Tip: Front room with a view of the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louedwards44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

The gentleman who met us at reception was the most pleasant and helpful man we had ever come across in a hotel. The lady who served breakfast in the morning and the other gentleman who helped us organise our departure (who I believe were the owners) were wonderful.

The hotel itself - inside and out - is decorated tastefully and has a warm and welcoming feel to it. Its not laid out in a typical soulless manner and has character with its pretty features and charming touches. Our room was large and the bed was comfortable, I mentioned my partner's height and without any fuss we found we had been given a room with a large and tall shower. The room was decorated neutrally and had exposed wood beams which was lovely. It felt very secure and we had our own 'front door' with 24 hour access as our room key also opened the main door.

Breakfast in the morning is continental and from 8-10 am. You are offered coffee or tea, orange juice and a boiled egg with breads and pastries. There is a buffet area to help yourself from including hams, cheeses, jams, fruits and yoghurt. The hotel is set just by the canal and location wise the hotel is only a short walk away from the main square, you can get to everywhere in no time.

100% recommended!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jelbe13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

We had a lovely stay at Hotel Ter Duinen. The staff are so friendly and helpful, the breakfast was a perfect size and lots of variety. Its in a beautiful location over looking the canal and only a 10 - 15 minute walk to the main square, so it is so peaceful at night time.

Room Tip: I would highly reccomend upgrading to a canal view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaysgalore11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

This hotel is privately owned and run by a truly lovely and welcoming couple. There were six of us travelling together for a 'special' birthday trip. We were very well looked after and nothing was too much trouble to sort for us - including a champagne breakfast and a private horse and carriage ride.
The breakfast room and breakfast itself is an absolute delight.
The only thing that lets the hotel down - very slightly - are the bathrooms. Although they are spotlessly clean, they are quite old fashioned, in that we only had baths with hand-held showers. Most people these days tend to shower rather than bath.
We had canal view rooms, well worth spending the extra money for.
The hotel is set on a quiet street alongside the canal but only 10 minutes walk from the main market square.....would definitely return.

Room Tip: Canal view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

Spent a long weekend here with friends and really enjoyed our stay. We were made to feel very welcome from the first minute we arrived, the rooms were clean and comfortable, and breakfast was excellent. The canal side location was out of the hustle of the town centre, and it was nice to come back via a short walk to the peace and quiet of this homely small hotel.
We all opted for canal view rooms - number 23 was ours - which were very good, although our friends did not have stand up showers (hand held over the bath types only). Wifi was free and speedy! The owners were very helpful with advice, taxis and organisation.
Overall a good place from which to explore the city.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SuttonHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.5 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.3 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#9 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ter Duinen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ter Duinen

Property: Hotel Ter Duinen
Address: Langerei 52, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bruges
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ter Duinen 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very charming hotel along a beautiful canal in medieval Brugge. Superb buffetbreakfast, free wifi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ter Duinen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ter Duinen Hotel
Ter Duinen Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing