We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent place to stay in Bruges!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ter Duinen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ter Duinen
Ranked #6 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
fareham
2 reviews
“An excellent place to stay in Bruges!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Have just spent a very comfortable & enjoyable couple of nights at this hotel. A quiet. location, about a ten minute walk from the centre of Bruges. Very comfortable room overlooking canal, as requested. Spotlessly clean, great breakfast in a lovely dining room & exteremely obliging owners who went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed our stay. Highly recommended!




  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,901 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,497
    355
    34
    9
    6
See reviews for
340
1,282
34
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

I admit I found this one on Trip advisor. A one night stop over to break our constant too and fro-ing to Germany and back. Bruges is a natural stop for us, but it is highly touristy. The Ter Duinen is away from the madding crowd in a quiet canal side road within easy walk of the centre. Family run, the staff without exception were helpful and charming. The breakfast was freshly prepared, lovely fresh fruit salad and a good selection was available. The coffee was excellent. As we like to sleep with the windows wide open, whatever the weather we were recommended a back room looking out onto the small patio garden. But even on a Monday morning the traffic at the front of the hotel was minimal.

Room Tip: Don't think it matters, quiet location. all rooms good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

As soon as I spoke to Marc to make the reservation, I knew we were on a winner!! (Well, the other TripAdvisor comments certainly helped...) Marc told us everything we needed to know before arriving - right down to the cost of bus vs taxi - and he wasn't wrong!

Rooms are quiet, spacious, clean and very comfortable. Breakfast in the sun filled dining room was a delight, but the thing that made the weekend were our hosts Marc and Lieve.

You can tell when a family is genuine about their desire to make guests remember the Hotel Ter Duinen as a family hotel, run (and renovated) by the owners and their extended family. We certainly felt part of this family during our stay. Nothing was too much trouble - from allowing us to borrow his son's iphone cable, to excellent restaurant recommendations, it was all fantastic! We were very glad to have stayed there, very sad to leave, but we look forward to one day coming back.

We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. It was by far the most attentive hotel we have stayed at. (Psst - take the time for an afternoon drink in the lounge and browse through the hotel photo album - this is what family is all about!)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulandjulie262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

We have stayed in Bruges many times in the larger hotels and wanted to try something different for a change. Stayed at Ter Duinen for 1 night and can highly recommend this hotel for the following reasons;
First class service from Marc and his wife
Convenience to walk into Bruges centre along the canal
Tasty breakfast with fresh fruit and strong coffee

Highly recommend to all just give it a try!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rousey70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
108 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We had a wonderful stay in this charming hotel. We loved it. The room was pretty and very comfortable, the breakfast lovely, and the staff very friendly and helpful. We could not have asked for more. We travel a great deal and have noticed that most hotel rooms are very poorly lit; something that is very annoying if you are working or trying to read. That is not the case in this hotel. Our room in this hotel was well lit and well equipped. We also appreciated the maps with restaurant suggestions and the availability of bus tickets at the reception. The hotel is only a short walk to the center of town but is on a quiet and charming street. The bus stop with buses to various points in Brugge, including the train station, is steps from the hotel and very convenient. The service provided and the care we received was outstanding and very appreciated.
We will definitely stay in this hotel again on our next visit to Brugge and highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler42139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

I stayed in this hotel for one night. I loved this hotel a lot. I stayed in one single room. Very nice and relax place. The staff here we're very nice and helpful. I will highly recommend this place. There is nothing I can complain about for this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yutinggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Friendly hosts and wonderful breakfast with fresh orange juice and fresh fruit salad, different kinds of bread, strong coffee in a cosy ,sunny room.
Helpful tips re parking, excellent location: a few minutes walk from the center and yet in a peaceful environment.
Beautiful walk to the hotel at night along the illuminated river.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.5 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.3 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#9 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ter Duinen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ter Duinen

Property: Hotel Ter Duinen
Address: Langerei 52, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#4 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ter Duinen 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very charming hotel along a beautiful canal in medieval Brugge. Superb buffetbreakfast, free wifi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ter Duinen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ter Duinen Hotel
Ter Duinen Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing