We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ter Duinen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ter Duinen
Ranked #6 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We spent last weekend in Bruges staying at this delightful hotel - the owners and staff are so welcoming, helpful and charming - they helped with bus times, places to eat and directions all with a smile. Our room was small but perfectly adequate and the breakfast was delicious - but then I love boiled eggs! We are definitely coming back one day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esilvey130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,901 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,497
    355
    34
    9
    6
See reviews for
340
1,282
34
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Level Contributor
99 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

This is the sort of place you dream about staying in. Bruges was the first stop for my wife and me on a 5 week tour of Europe by car - and what a start it was. Bruges is a lovely city and Ter Duinen is nicely located a walk away from the centre. If you don't want to walk there is a bus stop outside and the taxis are reasonable otherwise a 15/20 minute pleasant walk by the canal gets you to the centre. The Ter Duinen itself is wonderfully run by the owners who obviously care very much for both the hotel and their guests. Our room overlooked the canal and had a small balcony, it was delightful and comfortable. The hotel is clean, nothing is too much trouble, the furnishings and decor are tasteful and quality. Breakfast is of course continental and excellent in quality and choice. We locked our car in one of the lock up garages provided and left it there till our departure. There is nothing negative to say about this hotel, everything about it is excellent, the owners deserve all the accolades they receive and we wish there were more places like this to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed in the Hotel in May 2014. The breakfasts were magnificent; the staff were extremely attentive and the owners, Marc and Lieve are incredibly friendly and helpful. Bus stop virtually outside hotel. Very pleasant walk 15 minutes max into Bruges centre.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ct
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Hotel Ter Duinen has a beautiful location overlooking a quiet canal. A 10-15 minute scenic walk along canals to the busy Bruges Marketplace and town. Hotel was directly on a bus line with frequent service to town and the train station. Our hosts sold bus tickets (1.3 Euros each) and also provided a discount coupon book to Bruges attractions.

The room with canal view was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast buffet was ample and varied, complemented by fresh-squeezed orange juice and a freshly cooked soft- or hard-boiled egg. Hosts were very friendly and helpful with suggestions and advice. We would definitely recommend this hotel to travelers.

Room Tip: Canal room had a nice view. We could hear street traffic in the morning, but not overnight. Maybe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTTraveler42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Marc and Lieve made us most welcome in their beautiful hotel. Perfectly situated just a 10 minute walk from the centre of Bruges yet in a lovely quiet part of this magnificent city. Many thanks to our hosts for an excellent stay and we hope to be back in the future.

Room Tip: Our two rooms were on the ground floor as requested and were perfect...no stairs involved which help...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland Park, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

I booked this trip through trip advisor with some trepidation since it was so far away in a city I've never been to before. It was a big responsibility since I was making the choice on behalf of 3 of my friends who are all quite different in nature. My fears will gone from the minute we drove up to the hotel. It is just beautiful -- amazing curb appeal! The owners were delightful, full of information about the city. Although we arrived early and our room was not yet ready, the staff was more than willing to keep our bags so we could get out sightseeing almost immediately.

Our room was the very top floor with four beds in a very spacious room -- just perfect for four friends exploring beautiful Bruges! We had a lovely bathroom, very clean and spacious. Breakfast each morning was plentiful and delicious and the wait staff very helpful and efficient. The courtyard in the back was lovely, filled with flowers and plants and very private. Other than over breakfast, we rarely saw other guests and felt like we had the run of the place, even using the common area to play cards one evening.

I recommend this hotel highly... the location was fabulous -- right on a canal and a relatively short and enjoyable walk to the main part of Bruges. It is just perfect.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TriciaMaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Hotel Ter Duinen is an absolutely fabulous place to stay in Bruges. It's off the beaten path north of the main tourist area, so it's quieter, yet it's an easy walk to everywhere in Bruges. The owners are so kind & attentive--they highly recommended a bike ride along the canal to Damme & it was our favorite part of our week. The European breakfast is yummy--cereal, granola, fresh & dried fruit, nuts, fresh squeezed OJ, hard/soft boiled eggs, meats, cheeses, bread & croissants with jams, delicious coffee & chocolates, a great way to start the day.

The rooms are very clean & comfortable & the bathroom larger than most we've seen in Europe.The bed was a little too firm the first night, but we came back to find some extra padding put on the bed that same day. The courtyard is very pretty & the location on the canal is charming. It is a little loud during the day due to buses--but it'ssuper convenient to get to/from the train station since the stop is literally out the front door, and the buses don't run at night so they don't interfere with sleep.

We stayed at this hotel for four nights & would definitely stay again if we went back to Bruges.

Room Tip: We loved our canal-view room! At first we were worried about the noise, but once they told us the bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YellowJacket2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.5 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.3 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#9 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ter Duinen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ter Duinen

Property: Hotel Ter Duinen
Address: Langerei 52, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bruges
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ter Duinen 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very charming hotel along a beautiful canal in medieval Brugge. Superb buffetbreakfast, free wifi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ter Duinen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ter Duinen Hotel
Ter Duinen Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing