We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in Bruge”
Review of Hotel Ter Duinen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ter Duinen
Ranked #7 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great place to stay in Bruge”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is a very good hotel to stay in for a Bruge holiday. It is to the north of the centre and a pleasant 10 minute walk to the main square, although it is on a main bus route if you prefer to ride. The rooms are comfortable and well furnished. We stayed in a 'canal view' room on the front which was fine but a little noisy from the traffic with the window open. The owners are very helpful and take trouble to ensure you have whatever you may need. Breakfasts are excellent and everything is replenished frequently. We often had a second pot of coffee and went out into the courtyard garden to enjoy the morning sun. There is also a lounge area and drinks are available during the day and evening.If we go back to Bruge then we will definitely stay there again and have already recommended the hotel to friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BouchersNuneaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,928 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,521
    357
    35
    9
    6
See reviews for
341
1,305
35
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Lovely hotel with an amazing breakfast! Very convenient for walking into the centre of Bruges with parking if needed. The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful and were always happy to take time to make recommendations. Service with a personal touch.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirstensalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
161 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We liked this hotel very much and were happy with the location 10 minutes away from the craziness of the main tourist area, but I can see that it might depend on which room you got. We asked for a canal view, but not the most expensive. We were on the 2nd floor with a lovely view, but the room is small and the bathroom, very small. Bed was very comfortable. However, the street noise was a bit much during "rush hour". And at 100am after Belgium won one of its World Cup soccer games. There was a more expensive room right next door that was twice the size. The quieter rooms were in the back overlooking the inner courtyard, but are also small. The breakfast was excellent !! We've travelled a lot in the past 2 weeks in Europe and not once did we get fresh squeezed orange juice except at this hotel....and there was plenty of everything else. The owners are gracious hosts and worked very hard. There is a lovely garden and indoor sitting area for relaxing with a glass of wine after a long day of walking.
We would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ytc50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Hotel Ter Duinen is a really wonderful place to spend your evenings after the days of touring Brugge. This is a family owned and run Hotel, all with great love and care. The breakfasts are included in the room price and are excellent, featuring fresh-squeezed orange juice as well as a sumptuous spread of cheeses, breads, fruits and jams, and hot soft-boiled eggs.

Marc and Lieve, the owners, are extremely helpful and gracious, even arranging a Doctor's house call when my wife strained her knee. I have stayed here before, early in their 30 year ownership, and can say that they are always improving their "gem", as they have added adjacent buildings on to the hotel, and more and more beautiful furnishings within.

The hotel is just a short walk out of the immediate town center, something we found quite peaceful and enjoyable as we passed canals and beautiful old houses and churches.

We recommend Hotel Ter Duinen emphatically and hope everyone gets the chance to stay there!

Room Tip: There are a few canal view rooms that are very good, and we would recommend equally the larger rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blueweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We were only there for one night, but Mark & Liewe were so helpful. The room was comfortable and spotless, with everything we needed. A good breakfast in the morning and excellent suggestions about what to see and do. I had called from Australia to book and talking to Mark gave me great confidence, that we would be able to park our car. They gave up their own garage for us. Very convenient too. We would definitely go back if we were traveling near Bruges.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esch-sur-Alzette, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

As bikers, we appreciated specially the possibility to keep our cycles safely in the yard - and the short distance to knot '2' on the cycling map (a must in Flandria). But the hotel impressed by its paramount service mentality: we asked for more baguette, there was none left, but 5 minutes later, the tenant was back from the baker! (there were other sorts of bread available, and I didn't insist twice for the baguette).
The room was modern, clean an beautifully arranged, all amenities were ok. The hotel is at 10' walk from the (old) center of the city, situated in a calm road along a beautiful channel, well equiped and well worth its 3***.
(Cold) Breakfast is OK, but not really to write home about.

Room Tip: We were satisfied with room 32, in the ground floor of the annexe. Modern, clean, quiet, perhaps a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We loved our stay at this hotel. The staff was friendly and helped us find restaurants and attractions. We stayed on the second floor and had a lovely view of the canal. The bed was really comfortable. The breakfast was delicious. It is very obvious that this is a family-owned hotel and not a chain. The grounds were beautiful. After being in Paris for several days, the was a welcomed, relaxing stay. Bruges is a lovely, romantic city and is small enough to see in a couple of days. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room with a CANAL view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TangiPryor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.5 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.3 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#10 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ter Duinen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ter Duinen

Property: Hotel Ter Duinen
Address: Langerei 52, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#4 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ter Duinen 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very charming hotel along a beautiful canal in medieval Brugge. Superb buffetbreakfast, free wifi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Ter Duinen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ter Duinen Hotel
Ter Duinen Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing