We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, characterful and charming”
Review of Hotel Ter Duinen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ter Duinen
Ranked #6 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Totnes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet, characterful and charming”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We booked at short notice and found the hotel in a beautiful location - it was quiet and the rooms (there were four in our party) were immaculate and very comfortable. The service was excellent, the staff very friendly and helpful. We could not find fault with the hotel. The parking was great and a place to stow our bikes, too! Breakfast was magnificent and delicious. We only had one day in Bruges but took both the horse and boat tours, then cycled to Damme which was a stunning, peaceful and refreshing break to the touristy town of bruges - lovely, quiet, leafy lanes, easy cycling and truly lovely scenery. Lots of choice in Damme for lunch! Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miriam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,571
    362
    36
    9
    6
See reviews for
351
1,348
35
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

and yet only 10 minutes walk from the center of Bruges. Friendly and helpful staff. Clean rooms and great breakfast. If you com by car, the hotel has a garage option near by. The Family room is spacious and with a double bed and two extra beds.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strikkelund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfort, France
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Sadly we had only one day to see Bruges and having parked the car in the town centre we had quite a walk to the Ter Duinen. The hotel is beautiful with a high standard of decor and furnishings. Our room was at the front of the hotel overlooking the canal and the road however we had a peaceful night and were not troubled by noise. It was nice to have fresh squeezed orange juice at breakfast but otherwise I thought it was a standard continental affair. There is only on the street parking with a blue ticket or you can rent a garage from the hotel at an expensive fee considering the rooms are not that cheap - however we were warned that Bruges is expensive. There are buses into the town centre and the stop is right outside the hotel if you don't want to walk.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This was our first time in Bruges and I looked to TA for a steer on the best places to stay. Hotel Ter Duinen was on the top of the list! The staff were very friendly and helpful and lovely.
Bruges is very expensive, and the rates are more than you might expect to pay in other cities (I've stayed in Paris for less), but the hotel was clean and comfortable and the room we had was large and pleasant. The beds were firm and comfortable, even the third bed in our room as there were three of us travelling. Breakfast was great and the location into town was easy (though it's not as central as some other hotels, it's an easy walk or bus ride to get wherever you're going). The hotel was right on a canal and so you have great views if you're on the front of the hotel! I am happy to recommend the Hotel Ter Duinen.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the front of the hotel, which had lovely canal views and giant windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaylorLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Clean rooms, well presented hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful and they serve a fantastic breakfast including fresh fruit, boiled eggs, cold cheese and meat selection, cereal, bread, toast, croissants, yoghurt and tea/coffee. The hotel is about ten minutes easy stroll from the centre of Bruges, so a peaceful location to come back to away from the hustle and bustle of the city centre.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dylandogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We spent a week in Bruges, where our main interest was the art, architecture and history. For us the Ter Duinen was the perfect base, a quiet retreat within easy walking distance of the bustling noisy centre. The Bossu-Van Den Heuvels were perfect hosts, friendly and well-informed. We particularly appreciated their telling us that the Oostkirke Castle gardens near Damme were open for a day during our stay, something that happens only once a year, and carefully briefing us on how to get there. Our room was very comfortable and the bathroom superbly fitted out. Excellent breakfasts gave us a good start to every day. Strongly recommended.

Room Tip: Face the front for great canal view, churches and buildings. Face the back for a quieter time - and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Had a lovely stay for 3 nights in May. A very warm and friendly welcome and stay. Nice comfortable and clean room. The breakfast was certainly worth making the effort for!
It is a short walk into the Grote Market and plenty to see nearby.
I would heartily recommend to stay here!
Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peteyd78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.7 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.5 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ter Duinen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ter Duinen

Property: Hotel Ter Duinen
Address: Langerei 52, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bruges
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ter Duinen 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very charming hotel along a beautiful canal in medieval Brugge. Superb buffet breakfast, free wifi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ter Duinen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ter Duinen Hotel
Ter Duinen Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing