We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We felt very much at home”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ter Duinen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ter Duinen
Ranked #6 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Bronx, New York
1 review
“We felt very much at home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2010

Our recent stay at the Ter Duinen was very comfortable. After spending the morning in Brussels and taking a train to Bruges, we were dead tired from our overseas flight and delirious from lack of sleep. Here I will heartily recommend taking the frequent bus from the train station to the hotel, the stop is just steps away. Feeling ambitious, my wife and I instead elected to walk it with our baggage in tow. We pack light, but by the end we were dragging considerably and just wanted to sleep. The hotel itself is quite a distance from the city centre; I would not recommend it to those with mobility issues. That being said, there were not many other negatives to this splendid property. The positive spin on the location is it did allow us to be away from the tourist areas when we wanted to relax and commiserate with local folks, which is the part if it we liked.
The breakfast mentioned in prior reviews on TA we can say lived up to its reputation. Everything offered was freshly picked from the local market, and the selection of cheeses and charcuterie were interesting and of high quality. The dining room is quite upscale and we felt like honored guests. The room was small, but very recently renovated and the bathroom was modern and clean. My wife, who is notorious for her picky taste in bed and sheet comfort (think "Princess and the Pea" here), slept soundly and liked the bed. The hotel staff was more than helpful with their recommendations, (a major find was the excellent "Restaurant Oud Handbogenhof," very close by) and supplied us with a handy map, jotting down the locations as we spoke; we were also given a discount card for Bruges, which saved us a few dollars when visiting the museums and the canal boat trip.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sthrottlemeyer_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,901 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,497
    355
    34
    9
    6
See reviews for
340
1,282
34
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2010

We loved this hotel. You will not find a more attentive staff! The walk from the hotel to the Markt at the middle of the town is only minutes, and well worth it. Plus, there is a bus stop right out front, which is convenient for trips to the train station. Great courtyard garden. Delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aoxenrei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2010

Lovely hotel by the canal side about 10 minutes walk to the centre of town, along a charming canal. We stayed in a recently renovated room which was delightful. The best thing about this hotel are the fantastic staff who cannot do enough for you. The receptionist was exceptional and at breakfast you are looked after very well. Breakfast consists of freshly squeezed orange, followed by a selection of delicious breads and pastries, boiled eggs and plenty of fresh fruit. You also have a great choice from a buffet - all included in the cost of the room. The decor is seriously chic, and the hidden courtyard is very lovely indeed.
Best of all - the beds are very comfy indeed.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandyness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
174 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2010

This hotel was towards the end of our vacation and we finally found some friendly faces! Marc was cheerful and very helpful. He answered all of our questions and helped us out with suggestions. He called a cab for us and also sold us bus tickets right there. The grounds of the hotel were gorgeous and the breakfast was the best we had. Very elegant and WONDERFUL coffee and chocolate bars. Marc's wife and a young woman who staffed the desk one day were also friendly and pleasant. The lift was darling and it took Marc twice to explain to these two clueless Americans how to use it!!! Lots of laughs. We already miss Bruges - the highlight of our trip to the Netherlands and Belgium.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmull50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2010

If you want to escape the corporate chain hotels taking over the center of Bruges & are prepared for a 5min canal side stroll into town---look no further. This little gem has a very upmarket feel, classical music gently piped into breakfast and one of the best breakfast buffets I have eaten anywhere. It is obvious that the staff/owners are attending to all the details with all the personnel being super-attentive to guest's welfare. Tours can pick up & drop off on the doorstep. We were with friends & got to sample their room as well as ours--both were sparklingly clean & fresh; my 6'2 husband could have done with a few extra inches on the double bed. We managed a great nights sleep as the location is so quiet at night--but the oldest pub in Bruges is just 2mins walk away. We are pretty seasoned travellers and would rate this hotel very highly.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdv60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2010

An elegant hotel with an outstanding canal-side location. The historic town centre was only ten to fifteen minutes walk away, mostly alongside picturesque canals. The owners and staff were all friendly and extremely helpful. An excellent continental breakfast was served in an elegant dining room. Getting there by car was easy and parking was available at a very reasonable price in lock-up garages just two minutes walk away.

All in all, just about the nicest hotel I have stayed in, and I couldn't recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FarehamMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2010

Don't walk passed this hotel. Step inside and you need look no further. You will receive excellent personal service and be treated to a delicious breakfast in the elegant dining room. A beautiful courtyard garden is another feature. Our room, though smallish, was clean, well equipped and had a lovely view of the canal. It is only a 10 minute walk into the main square and also has a bus stop outside (much cheaper than the taxi we took from the station!). We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan_smith50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.5 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.3 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#9 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ter Duinen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ter Duinen

Property: Hotel Ter Duinen
Address: Langerei 52, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bruges
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ter Duinen 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very charming hotel along a beautiful canal in medieval Brugge. Superb buffetbreakfast, free wifi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ter Duinen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ter Duinen Hotel
Ter Duinen Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing