We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection!”
Review of Hotel Ter Duinen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ter Duinen
Ranked #7 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
2 reviews
“Perfection!”
Reviewed 31 July 2010

As world travelers, settling into an exceptional hotel is a real, although somewhat rare treat. Such is Hotel Ter Duinen in Brugge. Its quiet location is perfect – along one of the most scenic canals of Brugge, a short, interesting 10 minute walk to the busy center. Twenty-seven years ago, the hosts at Ter Duinen, Marc and Lieve, lovingly restored two old buildings to create a comfortable and stylish hotel. Their continual enthusiasm and efforts to make Hotel Ter Duinen a welcoming, upscale respite in a fashionable tourist town have succeeded beautifully. The rooms are charming and tastefully furnished, fairly priced, based on size and location. WiFi is available in-room as well as there being a common computer for guests to use. The hosts are knowledgeable about Brugge and Belgium and most willing to share this knowledge with their guests. A wonderful breakfast is provided in their beautiful front room, which has views to the canal as well as to their garden courtyard. We recommend Hotel Ter Duinen to all who wish to make their travel experience something special to be remembered. We give it a 5-Star rating and will certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,520
    357
    35
    9
    6
See reviews for
341
1,304
35
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
harrogate
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2010

We stayed for one night on our way home from a driving tour in Europe. What a find! we always research our hotels thoroughly and the Hotel Ter Duinen exceeded our expectations. The owners and staff were totally comitted to providing an excellent experience. Nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely return and will recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauhowells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Had a weekend in Bruges in May & stayed at the HotelTer Duinen.My wife and I had a wonderful weekend helped enormously by staying at the Hotel Ter Duinen. The staff and owners were professional, friendly, the hotel was beautiful, clean, central within easy walk of main squares
and very relaxing and I would have no hesitation in recommending it to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terencepwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights in July and were very pleased with our choice. It is very easy to get to from the train station using the local bus. It is in a quiet part of town but only a short walk from the centre (Bruges is not a big place).
This is officially a 3-star hotel but that rating does not really do it justice. The staff were very courteous and helpful. Our room was on the first floor at the front of the hotel overlooking the street and canal but there was no sound from traffic or pedestrians. I had the best 4 nights sleep of a 2 week trip in Europe. Breakfast was simple but plentiful. The atmosphere in the hotel is tranquil. Just right for Bruges.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexisBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

We stayed at the hotel for our joint 50th birthday treat and cannot recommend it highly enough. The owners are very helpful and polite as are all the staff. The breakfasts are amazing and lasted us all day. It is in a lovely location close to, but far enough away from , the city centre on the canal and quiet. It is full of character. When we stayed there it was number 5 on the Trip Advisor listings; now it is no.3 and deservedly so. Should be no.1 - 5 stars and cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IainLLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

There is nothing really to add to the reviews already on here for this hotel. All we can do is to agree with all of the positive things which have been said.

We were welcomed in a very professional and friendly manner and that set the scene for the entire stay.

Best fruit salad of any hotel I have stayed in. Beautiful public areas, stunning little garden. Very well equipped room, with free safe and amazing shower. Lovely and clean. We paid a bit extra for a garage for the car for 3 days which was located nearby. Also you could have free use of a computer (including internet). Belgian keyboard so some letters were not where they are on a Qwerty keyboard - interesting exercise.

Very good location; quiet, easy walk into the city centre, with very regular buses stopping just outside, a small supermarket a couple of minutes down the road, and short stay parking across the road for unloading/loading your car.

No hesitation at all in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripperUppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

We deliberately chose Ter Duinen because we wanted to be in a quiet location with a canal view away from the crowded centre and we were certainly not disappointed. It is ten minutes easy canalside stroll from the centre and the number 4 and 14 buses from the station stop literally right opposite the hotel. The hotel is family run and there is a scrapbook in the conservatory showing photographs of how the family have lovingly restored it over the past 25 years. The rooms are delightful, the service superb and the breakfast sets you up for the rest of the day with fresh rolls and croissants every morning. Helpful and friendly service, clean rooms, a lovely courtyard garden and a world away from some of the impersonal city centre hotels where we have stayed in the past. A hidden gem, to quote an overused cliche, but in this case the cliche is happily justified. We shall look forward to coming again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charrowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.5 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.3 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#11 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ter Duinen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ter Duinen

Property: Hotel Ter Duinen
Address: Langerei 52, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#4 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ter Duinen 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very charming hotel along a beautiful canal in medieval Brugge. Superb buffetbreakfast, free wifi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Ter Duinen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ter Duinen Hotel
Ter Duinen Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing