We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasteful hotel with attentive service”
Review of Hotel Ter Duinen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ter Duinen
Ranked #6 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Reviewed 18 August 2010

We stayed here for a weekend in August to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Our room (38) overlooked the canal and was tastefully decorated, very clean and had a spacious bathroom. The hotel itself is really well presented, with a beautiful dining room and conservatory. There is great attention to detail, and the owners and staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is healthy and plentiful with a good selection of breads, ham, cereals, fruits, juices and hot drinks. The hotel is situated in a quiet part of Bruges, and is a ten minute walk from the main square. We paid extra for a hotel garage as there are parking restrictions in the area. We found Bruges itself very beautiful in terms of architecture, but many of the restaurants were hugely over priced for quite basic dishes, and we were disappointed that the main art gallery was closed for renovation.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GravesendPoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,994)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ter Duinen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,159 - 1,165 of 1,995 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2010

we stayed for 2 nights. room (29) was simple but functional and overlooked the quiet garden with a little balcony. the hotel is owner managed and the attention to detail showed. everything was spotless, and breakfast a real treat ; fresh juice, fruit salad, ham, cereals, boiled egg, pastries etc and plenty of coffee if you wanted top-ups. we emailed in advance to ask the hotel to make restaurant reservations and this was handled efficiently, as well as them helpfully advising us to take the (cheap) bus from the station rather than an (expensive) taxi. good location away from bustle of the market place but only 10 mins walk . the little garden and sitting area were lovely too- a previous reviewer metioned the delightful scent of lilies. improvements? - well, tea & coffee making in room would be nice but we appreciate that this is not the norm for belgium.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorkshiretraveller60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

This hotel is perfect. It's about a 10 minute walk from the square. The breakfast they provide is quite a spread, including eggs and the most luscious fruit and fresh baked breads. They provided us with great restaurant recommendations and couldn't have been more helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tulsacpa1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Ter Duinen. The room was comfortable and it was great to have air conditioning! The giant lilies at reception perfume the breakfast area and it is lovely to look out at the courtyard garden from the conservatory. It is a 10 minute walk to the Market Square along lovely canals. All in all, a lovely place to stay - we have already been recommending it to friends.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Wildhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

My husband and I just spent a wonderfully relaxing long weekend at the Hotel Ter Duinen and have nothing but praise for this little gem of a hotel. The reception staff and Marc and Lieve the owners are so friendly and helpful and the hotel itself is in a wonderful location, right on the canalside and away from the more crowded centre (whilst still under ten minutes stroll from the Market Square). The rooms are basic but comfortable and the buffet breakfast is a REAL must - delicious! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Ter Duinen to anyone visiting Bruges.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelSW19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

We found our stay at Ter Duinen excellent. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the staff very friendly. The hotel interior is very tastefully decorated and set in a lovely location with just a short walk from the centre. Breakfast was very good but we would have liked to have had tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lipgloss69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

I spent two nights in the Hotel Ter Duinen with my 15 year old son on 3-5 August 2010. As advertised, the location is wonderful and quite. The hotel itself was also exrtremely quiet. In fact, we never heard another sound. We stayed in a canal view room. The staff was super friendly and helpful. We spent a couple of great days exploring the city and renting bikes. The hotel's location in Brugge is great because it is just far enough from the tourist haunts that you feel like you are going home when you arrive. We also rode our bikes to Demme and to Knoppe which was about 45 kilometers round trip. I will plan another trip to Brugge and work in a ton of bike trips. You can bascially ride the entire country on canal paths. Incredible. Afterwards, the country offers the best reward possilble after a long ride: Belgian beer. Long and short, the TripAdvisor reviews of this hotel are right on. I would definetely stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HenryRosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.7 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#8 of 97 in Bruges
741 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ter Duinen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ter Duinen

Address: Langerei 52, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#4 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £131 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ter Duinen 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very charming hotel along a beautiful canal in medieval Brugge. Superb buffet breakfast, free wifi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ter Duinen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ter Duinen Hotel
Ter Duinen Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing