We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal service from owner. Most extensive beer collection. Nice location.”
Review of Hotel Erasmus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Erasmus
Ranked #208 of 231 Bruges B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Personal service from owner. Most extensive beer collection. Nice location.”
Reviewed 4 July 2010

Located in the heart of the old town, on the canal. The owner can give you advice on the various local chocolate stores that are so unique.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterNVivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    30
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
11
34
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

We found our stay here to be great! The location was perfectly located to all the restaurants, shopping and things to do. If you are a light sleeper, the noise outside at night might bother you. It didn't bother me, though. The bed was very comfortable and the room had a great view of the street below. The owner was very friendly and helpful when we had questions about where certain things were.

We also ate in the restaurant downstairs for dinner one night. It was a little pricey, but very tasty. I would recommend eating there if you want to splurge a little.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kmthoennes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paderborn, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2010

This small hotel right in the center of old town Bruges was excellent value for money. The total bill was 100 Euros including breakfast for two and the room which we got at 75 Euros for the night. Parking in Bruges is difficult everywhere but Hotel Erasmus is less than 300m from one of the cities large underground carparks (Pandreitje) that is €8,70 / 24 hours.
The room was clean and well appointed with a good shower/bathroom, minibar and as always in Bruges, good views.
Its a small hotel spead over a number of floors but there is an elevator. The number of rooms is extremely limited which leads to a nice atmosphere and a very personal service from the friendly staff. We didnt eat in the restaurant but the standard of food looked good and there was a large choice of Belgian beers and other drinks on offer.

All in all a really nice stay in a very central hotel at a good value rate.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgrob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2010

I visited Bruges with four other members of my family, and we had three rooms next to each other in this hotel. Each room was lovely and spacious, clean with excellent modern facilities. The view down the street to the Belltower was spectacular, and it is only a two minute walk to the Markt from the hotel. From the alley down the side of the hotel you can also get a great view of the canals.

We booked under the impression that breakfast was included in the price of the room, only to find when we arrived that it wasn't. The cost was approximately £12.50 per person for breakfast; it was a buffet breakfast and tasty, but not replenished quick enough for my liking.

We used the wireless internet whilst staying here (password available on request from reception) and found this to be adequate.

All in all, a lovely smart hotel in a fantastic location. Be sure to visit the food and drink shop a couple of doors down, which sells an amazing amount of Belgian produce. We all stocked up on our favourite beers to take home once we had checked out!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eloise86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2010

Great little hotel in the centre of the Bruges. Close to everything and with a superb restaurant serving top quality food, where we got a set menu on one of the nights as part of the package. Safe to say as well that the choice of beer is quite spectacular. Tom was an affable and avuncular host and the service in the restaurant exemplary.

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JonW999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UP
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2010

My wife and I stayed with Tom at the Erasmus for four nights recently. I must say that this hotel has as good a location as can be found in Bruges. It is very modern, well equipped, quiet and comfortable. About one minute from the city square and only 15 - 20 minutes on foot from the train station.

The breakfast buffet started our day perfectly each morning. We ended up dining elsewhere in the evening, but I have no doubt that this Feng Shui'ed restaurant would be as good or better for dining as for breakfast. I regret not trying the same meal that was once enjoyed by Marvin Gaye.

Tom is a very helpful fellow and the rest of the staff also does all they can to make your stay comfortable. If only I had been able to get a taste of that Liefemans Ongezoet. The tining just didn't work out for me. I did buy a copy of the definitive Belgian beer poster which is produced by a good friend of Tom's. I will say that I did not suffer for a lack of beer tasting during our stay in Bruges. Even made it over to the Halve Mann (Half Moon) Brewery, which is just over five minutes from the Erasmus on foot.

The modern elevator is an unusual feature in smaller hotels in European cities and is much appreciated if you've been out walking all day. If arriving by train, take a cab for a quick and inexpensive trip to the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irishranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellsworth, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2010

Service was great, room was beautiful, location was perfect.

Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleAsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
#67 of 97 in Bruges
177 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
#53 of 97 in Bruges
635 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Acacia
Hotel Acacia
#24 of 97 in Bruges
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#39 of 97 in Bruges
2,837 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Koffieboontje
Hotel Koffieboontje
#84 of 97 in Bruges
599 reviews
0.2 mi away
Huyze Die Maene
Huyze Die Maene
#197 of 231 in Bruges
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Erasmus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Erasmus

Property: Hotel Erasmus
Address: Wollestraat 35, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #208 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Erasmus 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Erasmus is a small family-run hotel in the cultural center of Bruges. On the street level there is a gastro restaurant. With up to 16 beers on tap, Erasmus is known for its great selection and diversity of fine Belgian beers. Personal service and spotless comfort is the essence of Erasmus Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Erasmus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing