We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Egmond
Nearby Hotels
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof(Bruges)(Great Value!)
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Navarra Brugge(Bruges)
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$321
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$236
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$235
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveller rating
96
70
19
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
70
19
8
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 199 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2011

I'm a sucker for historic houses, and this was no disappointment. As soon as you step in, you feel the history in the walls. It's a perfect place to stay and really feels like you're in Brugge, which is like nowhere else. The staff was friendly and welcoming, including the two adorable dogs who stay at the hotel while their owner works the reception desk. Our room was nice and big. The furnishings were a little outdated and the "pod" style bathroom not exactly luxurious, but for the price, location, and charm, we loved it.
The breakfast was great, and if the weather had been better, we would have loved sitting in the courtyard in the evenings. The location was perfect for us--far from the crowds and peaceful.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Packlighttravelright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Breakfast was good, room was beautiful and huge (room #5), with view over lush garden that backs onto Minnewater Park. Nice walk into Markt at centre of Bruges. Greeted by receptionist's lovely two spaniels, that was a bonus. Recommend this hotel wholeheartedly!

Room Tip: Request room 5, it was perfect. And large!
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebM25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Quiet historic house that has its own private gardens a few blocks walk from the main town. Our room, the garden room on 1st floor, was huge! Beautiful woodwork, fireplace with blue and white tiles, sitting area , huge windows, very very modern bathroom. It is on Minnewater Park and you can walk to the train station.


The private garden was wonderful--huge, many areas, seating, lovely

Breakfast was incredible, in a beautiful beautiful room that may have been a library at one time.

Romantic..we ate dinner several nights in the private garden with food purchased from a local market.... music on my iPhone form Pandora. What could be better!

Room Tip: all rooms unique, call for advice prior to trip
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonNikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

This hotel is beautiful and is surrounded by beautiful gardens and a large park. The owners were very friendly and the breakfast was delicious. They even have a refrigerated honor bar downstairs with beer and wine at reasonable prices. The area is a very short walk from the train station, but very peaceful and quiet. Many shops and restaurants are nearby. We had a fabulous meal at nearby de Wijngaert where they grilled our food inside the dining area. An unexpected perk of this hotel was the satellite tv with multiple English speaking channels.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soonergirl1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2011

The Egmond Hotel must have some of the best views in Brugges. A beautiful old house on the edge of Minnewater Park, the Egmond has only a few rooms, all of which overlook the park. Parking is available in the grounds for €10 per day – which is about the same as one of the multi-storeys but a lot more accessible.

The hotel is warm and comfortable, and our room (number 5) was big enough to be described a suite. It had a large and comfortable pulled-together pair of single beds as well as a large settee and a writing desk with a reading lamp. The bathroom is a small slot-in in the corner but is perfectly adequate with the useful addition of a seat in the shower (there was no bath)

Although most of the bedrooms are up two flights of steep-ish stairs, there is one room which opens directly onto the gardens (Room 2). Check that you can have this room if you have any mobility problems. You will still have to negotiate a few steps into the dining room but these are very reasonable.

Because the hotel only serves breakfast, this might be described as an upmarket B&B, but it certainly outclasses most of the places we have stayed in Brugges over the years. Breakfast itself offers a good selection of hot and cold dishes as well as fresh fruit. The dining room itself is beautifully furnished and just big enough to accommodate all the guests

There is an honesty bar near Reception which has a good selection of cold drinks in a refrigerator as well a coffee machine and kettle with plenty of choices of tea. Because the prices are typical of any other minibar though, you may prefer to pre-plan to get your own drinks at the Carrefour Express supermarket situated quite close to the hotel in Katelijnestraat.

HOWEVER – contrary to the information on some other websites, the hotel does NOT provide free afternoon tea and coffee. This is charged for at €1.50 per cup at all times. The staff explained that the facility had been withdrawn because of abuse by guests – sad that we all suffer for the selfishness of the few. There is still a kettle there though, so packing a few coffee sachets and tea bags could save you a few euros.

The gardens are beautiful and contain furniture to let you sit outside and enjoy them. There is no passing traffic and little or no noise at night. You are only a few steps from the Beguinhof and the little lake where the swans gather as well as the departure point for the horse-drawn carriages.

There is a small and courteous staff. If arriving after 6 pm you MUST ring ahead for the door code as they lock the front door dead on 6 and leave your keys out for you in Reception.

Overall, the Egmond well deserves its 3 stars and offers lovely facilities in a great location. With so many good restaurants and snack bars close at hand, the absence of dining facilities is hardly a problem, and for travellers without a car the hotel is an easy walk through the park from the railway station.

We will be going back and have already recommended this to several friends.

Room Tip: Garden room is Room 2
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clibil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews