We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable hotel, at walking distance from the city centre” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Egmond

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Egmond
Ranked #74 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
65 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Reasonable hotel, at walking distance from the city centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

We visited Bruges for two days and thought this place to be very reasonably priced (105 euros per night, breakfast included). Bruges is tiny so everything is accessible by foot, although it still takes about 20 minutes from the hotel location to get to the old city centre without any transportation.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stinger008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    70
    19
    8
    5
See reviews for
18
114
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
427 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

When we arrived we were a little shocked and pretty disappointed with our room. Yes, we had booked a small double, but room 3 is, in reality, no more than a single sized room with a threequarter double bed in it. There were no bedside tables, so nowhere to put a book, your glasses or a drink for the night, not that there could be a table or shelf on one side anyway, as it was flush against the wall due to the very limited space. The rest of the furniture comprised a very old, tatty bureau with a flat screen TV on top of it and an archaic looking single wardrobe whcih my partner was afraid to open in case she discovered it was actually room 4!

As for the bathroom, it is extremely narrow and seperated from the bed only by a plastic concertina type 'door' that would not close. The shower looks like it is actually a cupboard, and upon using it, it flooded within half a minute, no doubt as the drain needs unblocking, but nobody has done it. I'm sure the owner would point out that we did not report the shower, and this is true, but I would question whether hotels should rely on their guests to report such matters, when they should really be keeping on top of such things themselves, so that guests find facilities that are actually in good working order.

I must stress that the room,. and the rest of the public areas were spotlessly clean, we have no complaints at all about cleanliness here. We also found the bed very comfortable, but the room was stiflingly hot on our arrival and the temperature was never quite 'right' for the whole stay after that.

Once the shock of the reality of the room not meeting our expectations had passed, we did grow to quite like the room in a strange sort of way. Looking past the negatives of room 3, the rest of the hotel seemed very nice. The breakfast room was attractive, the breakfast was excellent, and the little lounge by reception was very comfortable. The location is very good if you want a bit of peace and quiet, but only a short walk from the Beginhof, Minnewater and the centre, and I can imagine that the garden is a lovely place to sit in the summer time. To our delight we made friends with the two hotel dogs, who loved to be petted and have their ears tickled! That alone almost made up for the accommodation!

In conclusion, I think that anyone who wants a family run hotel full of character would enjoy a stay here as long as they avoid room 3. On the other hand, if you want modernity, contemporary fixtures and fittings, or if you don't like dogs, you would undoubtedly be better off elsewhere.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 3 - seriously we would return to the hotel but would never book a 'small double'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RojBlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

We visited Bruges for just a day and found this place to be very reasonably priced (95 euros). We selected this place mainly because it was close to the train station and we had an early morning train to Paris and were not sure about public transportation in Bruges. Bruges is tiny so everything is quite accessible by foot; this place is a 15 minute walk to the main market square. The B&B serves a good breakfast. The room was clean and had a large bathroom. We found that the staff was a little cold.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shantanu J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gresham uk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

The hotel was quite hard to find on a Sunday when the centre of Bruge was traffic free. It proved to be worthwhile.
Lovely old building with a nice garden next to a park. The garden has numerous chairs, tables and ash trays!
The decor perfectly suits the building.
We had room 6 overlooking the garden. I noticed one review which stated that this room was small but I thought it was quite large, although the shower room was very small and not really up to the standard of the room itself. I loved the wallpaper and the bedspread. We found the bed comfortable.
Breakfast, which was served in a beautifully presented dining room, was excellent.
We had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keeganGreshamUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

Stayed early summer 2012. First impressions were what a fantastic find! A beautiful small manor house 10 min's walk from the centre of Bruges, the reviewer who said 3 min's must have run. However once shown our room our jaws dropped -- small, dusty and the shower toilet room was very small, so small that if you tried to use the hand basin the sliding concertina door could not be closed - not such a great problem though as the door would not stay shut anyway! After 12 years of marriage i still like a little privacy - oh well lovely view from the window over the gardens. Remember your mosquito killer - the lake is very close.
Breakfast was ok -- normal small buffet, nothing special. Car parking was an extra charge.
Whilst the hotel was charming and the owner and staff polite and welcoming I was disappointed with the room we were given, unfortunately we did not get a chance to view the other rooms or speak to other guests - perhaps we were just unlucky?

Room Tip: All the rooms look over the beautiful gardens, our room was next to the breakfast room, number 2 i t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChazJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

We were very happy with our stay in this old mansion. The ambience and unique charm of this inn added to the excellent experience we had in Bruges. We found the included breakfast to be great and the unique room we had overlooking the park made our stay very enjoyable. The staff were friendly and helpful! And the hotel is a short ten minute walk from both the train station and the old town of Bruges. It is ideally located for what we wanted to do and offered a very fair and reasonable price point given how expensive many other options in the area were. You could here some noise from other rooms at times, but this is an old mansion, not some new executive hotel. Great ambience and a great stay, we would visit again!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elsa22154992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wootton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

A charming hotel in its own private grounds about 3 minutes walk from the centre. The service is friendly and helpful. Rooms are simple charming and clean with decent facilities. Breakfast is excellent, the best we had during a 3 week drive through 7 countries, and includes eggs and bacon, fruit galore, juice, coffee, selection of cereal, bread, croissant etc.

Room Tip: Have a look at available rooms. One had a slightly cramped bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel 't Keizershof
Hotel 't Keizershof
#75 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.9 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#9 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gasthof Groenhove
Gasthof Groenhove
#64 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
De Barge Hotel
De Barge Hotel
#46 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#25 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Egmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Egmond

Property: Hotel Egmond
Address: Minnewater 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Egmond 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small romantic hotel in the middle of a park in Bruges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Egmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Egmond Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing