We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic for couples”
Review of Hotel Egmond

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Egmond
Ranked #77 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Reading
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic for couples”
Reviewed 23 April 2008

I took my wife there for our wedding anniversary, staying two nights and could not have asked for anything better. It is a family run hotel which adds to the experience, It is quiet, It is quite hard to find, It is not 5 star luxury but it has character in abundance. At present they have scaffolding up making repairs but that did not deflect from truly relaxing weekend. It is an easy 5 - 10 minute walk to Main Square but in a minute you can be in a tourist area by the brewery. We have been there 3 times staying in the Ibis and the Park hotels and now the Egmond. When we return we will stay in the Egmond. If you are looking for a slab of concrete owned by a conglomerate with a card key, same dull rooms, brand new TV with all channels and you want to tag on the end of a coach party and dance the conga then don’t stay here. If you want an authentic Belgium hotel with all the quirks that come with authenticity - Stay here your wife will love it (Unless she likes Burberry).

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Royalfollower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    70
    19
    8
    5
See reviews for
18
114
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Okmulgee, OK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2007

Beautiful old manor house style, but well updated inside. Large attractive, well kept garden; we even sat there drinking wine in some light rain. Nearby well run restaurant, part of which overlooks water (canal). Honor system cooler for wine, water, soft drinks near breakfast room. Family owned and run, very pleasant and helpful. Some would say a little hard to find or get to, but the visitor info center gives good directions and map. Easy walk to town center (it's actually within the old town), 30 minutes or so. It was so pleasant, we had to make ourselves go out to see Brugge before returning. Lots of good eateries and chocolate shops. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — location, garden, rooms, family staff
  • Disliked — can't think of anything
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, MD
Level Contributor
143 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2007

We picked this on the basis of Frommers and TA and were very disappointed. I think management changed a few weeks ago. There was zero service--no one was ever at the desk and when the girl was summoned, she was unhelpful. Its in a quiet setting, about 15 mins from most of the town. The rooms were cramped and dank and musty. The bathroom is a joke. Breakfast was bare bones. I dont understand how this place got a rep as romantic because none of us felt that way. Its not expensive but you could do better somewhere else. Its cash only.

  • Liked — cute exterior
  • Disliked — dank cramped quirky rooms
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank david999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nashville
Level Contributor
123 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2007

If you know what to expect in a quaint, old Europe stay, then stay here, period. Setting is beautiful and quiet. Location perfect. Could not have been happier. Wish I were still there.

  • Liked — charm and location
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jostvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2007

This family run hotel is situated by the lovely Minnewater park, out of the main centre, but only a short walk to museums and restaurants. The hotel is in an attractive building with gardens. We had an extremely comfortable and clean attic room; the bathroom was however very small. Rooms on lower levels were larger. Breakfast is served in a very pleasant room and was good quality. A nice touch was the provision of afternoon tea or coffee in a downstairs room for any guest who wanted to come back for a break. The owners were friendly and helpful. We spent a very peaceful and enjoyable few days here.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — small bathroom
  • Stayed October 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jennylouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2007

The web site was helpful and booking was easy. Our room was very comfortable, the breakfast was very good. The owners/staff were friendly and went out of their way to be helpful.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank MansfieldTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2007

We were very happy with Hotel Egmond is so many ways. I found it via a web search for non-smoking hotels in Belgium. Luckily the search led us to book three nights in Brugge, the definition of charming. We found Egmond to have many other travel comforts too. It was an easy walk from the train, although we never heard train noise. It was a clean retreat with very few rooms, intimate. The building looked enchanting along the paths of romantic Minnewater Park and lake. Our hosts offered conversation, advise, a lovely breakfast and afternoon tea. The house and gardens were beautiful. We could walk all over Brugge and also return to our room to leave bags after shopping. We liked that we could pop "home" for tea and our jackets for the cool of the evenings. The weather was incredibe, temperate and sunny. The springtime also brought late sunsets which lengthened our walking tours to see quaint homes and shopfronts along the cobbled streets. The shops and restaurants all had such friendly English speaking folks. It's great to travel and enjoy the locals in more than a touristy way. We had two exceptional meals- De Bekoring near the Egmond where the chef came to each table to chat and Bao Bab, near the Burg where the owner seemed like he and all the diners were at his private party.

  • Liked — non-smoking
  • Disliked — fake double bed- two twins shoved together typical in Europe
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank PAHKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel 't Keizershof
Hotel 't Keizershof
#76 of 97 in Bruges
199 reviews
0.9 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#10 of 97 in Bruges
803 reviews
0.3 mi away
De Barge Hotel
De Barge Hotel
#47 of 97 in Bruges
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Albert 1 Hotel
Albert 1 Hotel
#17 of 97 in Bruges
461 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jacobs Hotel
Jacobs Hotel
#74 of 97 in Bruges
468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#19 of 97 in Bruges
2,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Egmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Egmond

Property: Hotel Egmond
Address: Minnewater 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Egmond 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small romantic hotel in the middle of a park in Bruges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Egmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Egmond Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing