We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than ok”
Review of Hotel Egmond

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Egmond
Ranked #77 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“better than ok”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

this hotel has a great location -- a short walk from railway station (so long as you don't get lost, which we did!) and a short walk into the center of beautiful Bruges. The croissants at breakfast are really, really good.

room 7 is -- fine. the bed linens looked a bit tired and the furniture a bit bare bones, but really -- this isn't intended to be a luxury palace. the bathroom was very nice, although i did have a short, violent struggle with the shower hose the first morning.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arbeedc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    70
    19
    8
    5
See reviews for
18
114
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

We went to this hotel on the recommendation of a friend, so we didn't do our usual TA check. HUGE mistake! While our friends had a lovely room, we were assigned room 8. It was pretty small, but we could adapt, except for the bathroom. It is worse than a camper bathroom, about 5' x 5' and made of a single piece of plastic. The shower drain is a hole in the floor. But the worst part was the smell - absolutely disgusting! It makes me wonder about the rest of the hotel. The people at the desk were defensive and claim that we should have known, but it was so bad that we left, even though they charged us for the night. I would give this a minus rating if I could!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Brad N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Beyrouth, Lebanon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The hotel is an excellent choice: its locality, service, cleanliness and its charm. It is both secluded enough to make you experience the natural charm of Brugges and close enough to restaurants and shops, a few minutes walk. Our Brugges' experience was very much enhanced by the Egmond.

Room Tip: Try to book Room # 2: it's the only room that has direct access to the charming yard and garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sami S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESSEX
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed here for 3 days and didnt want to leave. A really lovely hotel, tucked away in a quiet area in Bruges but yet within a ten minute walk to the main square. The room was lovely and looked out onto the garden, lovely to hear the birds singing in the morning. Breakfast was very fresh and the staff were very efficient, could not fault the place at all, would most definitely stay there again, Thank you for a great few days,

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAZZOEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Well done Hotel Egmond, lovely hotel in a beautiful location at the edge of the Minnewater park and away from the hustle of downtown Bruges. It's just a short walk to the town centre with all its various attractions, restaurants and bars. Good breakfast and you can take your coffee out into the garden if the weather allows.There is private parking (which you pay for) but the manager was very laid back and we paid only for the one night's parking despite arriving early on day one and leaving late on day two. I would also recommend the restaurant Le Postijlon on Kateijnestraat as you're going into town, cheap and very cheerful!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craddos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2013

In the beautiful scenery of the Minnewater park, the hotel egmond is perfectly positioned. Not far from the center, or from the train station. The self-service breakfast is varied and simple. Highly reccomended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Osvaldo_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado, usa
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Although in side the walls of Bruges, minutes walk from the center of town, it was very privately located, quiet and absolutely charming. Very clean. Professional staff. Exceptional breakfast. Beautiful garden. We would return to this hotel only when traveling to Bruges.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bjarne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel 't Keizershof
Hotel 't Keizershof
#76 of 97 in Bruges
199 reviews
0.3 mi away
De Barge Hotel
De Barge Hotel
#47 of 97 in Bruges
479 reviews
0.9 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#10 of 97 in Bruges
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Albert 1 Hotel
Albert 1 Hotel
#17 of 97 in Bruges
461 reviews
0.1 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#20 of 97 in Bruges
2,109 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jacobs Hotel
Jacobs Hotel
#75 of 97 in Bruges
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Egmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Egmond

Property: Hotel Egmond
Address: Minnewater 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Egmond 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small romantic hotel in the middle of a park in Bruges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Egmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Egmond Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing