We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Easy”
Review of Hotel Egmond

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Egmond
Ranked #80 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Hotel Egmond is from the outside and at ground floor level a true delight. The gardens and public rooms are truly excellent.

However once you venture up the increasingly steep stairs then things are not so good. Stained carpets and chipped paint do not look good. The bedroom we occupied was a good size and had very comfortable beds but the sofa was almost warn through, the carpet was stained and there were no draws and only two small shelves to put things on. The bathroom was nice enough but the shower cubicle had far too much mildew for my liking. There were a couple of bulbs not working and there was no way to switch on the air con (although we did not need it).

Everyone was really nice, the breakfast was good and the space to park in this beautiful but congested town was great.

The two "meet and greet" dogs are lovely.

This hotel is good but it could be so very much more.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank JeffNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

Hotel Egmond is full of character the building is old worlde but a place you will want to return. the breakfast has everything you could want to start your day. 10mins walk from the railway just around the corner from many restaurant's. The owner is delightful charming and makes you feel at home he has two lovely dogs that are very well behaved . the only downside really is the room's are a little tired but please don't be put off . we spent 5 nights and didn't want to come home so yes we will go back

Room Tip: all rooms have a view of the beautiful garden. we were in room 7 and that was large and very comfy b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrismick2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

starting with what should be negatives..... No bar, no restarant, no 'full' hotel facilites. So what has this hotel got that it should be rated so highly . The location is excellent, in the centre of a park, yet close to everything. 5 minutes walk to the railway station, close to the canals, close to restaurants and close to a really cosy little bar (One- 20 yards up the closest street). The manager Stephen who literally runs the show with the help of his two gorgeous dogs really makes you feel at home the minute you book in. The hotel is old and all the features of the building only add to its charm. We stayed in room 7 which had lovely views of parkland from the windows. Yes, you do awake the smell of birds singing in the morning and the small of bacon cooking. The room was small, but clean and more than adaquate. We requested a kettle in the room and it was supplied, but when you see the layout of the hotel you realise that you can make tea /coffee in the kitchen. And that's another big bonus, you and the other guests (max 16 altogether) have the run of the hotel, so it feels more like your own private property and so totally different from modern clinical hotels. If Stephen ever leaves, part of the character of the hotel will be lost. The charm started when we crossed the door, normally check in is formal etc etc. We arrived early at 11am, Stephen just handed us the key of the room, and said it woud be ready in an hour or so...... no paperwork, no formalities. Lovely start to our stay. Breakfast was help yourself in the full sense of the word, everything is laid out, screambed eggs, boiled eggs, bacon, yogurts, and you slice your own fresh bread before toasting. Plenty of cooked meats and cheeses. (You also boil your own water for tea) We loved this hotel and would not hesitate recommending it, but it's not for anyone who wants a modern hotel with all that goes with it.

Room Tip: Room 7 was small, but had lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joeysoap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Our stay at Hotel Egmond was a mix of emotions. The hotel is very convenient to the train station and we walked there in about 10 mins. On first impressions the hotel is very impressive, beautiful on the outside with lots of charm and character in very pretty grounds and the garden surrounding the property was well manicured. Upon entering the hotel, the reception area is also very historic and has the WOW factor with a huge old fireplace and a nice seating area with two little lounge chairs. However upon entering our room we were quite disapointed, none of the impressive downstairs matched the room we were given upstairs.
We had emailed the hotel in advance and asked for a room with enough space for our luggage as travelling for 6 weeks around Europe we had quite alot, so you can imagine our deflating expectations when we found the room was so small it was not big enough to adequately put our bags anywhere that they were not being tripped over when we got out of bed every morning. The in room safe could not be locked because it needed a key and there was NO key, the bathroom was so unclean that the mould on the grout between the tiles was so thick and black you could actually scrape it off !! The towels had some hairs on them (eeeeuw !!) and the toilet was not clean under the seat.
Upon calling reception about our lack of a liveable room space, cleanliness and a useable safe we were told ( quite rudely ) there was no other room available as the hotel was fully booked and there was no key to the safe to be found, should we wish to complain the manager was not in till the following day and reception closed at 5pm. OKAAAAY !!

The manager was a bit more helpful the day after in finding us the room safe key, however we did not get the choice of another room as explained the hotel was booked out which is very disapointing if you make a request when you book a hotel months in advance, we had to clean the room ourselves being given no other options, so we were left feeling that not only were our particular needs not accomodated for but alas we did not even get the very basic standards of service you expect from any hotel .

Plus points :- Location, Peaceful and beautiful surrounds, Historical building, Comfortable bed

Negatives :- Service, Very small unclean room, No tea or coffee facilties in room, Reception closes and no staff available after 5pm ??

We will not be returning to Hotel Egmond, it's a real shame that the service and rooms ( well the certainly the room we were appointed ) do not mirror the grand building and surrounds of the property.

Room Tip: Don't bother asking for any requirements, they obviously can't accomodate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bebe318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Wake up to the sound of birds, the sight of sunshine on the trees, and the smell of frying bacon! All bedrooms look on to the park. This quiet traditional hotel is full of atmosphere, wooden beams, tiled fireplaces, etc. Breakfast includes many kinds of breads, cheeses, hams, real coffee, and bacon-and-egg. 10 restaurants are within 5 minutes' walk. The historic sights begin just round the corner. And the wifi was strong even on the top floor.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BritabroadSouthwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This is a beautiful family-run hotel located on the edge of a wooded area within the hisotrical city center. Our room had a great view to the garden and woods. This was a very pleasurable experience. Had we known it was so nice, we would have stayed an extra day, but we had already made further travel commitments. Next time in Brugges, we will spend more time at Hotel Egmond. Nice bathroom. Efficient staff, very good breakfast. Absolutely fantastic.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CattleDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The hotel is very conveniently located on the outside of the historic inner city. As it lies at the end of a dead end street and adjacent to a park, the establishment is very quiet, contrary to hotels closer to the Market Square, and in optimal walking distance of downtown. The included breakfast is excellent and very complete. When booking directly through the website of the hotel, parking is free and after check-out it is no problem to leave your car in the parking lot to enjoy a few last hours in this gorgeous city. Gladly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlyingPicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
De Barge Hotel
De Barge Hotel
#49 of 97 in Bruges
498 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Weinebrugge
0.2 mi away
Hotel 't Keizershof
Hotel 't Keizershof
#73 of 97 in Bruges
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#11 of 97 in Bruges
841 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Ter Duinen
Hotel Ter Duinen
#6 of 97 in Bruges
2,056 reviews
1 mi away
Jacobs Hotel
Jacobs Hotel
#77 of 97 in Bruges
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Egmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Egmond

Address: Minnewater 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £69 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Egmond 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small romantic hotel in the middle of a park in Bruges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Egmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Egmond Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing