We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A delightful oasis in the perfect place”
Review of Hotel Egmond

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Egmond
Ranked #77 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A delightful oasis in the perfect place”
Reviewed 8 August 2006

My companion and I enjoyed three nights here and could not fault the staff, the proprietors, the room, the hotel, the food or the lovely garden. This was our first trip to Bruges which we found to be a wonderful place, the old city being very compact and unspolit, and this hotel was ideally placed for easy access to possibly the most attractive part of the city. A one minute walk took us to a square where the swans swam on the canal, the Lake was on the other side of the lock, the horse-drawn carriages started their journeys and we were able to take our pick of half-a-dozen restaurants all on our doorstep. An added bonus was the accordian player and the occasional horse-drawn ice cream cart. The restaurants were perfectly placed for people and horse watching.

It was only a simple ten minute walk from the station, easily followed thanks to the photographic instructions on the hotel web site. The walk to the main square is about twenty minutes or thereabouts, with plenty to interest one on the way. (Too many chocolate shops, though, for this sinner.)

The brewery was a whole five minutes walk away, and the tour very interesting, especially the view from the roof.

The room (number three I think) was large and comfortable, with screens at the windows which enabled us to keep them open all day and night (the weather was hot) without fear of insects. The shower/washroom was a little small but exactly what one would expect in an old building adapted to provide en suite facilities. Towels were replenished each day.

Breakfasts were of the help-yourself variety and provided plenty of choice. A particular treat was being able to have a picnic lunch in the garden, with rolls and fillings saved from breakfast, with tea and coffee freely available all afternoon for us to help ourselves. There were plenty of chairs in the garden to relax in before the afternoon sortie.

The proprietors, father mother and son, were very pleasant and helpful, and we were made to feel at home. They were quite happy to look after our luggage and to allow us to sit in the garden on our last day sipping hot drinks until mid afternoon before we went to catch out train back to Brussels.

One suggestion to prospective visitors might be to take a little boiler to make cups of tea/coffee if you wish hot refreshment last thing at night, although there is a communal fridge with drinks in it upon payment at the desk. There is no residents' lounge, but our room had a table and comfortable chairs.

An added bonus annually on the first Sunday in July is the magnificent and huge brocante or flea market held in the market square next to the Concertebrau and all along the park area behind it: about three hours' worth of interesting browsing.

We would not hesitate to return. Excellent value.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
8 Thank BarbaryCoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    70
    19
    8
    5
See reviews for
18
114
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2006

We loved Hotel Egmond, and would recommend it to anyone interested in a quiet location, beautiful garden, and charming hosts. The rooms were large, clean and comfortable, not anything very special. Though the bathroom was tiny, it was just fine for us. The charming breakfast room, afternoon tea, and the garden setting really set this one apart. While the town is a bit busy and touristy, we seemed miles away from it, though the location was very convenient to the canals and the city center. I wish we could have stayed longer!

Helpful?
7 Thank ruth4005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 July 2006

We were really looking forward to this hotel after reading all of the reviews, but left disappointed by our stay. We paid 98euro for a small double. Our room (#8) was on the first floor and at the end of a very long, dark hallway that was never lit up even at night. Just inside our door was a sign that said the regular room rate was 120euro, which to me would be very expensive (esp given the exchange rate.) The room was a bit small but the decor was quaint and we had a nice garden view. However, the mattresses were saggy, the carpet was worn, the room had a terrible musty smell, and the bathroom was the tiny "porta-potty type" with plastic walls and a floor with a drainage hole. Since there was no air conditiioning, we left the windows open--but there were no screens so mosquitos came in. Later, when we peaked into other rooms, they were FAR bigger and had real bathrooms, which left a bad taste in our mouths.

The pros of the hotel is that it's in a wonderful location, a short walk from the train station and restaurants. It's a lovely stroll to get back to our hotel after a day sight-seeing. The hotel owners are very nice and approachable. We also thoroughly enjoyed the afternoon tea and gardens.

Sidenote: We found Brugge timetables to be odd because some places were closed even during their posted open times (as the case with de Bekoring restaurant, which we wanted to try but never got a chance to.)

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
british columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2006

We spent only 2 nights at this delightful and charming hotel and I'd return in a heartbeat.We were in the ground floor room with its own entrance,pictured on their webpage,under the breakfast room photo.It has been redecorated since the photo was taken and is no longer a little garish ! It was perfect as we had a lot of luggage and we declined another lovely room on the first floor for the convenience and generous size.The location is superb-you can walk everywhere-and there are a number of very good restarants and cafes nearby.The owner/manager at first seemed a little gruff and reserved(I believe this is a Belgian trait,often covering up a great sense of humour),and he proved to be a dear and very helpful.While Euros 112.00 was not cheap (approx. Cdn.162 per my Visa bill) it was good value.

Highly recommended !

Donia Sims
Vancouver,BC,Canada

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank teddybear64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhasset, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2006

Warm and friendly. Extremely helpful. Interesting conversations. Great recommendations with restaurants and museums. Lavish breakfast, wonderful afternoon tea. I took ill and they provided medication and advise.

The view and setting was magnificent. Service was as good as a Relais and Chateaux without the price tag.

I had a crisis at work. They helped with the transatlantic calls. And when I had trouble with my computer allowed me access to theirs to check my outlook files.

My wife and had a wonderful time in Bruges that was made even better by the owner and his parents. It was like staying in a private home.

I highly recommend the Egmond.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vcalluzzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 9 June 2006

My wife, daughter and I stayed with family at the Aramis Flats of Hotel Egmond. While there, my wife and daughter fell ill and much to our surprise and relief the owners of the hotel offer the services of their private physician. The doctor made several house calls to our suite (something unheard of in the States), which we are very grateful for.

The hotel owners and staff were polite, gracious and extremely friendly. The Continental breakfast was much better and more comprehensive that we could have imagined. All the amenities of a kitchenette, microwave, refridgerator etc. made life away from home just as comfortable as being home.

We would recommend Hotel Egmond and their Aramis Flats to anyone! Thank you to everyone at Hotel Egmond for making our stay there one of the most memorable!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 8 June 2006

We stayed two nights in Room 10 which appeared to be part of the house's original attic. The carpeting was worn and dirty; the room smelled musty; furniture was old and nothing like furniture found in other rooms; and the bathroom was a small molded unit more commonly seen in recreational vehicles. The parents of the owner were helping out during our stay and were quite courteous and helpful; however, their son, apparently the owner, was quite aloof and not eager to provide information or answers to questions. Other rooms in the hotel looked quite a bit nicer when we peered in, so if staying here, you should be sure to confirm the location and decor of the room. We enjoyed the location of the hotel, but would look for another hotel in the area if we return for another visit to Brugge.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel 't Keizershof
Hotel 't Keizershof
#76 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gasthof Groenhove
Gasthof Groenhove
#63 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.3 mi away
De Barge Hotel
De Barge Hotel
#48 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#24 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.9 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#10 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rosenburg Hotel
Rosenburg Hotel
#42 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Egmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Egmond

Property: Hotel Egmond
Address: Minnewater 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Egmond 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small romantic hotel in the middle of a park in Bruges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Egmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Egmond Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing