We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Here!”
Review of Hotel Egmond

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Egmond
Ranked #80 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Reviewed 16 August 2007

If you know what to expect in a quaint, old Europe stay, then stay here, period. Setting is beautiful and quiet. Location perfect. Could not have been happier. Wish I were still there.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jostvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2007

This family run hotel is situated by the lovely Minnewater park, out of the main centre, but only a short walk to museums and restaurants. The hotel is in an attractive building with gardens. We had an extremely comfortable and clean attic room; the bathroom was however very small. Rooms on lower levels were larger. Breakfast is served in a very pleasant room and was good quality. A nice touch was the provision of afternoon tea or coffee in a downstairs room for any guest who wanted to come back for a break. The owners were friendly and helpful. We spent a very peaceful and enjoyable few days here.

  • Stayed: October 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jennylouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2007

The web site was helpful and booking was easy. Our room was very comfortable, the breakfast was very good. The owners/staff were friendly and went out of their way to be helpful.

Stayed: April 2007
4  Thank MansfieldTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2007

We were very happy with Hotel Egmond is so many ways. I found it via a web search for non-smoking hotels in Belgium. Luckily the search led us to book three nights in Brugge, the definition of charming. We found Egmond to have many other travel comforts too. It was an easy walk from the train, although we never heard train noise. It was a clean retreat with very few rooms, intimate. The building looked enchanting along the paths of romantic Minnewater Park and lake. Our hosts offered conversation, advise, a lovely breakfast and afternoon tea. The house and gardens were beautiful. We could walk all over Brugge and also return to our room to leave bags after shopping. We liked that we could pop "home" for tea and our jackets for the cool of the evenings. The weather was incredibe, temperate and sunny. The springtime also brought late sunsets which lengthened our walking tours to see quaint homes and shopfronts along the cobbled streets. The shops and restaurants all had such friendly English speaking folks. It's great to travel and enjoy the locals in more than a touristy way. We had two exceptional meals- De Bekoring near the Egmond where the chef came to each table to chat and Bao Bab, near the Burg where the owner seemed like he and all the diners were at his private party.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank PAHKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2007

We want to compliment the Egmont Hotel in Brugge. We loved the location – right in the Minnewater garden-like atmosphere and not smack in the middle of all the tourist hubbub. Plus, it's walking distance from the train station. The rooms were unusually large, in our opinion, and our view of nature (with flowers) from the room was relished after a day of sightseeing. The breakfast (which was included in the reasonable price as opposed to being extra as was the case in many of the hotels where we stayed) was bountiful and colorful and yummy – that liver pate’ was the best ever! I appreciated having bottles of water (or wine or soda) available at any time (at reasonable cost, of course) and an extra refrigerator was provided to me for my insulin storage. The “Boederwaffel” offered during the afternoon tea (or coffee) were top-notch and unique – we even brought some home for “souveniers” for friends and relatives. And the help from the owners was most helpful, for example, when we were trying to visit Ghent to see the famous altarpiece. Chris was especially interesting to talk to.

3  Thank frauie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2006

Hotel Egmond looks a lot better on line than in person. The hotel is a bit off the beaten path, but in a very quiet location on the Minnenwater park. Our room was unspectacular and the bathroom was one of those prefab all in ones. The staff was helpful but not overly warm or friendly. The first night we took advise on where to eat dinner and ended up at what I am sure was a friend's restaurant that was unremarkable and the owner was about the most unfriendly server I've ever encountered. Our room was above the breakfast room and we discovered the first morning that we could hear every word downstairs and vice versa. Not a good room to have on romantic holiday.

Stayed: October 2006
4  Thank AprilDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2006

We absolutely love Bruges and were pleased to find a reasonably priced hotel in such a good location, just near the lake.

The hotel is completely non-smoking and, as hardcore smokers, we weren't thrilled about this but for some people this will be a bonus. You can, however, smoke in the lovely garden - fine for us as the weather was great when we were there.

Lovely, characterful building. Nice garden. Warm and friendly service. Private parking (though be warned - you have to pay extra for this which seems a bit mean). One real advantage for us was that we were able to check in late at night - our ferry from the UK meant that we didn't arrive until about 12.45am, too late for several other hotels in town.

Breakfast was a good selection of cold meats, cheese, etc. My only moans would be that our room (number 7) was very small and when we arrived was full of mosquitoes. Luckily, they were slow and fat and easy to get rid of. If we stayed again, I would request one of the larger rooms above the dining room - these looked a lot better when I glimpsed inside while the maid was cleaning them one morning.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Debston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
De Barge Hotel
De Barge Hotel
#50 of 97 in Bruges
498 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Weinebrugge
0.2 mi away
Hotel 't Keizershof
Hotel 't Keizershof
#73 of 97 in Bruges
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#11 of 97 in Bruges
841 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Ter Duinen
Hotel Ter Duinen
#6 of 97 in Bruges
2,055 reviews
1 mi away
Jacobs Hotel
Jacobs Hotel
#77 of 97 in Bruges
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Egmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Egmond

Address: Minnewater 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £69 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Egmond 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small romantic hotel in the middle of a park in Bruges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Egmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Egmond Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing