We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stinky, old, dirty room”
Review of Ensor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ensor
Ranked #56 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stinky, old, dirty room”
Reviewed 27 December 2011

The location is great but the rooms are horrible. Lots, lots of dust everywhere! And the walls are very old with mould on it. The bathroom was very nasty, also with mould on de walls and floor en in de sink and shower there were still tuft of hairs... not really fancy indeed!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leila A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    90
    52
    23
    5
See reviews for
17
140
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Given that Bruges is lovely but so reserved that Flemish discretion could almost be taken for rudeness, it is refreshing to come across a gem like the Ensor.
The hotel is simple, unpretentious, with occasional signs of DIY reparations - which adds to its charm. Long, creaky wooden corridors, winding stairways that make you feel very 16th century, and a front door that spills directly out into the little streets that lead you into the labyrinth that is Bruges. The owner, born and bred in Bruges, used to be a baker before opening the Ensor, and knows and loves his city. We found him a wonderful source of advice, stories, explanations, and it was he, along with his magic little hotel that made our stay in Bruges an unforgettable one.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sleepygnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We spent two nights here in October. We took a bus from the train station, but walked back in about 15 minutes when we left. We also walked to all the sights in town. Our room had a small balcony overlooking the canal. The area was quiet, but very near a row of cafes and also the Saturday Market.
Breakfast included breads, cereals, fruits and yogurt. The second morning we also had fresh crepes.
The decor in the room was a bit dated, but it was clean. Stairs are steep, but they do have a small lift. The staff at the desk was helpful in suggesting places to eat and also stored our luggage on check-out day.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Buferson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Ensor was great. 15 min walk from the main train station and 10 min from the town hall. Had a room with a bathroom which was bright and clean, and the bed was comfortable. It was right next to a canal and close to many restaurants. Breakfast was included cereals, breads, pasteries, fruits, meats and cheeses. It was very quaint and comfortable. Impressed considering we got the room for such a good rate. I would definetly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wind41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

small, friendly b&b with all you would expect from that, overlooking a canal just north of t'zand. comfy room, which had a small balcony you could perch on, right by the canal - tho on closer inspection ours seemed to be the only room with a balcony. good buffet breakfast and the owner was helpful with any questions we had about bruges.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zzao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We arrived at the hotel late because we were driving from Barcelona. Although we called and appologised for our late arrival (about 1 in the night), once we arrived the man at the reception desk informed us in a very rude manner that check in is until 11 30 PM and that on the day of our departure we must leave the hotel until 10 AM. After the "friendly" welcome, we were given a room outside the hotel, namely the next door (on the corner) in the building. I think that that room isn't even used usually because it smelled horrible, there were spider webs all over the place! The "bathroom" consisted of a toilet that was separated from the room by a cardboard door. The shower and sink were in the same room as the bed. There were no towel hangers and the sink sink leaked constantly. Moreover, even though we initially thought that the price for the hotel was ok given the location, we were shocked to find out that downtown, on the streets near the Cathedral (so a better location) you can find better hotels at the same price! So...the hotel is a sure "Never again!"

Room Tip: Maybe... check in early and ask not to get the room outside the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oanach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

It was a nice room. My girlfriend and I had a nice view out the front of the building to a cobble stoned street and a canal. The joy of this hotel is that it is close enough to the city center, but far away enough to avoid even a hint of the noises from the night life.
The restroom left something to be desired. The toilet was dead smack in the middle of the bathroom making it difficult to use the sink to shave or step out from the shower. The shower was also a bit contrived. It was one of those hand held thing-a-ma-bobs, but it had to be positioned into the holder a certain way in order to remain under the stream. Not horrible but not easy either.
Breakfast was included which is always a nice touch but none of it looked that appetizing. Continental all the way, with what looked like cheese and some turkey coldcuts. I am American so I would have settled for some donuts and coffee, but there were no circular cakes covered in sugar. If you can make yourself a cup of tea and a buttered roll, consider it a victory.
All in all, a decent room, particularly in a town where you spend most, if not all of your time outside enjoying the historic city.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Discerning_Eye_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel 't Keizershof
Hotel 't Keizershof
#75 of 97 in Bruges
200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Passage
Hotel Passage
#89 of 97 in Bruges
121 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Asiris
Hotel Asiris
#67 of 97 in Bruges
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
#68 of 97 in Bruges
177 reviews
0.6 mi away
Canalview Hotel Ter Reien
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ensor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ensor

Property: Ensor
Address: Speelmansrei 10, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ensor 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ensor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ensor Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing