We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect location”
Review of Duc de Bourgogne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Duc de Bourgogne
Ranked #48 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect location”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I have just spent two nights in this hotel. We had rooms on the top floor with the canal view and the view was probably the only nice thing about it. The room was dirty and full of dust. What I really couldn't stand was the terrible smell that came from the bathroom. Another problem was the permanently high temperature in the room. I don't really like air condition, but there was no fridge, so that all the belgian pralines, I bought as a present for my family, melted down. But that was just a detail. The restaurant was beautiful, absolutely perfect!! However, be sure you take some sweater with you, because it was really cold down there. I am glad I have tried this hotel, but I wouldn't recommend it to those, who like order and cleanliness.

Room Tip: Very hot on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    137
    52
    27
    18
See reviews for
45
241
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We have just spent there 1 wonderful night. The hotel has the unique atmosphere which is very closed to the city especially to the Old part. It was so great to open to window and to feel myself in Middle Ages time. All the furniture, decoration elements are belong to the history.
We had de-lux room and our friend the standart one with the fantastic channel view.
In the morning we had really nice breakfast with toasts, cheese, ham, jam, butter, fresh orange juice and coffee.
The staff was nice and friendly.
No doubt, I will be back to this hotel

Room Tip: Take the room on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IOksana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

What a meal, what a place. Book and ask for an alcove table. Just perfect. You are treated as a guest. The Mussels were great, the duck cooked to perfection.

Only eat here but do intend to stay on our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drwheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshall, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Having been to Bruges a number of times but not overnight, we finally spent the weekend in town. No regrets at all staying in this beautifully situated hotel right on the canal. Upon entering the front door you're living a few centuries back in time. Our room (#3)had a canal view with a very comfortable bed and nice large windows giving way to relaxing with a bottle of wine and being astounded by the beauty and age of this fairytale town before venturing out. We enjoyed a peaceful nights sleep and we awoke to the sound of the playful ducks and swans in the canal. Breakfast was wonderful and our table again overlooked the canal. Staff very friendly and we will be staying here again. Thanks for a memorable experience!

Room Tip: Room 3 and 4 very nice, 4 being a bit larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We visited last november and although the hotel is quaint and set nicely on the canal, we found the room very gloomy looking. With an extra bed for a child there was very little space. We could have lived with this as we were out and about most of the time sightseeing anyway. But what really let it down for us was the hotel staff. There was a sort of unfriendliness about the place. We ate in the restaurant one evening and waited a very long time for our meal, which when arrived was not very nice, and cost us a small fortune.
Bruge is beautiful and we will visit again but this hotel will not be getting our hard earned cash next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eli-1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

This hotel is in the perfect location, on the canal with wonderful views.You will see the hotel on many paintings/pictures of Bruges! Lovely welcome from the staff, and our room was really nice, huge bathroom and clean. The breakfasts were excellent, sitting looking over the canal, in a magnificent dining room, full of candelabras and paintings. The hotel is full of olde worlde pictures, artefacts and ornaments and so charming! Be warned, no lift if you struggle with stairs - the stair /landing carpets need changing as rather old and worn, but this is the only "critisicsm" if there is one! I will definitely book here again.

Room Tip: Rooms either overlook the canal, or over a courtyard with other views of canals beyond, all lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy_Guildford_Pair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We loved our stay at this hotel. It is full of olde worlde charm, it's not modern but is very clean and comfortable. The hotel is located right on the canal and is close to everything you'd want to see in Bruges. Our room was clean and comfortable and had an amazing canal view. It was magnificent waking up and looking out onto such a beautiful view!
Breakfast was included in the room rate and although it is continental there was plenty of choice - cereals, yoghurt, breads, pastries, jams, boiled eggs etc.
The staff were extremely friendly, warm and helpful and made us feel very welcome. We would definitely stay at this hotel again should we ever return to Bruges.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a canal view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou80London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#9 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.0 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.1 mi away
Die Swaene
Die Swaene
#60 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
#52 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#27 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Botaniek  Hotel
Botaniek Hotel
#10 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duc de Bourgogne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duc de Bourgogne

Property: Duc de Bourgogne
Address: Huidenvettersplein 12, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Duc de Bourgogne 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Duc de Bourgogne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duc De Bourgogne Bruges
Duc De Bourgogne Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing