We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky and lovely”
Review of Duc de Bourgogne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Duc de Bourgogne
Ranked #47 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This hotel was a nightmare to find in a car and we ended up dodging pedestrians and market stalls to get outside the hotel to drop our bags off. The 'Astrid' car park nearby was great - very secure and only about 7 euros a night, a bargain.
We stayed for 2 nights in August - hitting a canal festival of shows. As we were staying in this hotel it was free for us to see some of these shows and so that was a bonus.
We stayed in room 16 - lovely canal views out of the attic windows. A hand held showerhead in the bathroom was a little awkward but this added to the quirkiness of the hotel.
Staff were very friendly and helpful - especially the restaurant staff who prepared me a tray for breakfast which my husband brought up to our room for me on our first morning in the hotel - no trouble at all and they didn't have to offer this at all.
The hotel is in a very central location and has a beautiful setting. Restaurant décor is amazing. Give it a go - it makes a change from the predictable hotel rooms you get everywhere else.

Room Tip: All rooms are within ear distance of the Belford so you won't avoid the lovely chimes. Everythi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

This is a wonderful, old-fashioned hotel, with friendly staff, a perfect location and great views. While the room isn't brushed aluminium, ceiling to floor glass windows with a state of the art bathroom and flat screen TV's everywhere, it's quite possibly the best hotel room I've ever stayed in. Yes the furniture is a little old, and the carpets and curtains aren't brand new, but the room is huge, light and airy, with comfortable couches and an unbelievable view. This is a hotel room I could have happily spent the day in, just relaxing and enjoying the atmosphere. The dining/breakfast room is also eclectic, beautifully furnished, and has perfect views. For me, it's very simple. On my next trip to Bruges I will only stay in this hotel and in this room. I will change my trip dates if necessary rather than change hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bflannigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I just loved this hotel. The staff was remarkable.The setting on the canal was beautiful. The dining room was stunning and the food superb.We stayed in 3 different rooms during our 6 day stay and all were very nice and exceptionally clean and well maintained.The location was in the very heart of Bruges. I would say that this may well be my favorite hotel ever.We will be going back next year. Note that the hotel does not have a lift which was of no concern to us but may be a consideration to some.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Healey67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

From looking at the location and the amazing 17th century building we thought this would be a great one night stay.
The room we were given was on the top floor, it was dirty, smelly and by the look of the sheets and pillows I would be surprised if they even wash them! No tea/coffee making facilities. The wardrobe smelt so awful you not hang anything in it.
We also asked if they had an Iron when we arrived "yes we do but we have no board, you can Iron on the table?" we pointed out that we have no table “oh well Iron on the floor then".
As the room was so bad we asked if we could be moved to a better room for the same price. We were just laughed at.
This could be one of the best Hotels in the city, but all of the hotel was dirty and needs some serious work to warrant the prices they charge.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clare1389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Bottom line: If you are looking for a modern, spotless, standard cookie-cutter hotel room with all the amenities like air conditioning and elevators, look elsewhere. If you are looking to experience a 17th century building with all its quirks, ambiance and charm; a delicious breakfast in a lovely dining room and friendly, helpful staff this hotel may be for you.
My husband and I travel a lot. We always choose a B&B for the unique experience. We found it in the Hotel Duc De Bourgogne. First, it is in a simply breath taking location. Just look at the pictures. I'm sure it's in one of the most photographed locations in Bruges. (BTW, the hotel is the white building, not the brick one to the right of it.) The hostess was very delightful, the bed comfortable, the bathroom suitable, and the morning breakfast sitting next to the windows facing the canal unbeatable. While it is true that the Hotel Duc De Bourgogne is a bit shabby on the inside, we just considered it a part of the ambiance of old world charm. Be careful when you book with a "canal view" though. Book a room on the first (American second) floor. We ended up with a attic room - number 12 - on the second floor which is listed as having a canal view. (On the pictures from the outside, look for the top floor - roof level - gabled window, far right.) One of the travelers posted a picture inside of this room (with the red striped wallpaper behind the bed). It's not really what anyone would consider "a canal view." The only window in the room is small and located high on the wall. But there is a platform and if you step up and lean out, it is really beautiful. Since this room is under the roof I'm sure it can get hot, but it cools down at night. We were there middle of August and we were fine. So, how is it possible that we were happy even if the view had to be contrived, the stairs steep, the carpets less than perfect and no air?? Because this was experiencing 1600 Belgium (with Wi-Fi!) and we loved it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TeacherTess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We didn't stay in the hotel, we ate in the restaurant.
The restaurant in itself is very old fashioned, but very posh in my opinion! The view was lovely from the windows, the canals were all lit up and looked beautiful.
The service was average, but the food was delicious. We chose the set menu which was called the 'Choice Menu' and was quite well priced at 34 euros per head.
I had the smoked ham salad for start, steak with new potatoes and veg for main and chocolate mousse for desert. Very, very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank browneyedowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We paid in advance to stay 3 nights. After arriving from a long day of travel and carrying our luggage up the stairs (no elevator) we found the room in terrible condition: hole in bathroom door, no pillow cases on the pillows, dirty room, stained carpet, wobbly side chair and black out curtains that were 6 inches too short. We informed the front desk, took a look at another room which was not much better and left for another hotel. That was the end of May and while they tell my travel agent they are returning our money, they still continue to not refund.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mryan362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#10 of 97 in Bruges
768 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
#52 of 97 in Bruges
675 reviews
0.1 mi away
Botaniek  Hotel
Botaniek Hotel
#8 of 97 in Bruges
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#24 of 97 in Bruges
637 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Malleberg
Hotel Malleberg
#37 of 97 in Bruges
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duc de Bourgogne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duc de Bourgogne

Address: Huidenvettersplein 12, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £75 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Duc de Bourgogne 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Duc de Bourgogne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duc De Bourgogne Bruges
Duc De Bourgogne Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing