We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shabby but Adequate”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Duc de Bourgogne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Duc de Bourgogne
Ranked #48 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Shabby but Adequate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location, and the kitchen not so bad. The overall atmosphere is of faded glory, and the whole place would benefit from a refurb. However, it seems to be clean, and the staff are friendly and helpful.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JFC52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    135
    52
    27
    18
See reviews for
45
239
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

The hotel is ideally located in the centre of town right on the canal, and it is full of gothic charm.

Room was quirky and the ensuite could do with some renovation.

Breakfast was limited, boiled egg, sliced cheese, sliced meats, bread and some cereals and pastries.

The staff were lovely, helpful and with great english, but overall I felt the price was a bit much for a deluxe room, which wasn't very deluxe.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andilad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

We were booked into the Duc de Bourgogne the evenings of Jan 6 and 7. We were disappointed because on the morning of 8th there was no breakfast. We were advised that the responsible person did not show up for work.. Also, there was no WiFi. And the lighting was woefully insufficient especially because many of the bulbs were burnt out. Our impression was that the hotel had no management

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardigan
Level Contributor
215 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

A lovely hotel dripping with atmosphere and charm. We stayed for two nights and would have stayed more. The room overlooked the canal and the breakfast was delightful. My only moan is the attitude of one of the waiting staff who made us feel so unwelcome that we declined to eat there the following night. Everyone else was superb. We're going back next year but will have to eat elsewhere; which is disappointing.!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frohlix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Hotel room was small with a somewhat uncomfortable bed. It was difficult to see out any of the windows in our room as they were small and elevated as we were the top floor. There was no shower, but a bath which is common in older European hotels. I still would very much prefer a shower. The morning breakfast wasn't bad and the location was fantastic. The wifi only worked in the lobby, but that was okay as we were there for vacation anyway. The front desk was overall very helpful if we needed help with anything.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nathanmoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alta Loma, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed in room 4. Fantastic view of the the canal through the 2 large windows. Super quaint & charming. No air conditioning, and no lift but the ambiance made up for the slight inconvenience. Bathroom had another large window & nice fixtures, looked recently remodeled. You cannot park in front even to load/unload as it faces a square used as a marketplace, but the parking was about a block away and reasonably priced. The staff was super friendly and went out of their way to make toast for us for breakfast as we were tired of the cold meat & cheese we had been served throughout Europe. They did have all of the regular stuff served at all the continental breakfasts, but we were at the end of a three week trip and just couldn't eat another hard boiled egg. They also filled our travel ice cooler for our sodas and beer, which is like striking gold, since a bag of ice cubes is mostly non-existent in Europe. The weather was exceptionally hot, into the upper 80's and the room was a bit stuffy during mid day, but cooled quickly with the large windows open, however I did get a few bug bites. I didn't notice any noise problems even with windows wide open. The wifi is spotty, and the TV was old school but worked fine. The old style key to the room was on a brass tag and was so heavy it made my pants slide down. (it said 4 on it which I now think is the room # and also the weight of the key tag in pounds) Good water pressure. I must say, the dinner we had at the restaurant was one of the best we had the whole trip (including Paris). A Lobster dish to die for. I changed into a dress for dinner as it looked sort of fancy, but other patrons were in shorts, so the dress code is not a worry. In short, I LOVED this place. I will stay here and in the same room if possible, when I return to Bruges.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandiKunst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in September. This is a lovely hotel with a great location and value. The room was pretty large by European standards, especially the bathroom. The service was very friendly, and the breakfast each morning was terrific, as was the canal view from the breakfast room. The rooms are not modern, but we were comfortable. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSchwinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#10 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.0 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.1 mi away
Die Swaene
Die Swaene
#60 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
#53 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#26 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Botaniek  Hotel
Botaniek Hotel
#11 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duc de Bourgogne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duc de Bourgogne

Property: Duc de Bourgogne
Address: Huidenvettersplein 12, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Duc de Bourgogne 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Duc de Bourgogne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duc De Bourgogne Bruges
Duc De Bourgogne Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing