We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Value in Bruge”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Duc de Bourgogne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Duc de Bourgogne
Ranked #51 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Value in Bruge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

This lovely hotel on a canal in Bruge in the middle of the medieval town is a gem. Sightseers passing by whip out their cameras to photograph it's beautiful facade. The room is spacious if a bit tired. Staff is friendly and helpful.
Would be delighted to return.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    135
    52
    27
    18
See reviews for
44
238
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Fantastic position best in Brugge. Carpet at least 200 years old and smells likens it too. Shower worst in 8 weeks holiday in Europe hot-cold all the time. $14 for 700mm water, restaurant food just average for its reputation and price... Better restaurant everywhere. You carry your own luggage upstairs. All staff are super friendly except for grumpy boss. No tea or coffee in room. They tell you you have WiFi in your room but it is only available in lounge area. I would tell friends they should experience this hotel but I would find somewhere else next time. Position and history is its biggest score.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorneliusM35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Although we arrived late from Amsterdam, the staff waited for us. We had a canal view which was absolutely stunning...both at night and during the day! I've read some reviews that say the hotel is "shabby." We thought the hotel's appearances matched its location in an older part of the city....and loved the ambience. Our bed was fine; the bathroom was clean and convenient. The breakfast itself was wonderful, delicious, and more than filling. The loveliness of the dining room made the breakfast an event itself. The staff was very helpful during our stay. We would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

I stayed here weekend just gone with 2 other couples. We had 3 rooms, 2 x deluxe and one suite for 2 people. All were not very clean and the suite had thick dust, carpet very,very badly stained, sheets were blood stained from previous customers and bathroom was dirty. One of the deluxe rooms was awful and the couple were upset, very poor standard indeed. We were all disappointed and spoke to the manageress. She was not very helpful but did get sheets changed and dust removed from parts of the room. She said it was out of her hands as owner was never there, she was the manager so should have been able to help more. Up side restaurant was nice and food ok and nice view if you have canal room. All very disappointed and would not go back there. Much better hotels as been to Belgium 4 times.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuebR8570WJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

The staff at the Duc de Bourgogne were wonderfully helpful and pleasant, which made the stay quite nice, but the uncomfortable bed made for long nights. We stayed for three nights in February and low-season meant that the price was very reasonable - particularly as it included breakfast in the restaurant overlooking the canal.

The wifi was a bit spotty, but the front desk staff was quick to reboot the router and remedy the problem when notified that it was out.

While the bed was awful and the ensuite had seen better days, the Duc de Bourgogne won us over with location, breakfast, charm, and staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location, and the kitchen not so bad. The overall atmosphere is of faded glory, and the whole place would benefit from a refurb. However, it seems to be clean, and the staff are friendly and helpful.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JFC52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

The hotel is ideally located in the centre of town right on the canal, and it is full of gothic charm.

Room was quirky and the ensuite could do with some renovation.

Breakfast was limited, boiled egg, sliced cheese, sliced meats, bread and some cereals and pastries.

The staff were lovely, helpful and with great english, but overall I felt the price was a bit much for a deluxe room, which wasn't very deluxe.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andilad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#10 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.0 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.1 mi away
Die Swaene
Die Swaene
#60 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
#53 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#26 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Botaniek  Hotel
Botaniek Hotel
#11 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duc de Bourgogne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duc de Bourgogne

Property: Duc de Bourgogne
Address: Huidenvettersplein 12, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Duc de Bourgogne 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Duc de Bourgogne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duc De Bourgogne Bruges
Duc De Bourgogne Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing