We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (507)
Filter reviews
507 results
Traveller rating
263
139
62
26
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
263
139
62
26
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main hotelsmall luxury hotelfish marketoverlooking the canalold worldlovely hotelfirst flooreggs cooked to orderperfect locationjunior suitelarge windowsstayed one nightold buildingreception areaquiet at nightbreakfast roomper day
Filter
Updating list...
266 - 271 of 507 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I had heard of the ‘die swaene’ hotel before booking and I had great expectations. Well the hotel was much more than I expected. The atmosphere is all over very cozy. The restaurant at the other side serves delicious food. The staff is very helpful and very importantly, there is a private car park for a reasonable price. I hope to go back there in the future as Bruges is a real treasure.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah21ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

If you like to be central and quiet, you simply choose for the ‘Die Swaene’ hotel. It is perfectly situated along a beautiful canal.
The service is brilliant, nothing is too much for the staff.
The bedroom was not that big, but still very adorable. We had dinner in their restaurant -just across- and the food was superb.
We will be back.

Room Tip: go for the "Delux Double Room"
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DinoPachino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2011

On our way to France, we had a stop in beautiful Bruges in Belgium. We stayed for 1 night at the hotel Die Swaene, a 4 star hotel in the center of town.
Our pleasant room overlooked the canal and was quite spacious with a traditional atmosphere. The service was perfect and the receptionclerk was very helpful and attentive.
Breakfast was served in an very nice room on the groundfloor. For dinner we were recommended the Pergola, just opposite the hotel and managed by the same owners. There the food was memorable.
We had the 3 course menu. The restaurant was downstairs and had a very impressive winelist. If I would return to this lovely city, I would stay again in this perfectly situated nice hotel.
Very recommendable !

Room Tip: Don't miss wines at Pergola...
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank victor_bell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

We arrived in the pouring rain and although the taxi driver made a point of dropping us off right under the canopy so we didn't get wet, we were then forced to walk to the annex (the other side of the canal) and the hotel could find only 1 umbrella between 6 of us!
3 rooms - ours was quite grand but the other 2 were somewhat more cramped. All were right on the canal and would have had wonderful views had the weather been better!
Finishing touches were a little underwhleming. Towels (sludge grey) and bath robes were hard rather than fluffy, no towel rails in bathroom so draped on floor! - no complimentary conditioner; overhead shower in our bathroom had had the "on" tap removed, no tea and coffee making facilities or even water (other than in mini-bar) and mini-bar itself rather disappointing (only nibbles was a packet of peanuts)
Room was rather dark - not helped by the fact one of the lights wasn't working
Very old TV with no cable channels - and no WiFi (certainly in the annex)
Plus factors: bathroom was sparkling clean - staff were delightful and light jazz music was played in both the bar and breakfast room which created a nice ambience. And the hotel certainly had a charm of its own which would no doubt have been even more apparent in better weather conditions

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lavinia02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

We stayed here for four nights for our honeymoon. we booked it specifically for the swimming pool and spa, having paid more for these services we were very disappointed to find out both of where closed when we were there. Our room was far smaller than we expected and even though we had said it was our honeymoon we were given two single beds pushed together. The breakfast buffet was nice - but very standard and the fridge in the room was broken. The location was really good and the hotel did offer off road parking however this was at a premium. Although the hotel was pleasant and the staff very polite it was not very spacious and came across far more luxurious on the website than in reality. we were disappointed with the hotel and do not think it was good value for money. we would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank racwheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews