We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Convenient and Comfortable”
Review of Die Swaene

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Die Swaene
Ranked #62 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Super Convenient and Comfortable”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

You can't get any more authentic: right on a canal, steps from everything you probably want to see and everywhere you want to eat, in converted, centuries-old buildings. It's like staying in a museum. This was the only hotel that the guide on our canal boat trip pointed out. The rooms, accessible by small winding staircases or a small lift are clean, of comfortable size, well-furnished and well-equipped, with modern bathrooms. They're a little underlit, and the paint and carpets could use some touchups, but we stayed there at the end of what apparently was a very busy tourist season, so maybe that was to be expected. In any event, it did not detract from our visit. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast buffet was large and delicious and served on Limoges china in a beautiful, room. There's even a small swimming pool and a sauna. Parking (for a fee) is available around the corner.

Room Tip: Definitely request a room overlooking the canal and watch for the swans floating by in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    123
    55
    25
    15
See reviews for
38
290
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Our room, while overlooking the canal, was old and tired. The bathroom was poorly lit, small, and had horrid water pressure in the shower. Yes, the whole place is old, but it really needs some help. Odd smell throughout.

The staff was helpful and friendly, breakfast was nice. This came rated as the best in town - if this is the best, would hate to see what the others are like!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chicagolover59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

The location on a canal in the centre of Bruges is simply the best. The hotel is quiet and I imagine if you are in a canal facing room the outlook would be wonderful. However our rear facing room (onto an air conditioning unit and flat roofs) was not attractive. The decor of the hotel is quite dated and "frilly" but I am sure would suit many peoples taste and the main sitting room of the hotel is a magnificent historic room. However our room was dull, with an unfitted mini-bar, a TV mounted very high on the wall and not a great deal of wardrobe space, however it was the bathroom which was the greatest disappointment and to be honest it really needed to be refitted - currently tiles which needed re-grouting, three small down lights over the basins and no light to the rest of the room. I am not certain what the selection of hotels is like in Bruges so it might be that this is indeed one of the best and certainly came recommended to us. The service was truly charming and helpful and the buffet breakfast had a wide and fresh selection.

Room Tip: I didn't see them but I would think those overlooking the canal are greatly preferable to the on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Stayed one night for business (recommended by a colleague) and really enjoyed it. The rooms are big and the atmosphere of the hotel is pretty cool. Will definitively recommend it to anyone travelling to Bruges.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Was there for a romantic weekend! Not the easiest place to find, but great location in the centre by the Fish Market and good parking spot for your stay as you won't need the car in Bruges!( charged at Euros 15 a day)
Breakfast outside the hotel, lots of places to choose from at half the price!
Great little pool too very under used so felt like a private pool and sauna!
Rooms which do not have a canal view are small and dark like the hotel itself but atmospheric!
there is a cananl boat trip pier within walking distance as well as lots of restaurants and the Grand'place is around the corner!
Staff is very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: you wil be given 2 single beds as a matter of course , Rooms with canal views are bigger and light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salsaqueen54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

i have stayed in Bruges 5 times now and every time it never fails to deligh in every way, this was our first time at this hotel and although it could be improved it was wonderful, the staff where great very helpful and emails where answered prompltly before our trip, the room was in the new building across the river and was lovely although not as bbig as i had hoped. breakfast was fantastic and served in a beautiful relaxing room on limoges china. we where dissapointed at no coffee facilities in the room and also no safe, we would have liked to be able to sit outside and have coffee in the mornings but to do this needed to order from rpoom service or go across the road and bring back over the river to the outside eating area. also the pool was in the older part of the hotel and no changing rooms so would have to wander across the bridge and up the road in swimwear and dressing gown, not really acceptable, the sauna is at extra cost which is ok , but you needed to book in advance and we would have liked to just use it if the weather turned cooler in the late afternoon. the rooms in the main hotel where beautiful but simply arent used this is a shame and some soft music playing and maybe a drinks menu on tables would encourage people to use them. but a beautiful hotel noetheless and you wont be dissapointed at the breakast or decor.

Room Tip: try to book in the main hotel,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuffolkDuchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saudi Arabia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

What a delightful property, we had a room upstairs which had lots of fabric and a view of the canal off the main square. It was warm and cosy. Breakfast was out of this world rich in color, food made with love, displayed with attention , it was easy to sleep in , relax over breakfast and be close to all the action.

Room Tip: Do not miss out on breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaudiArabia1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel De Tuilerieen
Hotel De Tuilerieen
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,524 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#8 of 97 in Bruges
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#24 of 97 in Bruges
1,523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux
0.1 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Die Swaene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Swaene

Property: Die Swaene
Address: Steenhouwersdijk 2, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#51 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Swaene 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Die Swaene**** is a sanctuary overlooking one of the most picturesque canals, right at the very heart of the old historical city center and just a stone-throw away from the Market and Burg square. This prize-winning hotel is considered to be one of the most romantic and peaceful boutique hotels in Europe and is renown for its customer-friendliness and excellent service. Quite a unicum in this age of 'time is money' but here one still finds time to listen to the needs of the guest. Die Swaene**** has 24 elegantly furnished and individually decorated rooms and the public rooms have an atmosphere of times past. The authentic salon "Guild of Merchant Taylors" (1779) is classified heritage and a perfect place to relax by the fire-place after a day of exploring the beautiful city. Or do you prefer to take an aperitif in the cozy bar or have a plunge in the swimming pool with sauna? Its all possible in Die Swaene. At the opposite side of the canal one finds the "Pergola" wing with 8 Superior Deluxe rooms, each with fire-place in the room and view over the water. From Monday to Friday we offer a free guided tour with an English speaking guide. Die Swaene**** has everything to make your visit unforgettable ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Die Swaene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Die Swaene Bruges
Die Swaene Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing