We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Die Swaene

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Die Swaene
Ranked #60 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
61 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Convenient Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

We stayed at Die Swaene for a couple of nights in July 2012. Our room was in the annex directly across the canal. We had no problems with the short walk to the main hotel for breakfast, questions, etc. 3 minutes tops---and it's so lovely anyway that I see no reason for anyone to complain. Our room had a view of the canal/swans and was very old world decorated, yet with all the modern conveniences. Terrific bathroom and shower.
The staff were very helpful with any questions, friendly, and very happy to make our stay as wonderful and carefree as possible.
Breakfast was tremendous! A huge assortment of breads, meats, cheeses, cooked eggs, fresh juices, strong coffee, teas, etc. One of our best during our month long journey through Europe.
The location is perfect because it is a quiet street, yet near enough to the squares where we liked to be in the evening.
Bruges/Brugge itself is such an easily walkable city, and it's like a living museum. We love this city.
I would highly recommend Die Swaene for anyone wanting to visit Brugge/Bruges.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ancestralvoices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    117
    53
    23
    15
See reviews for
37
278
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NANCY
Level Contributor
121 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

We went to the Die Swaene for one night last week end. After a long time checking the several quotes on tripadvisor I finally decided to book the "Valentin arrangement"

One night in a deluxe room with fire place including champagne, 4 courses dinner and breakfast.

When we arrived all was ready as asked, fire place was running, champagne was in the fridge, all started well.

The restaurant la Pergola located in the second building is just above the deluxe rooms. That is too say that every time that guests are going to the restaurant they will go through the room. I can let you imagine how Noisy it is when you have people leaving the restaurant.

Worst was not the noise done by clients of the restaurant but by the staff of the hotel. Sunday morning 7/30 it was like if they want us to Wake up to leave the room as soon as possible.

I red several quotes on the fact that the hotel was Noisy and I can confirm it! Never seen 4 stars hotel providing such a low comfort in term of noise...

In the same way, when we tried to take the shower, we did not have hot water! So when going for breakfast I made it noticed to the guy at the reception. He seems to be surprised whereas I was not the first person having this problem (red before on trip advisor)

I started to explain to the guy that for 400 is it really shameful that we do not have hot water in the room. Reply of the guy was "you did not pay 400 for the room but for the package"... Not really serious and professional I would say!

Regarding the breakfast, nothing special, it's a regular breakfast with one glass of orange juice.. You can have hot eggs on demand if you like.

Regarding the restaurant la pergola, also nothing special there. We took the 4 courses menu included in our package. Take care you cannot select the courses, those are already preselected.

We had a terrine as 1st course that was tasteless, then a 2nd course with sea food that was not bad, 3rd was meat that was also not bad and as desert a “mousse au chocolat” (a bit simple for a 60 euro menu)

To conclude, I would not recommend the package Valentin or even the deluxe room.

The only positive aspect of the hotel is the swimming pool that is nice and also the great location of the hotel close to the water and also close to the center.

Room Tip: Avoid all superiors rooms in the second building where you will be disturb by people moving around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZAZA1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

Lovely hotel next to a canal. The delux room in the annex on the otherside the the main build is right on the riverside. Can see touring boats from the window which our baby son enjoyed very much. The room has a firepalce and some old but interesting/full of charactor furniture. The hotel's restaurant has quality food if a little bit too English. The hotel also has parking which is very useful in Bruges. The common area in the hotel, i.e. lounge, bar, and especially the first floor drawing room are all nicely decorated and comfortable. Very nice breakfast selection as well. All the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lzhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

For me, it was the most romantic hotel i've been to. We had an nice room with a view on the canal of bruges with a nice fireplace close to the window. Nice comfy hotel room and the reception was very helpful. They have a nice indoor swimming pool as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaivy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

I had forgotten the Small Luxury Hotels collection is just a marketing plan - nothing more, but I digress. I'd forgotten how greedy some hotel owners can be in a tourist market, but I digress. Shame on me for not reading more of the reviews here and shame on them for letting this place just go. So much potential but not now. Cracked formica mirror/vanity, cheap doors that don't close, different color paints and patches, cheap lighting fixtures, water damage and this is the upgraded room. The "standard" room first given was pathetic even though we had paid for a superior. Uh, why don't you just upgrapde everyonen anyway in the dead of winter and keep everyone happy?

Dear management (I don't think they read this but I don't think care in the least): Wake up- there's a reason your hotel has only a handful of guests here tonight. There are many, many more upgraded, beautiful and welll located options for less or even more money. The point is you're not delivering on what you're' charging and you been called out for here several times over the year but looks like not much has changed.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank herculepoirot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

We picked the hotel mainly because of the pool since we have an 8 year oldchild with us so we thought after we did the cultural tour we could give her joy spending time in the pool. The Hotel looks so great obviously perfect for the honeymooners. We get a room which looks likea princess bed the give a teuly romantic .

we found Joy sitting in the small , cozy reception area and shatting with the reception staff which are very helpful and nice.

Parking area is available too for a daily fee.

Near to all the best spot and everycorner is reataurant, infact it is so fascinating to watch the boat passing the river which is infront of the hotel. Allin all we hada good stay for3 nights!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kikay32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

Our travel agent knew this hotel and booked us into a suite in the annex across the canal from the reception and main office. The room itself was very nice and is one of the ones featured in the hotel's website. Canal boats continually paraded past the window and we joined the tour on one ourselves.
Bruges is called the Venice of the north and is absolutely one of the most beautiful cities we have ever visited. It is small, ringed and cut through with canals that are plied by water taxis. If you are going to visit - and you should - then hotel Die Swaene is right in the middle of everything and an easy walk to all you will want to see. The restaurant is very good so you do not have to go out to eat unless you just have to. The hotel staff is courteous and helpful and the hotel was easy to find in the rental car. We parked and walked everywhere the next three days it was so convenient.
Try it, you will like it too.

Room Tip: We chose a suite across the canal from the hotel entrance. The room is featured in the hotel website...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sumner B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel De Tuilerieen
Hotel De Tuilerieen
#19 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#10 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#27 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.1 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.1 mi away
Duc de Bourgogne
Duc de Bourgogne
#48 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Die Swaene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Swaene

Property: Die Swaene
Address: Steenhouwersdijk 2, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#51 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Swaene 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Die Swaene**** is a sanctuary overlooking one of the most picturesque canals, right at the very heart of the old historical city center and just a stone-throw away from the Market and Burg square. This prize-winning hotel is considered to be one of the most romantic and peaceful boutique hotels in Europe and is renown for its customer-friendliness and excellent service. Quite a unicum in this age of 'time is money' but here one still finds time to listen to the needs of the guest. Die Swaene**** has 24 elegantly furnished and individually decorated rooms and the public rooms have an atmosphere of times past. The authentic salon "Guild of Merchant Taylors" (1779) is classified heritage and a perfect place to relax by the fire-place after a day of exploring the beautiful city. Or do you prefer to take an aperitif in the cozy bar or have a plunge in the swimming pool with sauna? Its all possible in Die Swaene. At the opposite side of the canal one finds the "Pergola" wing with 8 Superior Deluxe rooms, each with fire-place in the room and view over the water. From Monday to Friday we offer a free guided tour with an English speaking guide. Die Swaene**** has everything to make your visit unforgettable ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Die Swaene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Die Swaene Bruges
Die Swaene Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing