We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Die Swaene
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Brugge Centrum(Bruges)(Great Value!)
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
ibis
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Novotel Brugge Centrum(Bruges)(Great Value!)
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
NH Brugge(Bruges)(Great Value!)
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Martin's Brugge(Bruges)(Great Value!)
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$224
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$396
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$360
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Navarra Brugge(Bruges)
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (479)
Filter reviews
479 results
Traveller rating
246
133
58
25
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
246
133
58
25
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main hotelfish marketoverlooking the canalbeautiful hoteljunior suitelarge windowsstayed one nightperfect locationfriendly hotelbreakfast roomboutique hotelwonderful staylovely roomwithin easy walking distancebreadthe main squarepastries
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 479 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

I booked at the hotel and confirmed an air-conditioned room and the Size of 60 SQM. We received the 2 rooms and when asking about the A/C he said it is not working since 2 days and the room size was not 60SQM at all. It is my first time staying at small luxury hotel brands www.slh.com and the last time. Regarding services the hotel can provide, of course you have to forget it, even toothpaste and tooth brush is not available.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kabudhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We opted for this hotel because of the location. We loved being on the canal, close to main plazas but just far enough away to miss the tourist noise. I loved the staff. They could not have been nicer. The gave us wonderful recommendations for restaurants where the locals are dining. Breakfast was included and was always more than lovely. Lots of fresh fruits, yogurt, of course an egg to two and pastry, cheese, meats, etc. much more choices than most hotels. The breads were amazing and fresh from the bakery every day.

The special treat was when we decided to have a bottle of wine we had found in a lovely store. The gentleman at the desk opened up the second floor parlor, lit the fireplace, brought us glasses, ice, water and crackers on a silver service. I went down stairs to ask him a question. He was so polite that I was taken aback! Then he mentioned that really it was his job to walk up and down stairs... We should have just called the desk and he would have come up to us. It's been a very long time since I've had this kind of thoughtful, lovely service

Do remember that this building is several hundreds of years old. The dampness of the area causes a constant need for TLC. This is not the shiny new hotel of the 4 seasons or ritz. If that's what you want, that's where you should go. If you enjoy something lovely, historic and quietly elegant, this is a great hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank skier003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The location of this hotel is brilliant, and the views of the canal exceptional! The lobby and communal areas of the hotel were very impressive, and the staff extremely friendly and welcoming. The room was somewhat disappointing, as we were given two single beds pushed together instead of a double, and the toilet was separate from the bathroom in a small room. The decor felt a bit tired, but otherwise the room was very comfortable and airy, and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Claire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Die Swaene is the perfect historic hotel in this gorgeous ancient city. My husband and I stayed here for two nights (not long enough) in May in a Superior Deluxe Double room for 295 euros a night. We were in the "new" Pergola building across the canal from the main building. The windows in our very large, comfortable room opened directly onto the canal -- amazing. We had a gas fireplace. The setting is perfect -- on a quiet canal out of the hustle of all the tourists, but only a short walk to everything one goes to Bruges to see. We had a delightful lunch on the terrace of the Pergola restaurant. The staff is fabulous -- feels family run. They are so welcoming and helpful. They made last minute dinner reservations for us at two of Bruges best restaurants. The included buffet breakfast has all the choices one could wish. Although the canal boat tours go by from late morning until early evening, at night it is silent.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money for a canal view room. It is worth it.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank journeys99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Well located in the middle of everything. Historical building. Great area to relax in front of fire & take glass of wine on the 1st floor.
Take room with view on the channel. Rooms well equipped, only low point - bath ancilaries (take your shampoo, conditioner, shower gel with you)
Nice pool to relax.
Really great breakfast with huge variety of pastry, fruits, chocolate.
Very helpful people at front desk.
Strongly recommended!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Vera_Tron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews