We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (507)
Filter reviews
507 results
Traveller rating
263
139
62
26
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
263
139
62
26
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main hotelsmall luxury hotelfish marketoverlooking the canalold worldlovely hotelfirst flooreggs cooked to orderperfect locationjunior suitelarge windowsstayed one nightold buildingreception areaquiet at nightbreakfast roomper day
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 507 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

We arrived in Bruges on a Monday for 3 nights and made our way to the Die Swaene.

Having both travelled for work and stayed in souless Hiltons & Marriott hotels we decided for our city break we wanted something a little different...Die Swaene did not let us down!

The minute you step in you are greated by plush velvet sofas and chandeliers. Check in was easy and the lady on reception gave us quite a few great recommendations for restaurants and bars.

The room itself was large with a separate bathroom and wc...again not a matching bit of furniture but for us this added to the charm of the whole experience.

The hotel is in a relatively quiet area with views of the canal...yet within 5 minutes you are in the Burg square with all the restaurants and bars nearby.

All in all we had a great stay and would definately recommend this play to anyone looking for something a little different!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MissyN23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

We and our dog were friendly welcome at our stay. The room to the river was very nice and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and supported all of our wishes. The lady at the front desk arranged for us a reservation at a famous restaurant on Saturday. The place of the hotel is perfect to visit Brugge. You can visit all highlights without using a car. The only points to criticize are the slow and sometimes instabil wifi and the noise of the visitor boats on the river. We re looking forward to stay at die Swaene next time when we ll go to Brugge.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank dersweety67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

I regret that we only spent one night in Bruges and at Die Swaene. It is a lovely hotel overlooking the canal and it has a small swimming pool as well. The staff were very friendly and helpful and gave us good recommendations within the city and called us a taxi on our departure to take us back to the train station. The bathroom is well appointed and the beds comfortable as well. They have a small restaurant/pagoda right across the canal, but breakfast was a little pricey compared to just getting a coffee and treat from one of the local cafes, so we skipped that. We did finish out our stay by enjoying a glass of champagne overlooking the canal.

The hotel was affordable, comfortable, and well appointed and I would definitely stay here again on my next visit to Bruges.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caitlin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

This hotel is located in central Bruges overlooking the canal. Minutes away from the market square and the main hustle and bustle.
The hotel is historic and quirky.
Bedrooms are pleasant but old fashion, nice comfy beds. Bathrooms are modern and clean.
Not a hotel I would rush to come back to.
But it's good value for money and the check out time is late.
It has a car park which is convenient.
Most of all what I remember about the place was the excellent service.
The young blonde girl could not do enough to help us with all of our requests. Extremely helpful and a great asset to the business.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank AsadKhan4981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Positive:
The location and parking of the hotel is easy to find and it's very central.
Reception and staff is friendly, helpful and professional.
The room is spacious and nicely decorated.
Lovely bed, good mattress!

Minor details for improvement:
- the swimming pool was dark and too cold to enjoy
- sauna was not working and it seems like it hasn't for a long time (see older reviews)
- the 'fresh fruit' in your room is just two apples
- breakfast is quite expensive for what you get

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Zelah1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews