We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“to avoid”
Review of Lace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lace Hotel
Ranked #90 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“to avoid”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I have stayed here twice with a group, for work. First time I was given the key of the suite by mistake by the barman because there was no one at the reception. Actually, there never is, but when you call, somebody might come. If they feel like it. Anyway, the suite was nice and clean but very noisy (Noordzandstraat). The second time I was less lucky and stayed in a small room with a tiny alcove called bathroom, with a slit under the door to ventilate. The room itself had no ventilation whatsoever. Opening the window as no option because of the noise. I'm not a picky person (you might think so if you read this comment) but I would never ever pay 80 Euro for a room like the one I got the second time - see pictures. A colleauge of mine by the way, had bedbugs! The lady at the reception did nothing about it, she only panicked. And one night, at 23.45, a man suddenly entered my room. He got the key from the reception! I received a call from the manager later to apologise, saying their system was broken! They do not have a system! Just a small box with keys! I was staying there with a group and they even did not get a list with our names (which we did pass on before checking in) so they had absolutely no idea who was staying in which room...

Room Tip: do ask for a renovated room. They do have a few which are nice (same proce by the way!), though slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Veerle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    71
    59
    48
    46
See reviews for
32
130
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This is a hotel that according to online information was renovated in 2010 and good thing it was as the staff has not worked hard at maintaining the facility. Our air conditioning did not work, combination windows/doors did not work properly and one did not close so we had a very large puddle of water after every rain. When reported at the front (rarely manned) desk I was told there was nothing that can be done and no effort to contact anyone was made.

Breakfast was OK but over the weekend many items ran out well before the designated end time arrived and on Monday almost only weekend leftovers. AND NO ONE ON STAFF CARED!!!

Want your room made up - wait until late in the day since they are under staffed.

Heard over and over complaints about the rooms and breakfast from other guests.

Would NEVER repeat!!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the street have no view BUT are quieter. Many of the rooms are exceptionall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bruges hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This was a special occasion for my wife. I regard the hotel as standard 3 star quality. The beds were extremely comfortable and the room had all the necessary facilities for what was a 3 night stay. It would have been nice to have had some English TV but we were out most of the time. The weather was very hot and we had to keep the French windows open which proved to be noisy when music was playing elsewhere in the square and the morning traffic started moving. The noise wasn't too bad if you could manage with the windows closed, we couldn't. The continental breakfast was superb with plenty of choice and all you could heat. Would definitely go back but not in high summer when the weather is very hot (because of the noise).

Room Tip: Ask for a quieter room -- not overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Lace hotel is fine, nothing amazing about it but it is inexpensive, close to all the attractions and decent value for money, if you want 4 or 5 star service and rooms then pay for it, if you want somewhere to sleep after a long day then lace hotel is good enough for me

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltcoats, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

rooms are very small and sparse, reminded me of staying in a student house. clean enough though and very handily placed. staff are nice enough and the breakfast was decent.

Bathrooms appear to be pre-fabricated units stuck in the rooms. very small, and as others have said like airline toilets.

i wouldn't hurry back, but i wouldn't rule out staying here again

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itmhamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

A spotlessly clean hotel within a 10 minute stroll from the Market Square. Simply furnished rooms, with small but adequate bathrooms and very comfortable beds. A nice bar/restaurant on the ground floor; friendly staff. Brilliant continental breakfasts! Don't be put-off by the rather non-descript entrance foyer.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy57_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

This was a lovely hotel rooms were very small and featured a bathroom much like you would find on a airplane very compact. Staff were very friendly and the location was amazing. Right in the centre of town. So great for shopping. I would recommend for a short stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel 't Keizershof
Hotel 't Keizershof
#74 of 97 in Bruges
200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant 't  Putje
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ensor
Ensor
#56 of 97 in Bruges
232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Passage
Hotel Passage
#89 of 97 in Bruges
121 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Asiris
Hotel Asiris
#66 of 97 in Bruges
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lace Hotel

Property: Lace Hotel
Address: 't Zand 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly De Markies)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Markies Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing