We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Ranked #4 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Leighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Really great boutique hotel, very helpfully and knowledgeable staff, they really could not do enough for you. The rooms were a good size and quaintly decorated, no expense spared here. The champagne breakfast was as good as I have ever had with plenty of choice. Two very slight criticisms: the choice of TV programmes was poor, and there were no drinks at all provided in the room, personally I like to see water, tea/coffee facilities and a bar so I can chose what to have when. Free Wifi is also a winner for, more and more these days I look for it as a feature.

Room Tip: Ground floor was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    880
    147
    26
    15
    9
See reviews for
85
784
29
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012 via mobile

.....why you are paying around €300 a night, take a walk over to the window and take in the view. Half the town taking pictures back at you says it all, it is a canalside stunning location in a stunning town. The staff are lovely, the beds are large and very comfy and the rooms are decorated impeccably and in keeping with the building.

If you want a large room with cupboard space to store giant suitcases, a stocked mini-bar, whirlpool tub and pay-TV movies, I suspect there is a Holiday Inn near an airport somewhere.

Why not 5 stars? Breakfast at €25ppn is naughty, Wi-Fi a touch slow (although it is included in the rate) and at €300 a night it needs to be perfect, which it almost is.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveUK1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night stay in this hotel. We enjoyed it here but with a few small changes, our stay could have been even better.

The pros are the staff, the position of the hotel and the building itself. Very quaint and so different from staying in a large hotel. The views from the breakfast room were lovely.

The cons are: no bathrobes, very hard, small towels, no face flannels, no water unless you ask for it. It would be easy to add on to the amenities of each room.

So overall, lovely, quite unique. Just not many 'extras'.

Room Tip: Our standard room was fine but as the location of the hotel is amazing, I would think that the canal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

We were only staying in Bruges for one night so we chose Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce because it was so conveniently located in central Bruge with stunning canal views right out the front door. The service we received was fantastic - from the initial check in process, to assisting us booking a restaurant reservation to calling us a taxi when we departed. We stayed in the "standard" room and it was totally sufficient for us - beautifully decorated in a classic but not stuffy style, more than enough room for our two suitcases, and a very spacious and clean bathroom with great toiletries.

Room Tip: The standard room was good value - beautifully decorated and still very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misslassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
102 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

It was our second time in this hotel; we stayed for one night in May 2012, four years after our first visit to Brugge in 2008.

Since then it reinforced the impression that it is a sort of place that lives off its location. This time again we had a canal facing room and the view was simply marvelous. You open the window and the festive sounds of people entertaining themselves fill the room. The experience can be compared to staying at the Grand canal in Venice, but on a smaller scale as the canal and the boat procession in Bruges are truly tiny compared to La Serenissima; yet they have their own charm due to its miniature scale.

The good things about this hotel are:
1. Our classic canal-facing room was nice and cozy, styled in weathered wood with Flemish accents and colors as from a Flemish still-life – pale and grey, discreet and tranquil, matching the water color palette outside. The chairs were inviting, although the room was so small, perhaps they should not be there.
2. The king bed was truly excellent, extremely large and comfortable, with a warm and soft blanket and superb sheets.
3. The bathroom was adequate, although for the rate it had no bathtub, no window, only a very good shower. The design was high quality, though – all marble. The bathrobes were a pleasant touch.
4. The hotel is splendidly and stylishly decorated, with exquisite antiques, opulent curtains, period furniture, leather chairs in the breakfast room – definitely the design is well-thought through and restrained; the public rooms are fascinating.
5. The breakfast was quite rich, with various breads, cold cuts and champagne. However it is extra, not included in the room price, and for the rate very expensive.
6. The location was the best possible, on the canal and in the very center of the city; the location is the strongest point of this hotel.
7. The WiFi connection was very good in the room, both my Android phone and computer worked well with it. It was the only extra that came for free.
8. The personnel were friendly, helping with my bags.

Not so good:
1. Although the room was warm and cozy, it felt very small. The ceiling was not high and it felt as in a nice candy box. Our bags filled the room to capacity; there was no space to hide them somewhere.
2. There was very, very little closet space, and its organization was very old-fashioned and inefficient.
3. Breakfast was expensive. Even if we knew that it was extra, somehow it felt inhospitable. I’d rather if they increase the room price and not charge for breakfast separately.
4. Parking was away, but that was to be expected.
5. There was no minibar, no tea/coffee maker in the room.

Overall, this hotel is good for special occasions only, when one wishes to have a fancy of a room with a Bruges water view. Therefore it is hard to judge it as not having a good value, since for those who must have it the hotel is a great place. But somehow the view, albeit beautiful, did not seem to compensate for the lack of comforts, considering the overall bill.

After staying one night, we left without regrets and even with relief – one night was definitely enough to experience this place again, although it really did not change except for the rates. I expected more, but that was only the same view!

While this is a cute hotel, I am not sure we’ll stay here again.

Room Tip: The only reason to stay here is to have a room with a canal view, so chose accordingly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gradiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012 via mobile

Bruges is a must for a romantic weekend away. He place is just magical, probably the most beautiful city I have been to. The hotel is sat right on the canal which is incredibly picturesque. Everything was perfect and I couldn't recommend the hotel enough. Will hopefully return next year.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvonnetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2012

The canalside location and stunningly quaint building are what strike you first. Followed closely by the hotel staff; so friendly and welcoming. They couldn't help enough and even offered to give us an umbrella to cover us on our trip to the station after we'd checked out. The room was lovely, cosy and clean, and the bathroom was lovely - the power shower is amazing. The little chill-out area is really nice for a cheeky snifter before bed - brought to you with a smile (and a few Belgian chocolates on the side). The breakfast is expensive - 50Euro for 2 of us - but you could get your money's worth by taking in the full cooked brekkie with champagne, if that's how you roll. The room breakfast is served in is almost worth the money alone however; amazing views of the canals and other beautiful buildings, and a cute open fire. The location of the hotel is great, with the unique beer wall bar right next door, and the canal trips setting off from round the corner. And it was the hotel from In Bruges. What more do you need. Amazing place in every way, would go back in a second.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IkkunaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.0 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#9 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel

Property: Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Address: Wollestraat 41 - 47, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#5 Family Hotel in Bruges
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic boutique hotel housed in extraordinary waterfront residence, decorated with antiques, objects of art and luxurious fabrics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce Bruges
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing