We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why would you stay anywhere else in Bruges?!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Ranked #4 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This hotel, and the buildings adjacent to it, are the one of the most famous landmarks in Bruges. Why you would stay anywhere else (save for budget), are beyond me. The hotel is stunning from the outside, and the decor inside is in keeping with the exterior. We stayed in room 21, canal view, c£250 per night over an August weekend for our first wedding anniversary. The rooms aren't huge, but then look at the exterior, do you expect them to be?! Our room did have air conditioning. The bed was very very comfortable, flat screen TV for those moments you're not out sight seeing, electronic mini safe, hair dryer, and plenty of wardrobe space. One criticism of the room would be, no mini fridge or tea facilities, which would have been handy, although the staff were happy to get us a drink whenever we were in the hotel and needed refreshment. The bathroom was very good, albeit decked out in 'European Marble', walk in shower, big sink are and mirror, hair dryer. The staff, on all occasions, were exceptional, whether at check in, during the day, the late night porter, always happy to help, book a table at a restaurant, or offer some advice. We drove over from Bristol, and so needed parking. I read somewhere parking at the hotel was limited and €25 a day, so we found the nearest 'Interparking' car park, two streets away, its called Pandreitje Interparking, and you can park there for €8.70 a day (card payment accepted), we parked there for 3 days (its only €20 for a lost ticket if you're feeling cheeky). You don't need to book, its the equivalent of an underground NCP in the UK. Now the noise... We were there on a Reiefeesten canal festival weekend (Fri-Mon), and so Bruges was busy. During the day, the canal tours boats did pass the hotel (10-6), ad in the evening (6-12pm) there were performances relating to the history of Bruges in the canal outside. But... We weren't in the hotel from 10am until 6pm, and then from 7pm until Midnight, as we were out enjoying Bruges, so those complaining of noise, were obviously 'doing it wrong'! In addition, no restaurant in the hotel, but then Bruges has some fantastic restaurants, so even if they did have a restaurant, only the unadventurous would eat there. Likewise, plenty of great Cafe's to grab a breakfast, so don't feel compelled to book breakfast in the hotel. Gingerbread Cafe, is particularly good, family run, and super friendly. Book this hotel, get out and explore Bruges, and when you buy a postcard, fridge magnet or painting, you can say to your friends 'see the building with the twin roofs, thats the magical place we stayed'. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chaz62wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

553 - 559 of 1,130 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

Nicely done inside but the canalside rooms all have constant intrusive noise from the tour boats chugging underneath the windows and loudspeaker commentaries. Look at the travellers pix to see for yourself. Other rooms are next to a public viewing platform and hotel bar on one side or the main street bars and a sex shop. Definitely not worth the hefty price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DWM_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Upon on arrival on the Friday afternoon, Johann greeted us with a warm, friendly and comprehensively informative welcome. This helped set us up nicely for a romantic weekend break in Bruges. We had a top floor room. It was small, but considering it was in the eaves of the building, it oozed character and charm, so we found it to be perfect for our needs. Also at that height, the views of the rooftops, canals and the spires are amazing, and the noise factor wasn’t an issue for us.

We were out at the lively Eiermarkt until well after 2.30am on both nights, returning through the streets at that time is maybe the best time to experience Bruges, as it is entirely deserted and magical as a result.

There was an unprecedented heat wave that weekend and we can concur with comments about the provision of fans. However, room 32 is dual aspect and as a result we were able to have a comfortable night’s sleep, thanks to the through breeze that it creates.

Breakfast was a very informal affair, with a variety of continental buffet selection with seemingly endless al la carte options - if they’ve got it they will cook it for you. Omelette is a good choice for egg lovers. The hard boiled quail’s eggs are a nice touch. The waiting staff could not be friendlier and more attentive. We were the first guests that had been able to enjoy breakfast al fresco this year. We actually found the tour boats quite entertaining, with smiling fellow tourists taking photos whilst we ate our breakfast outside this obviously very popular landmark. The breakfast hours added to our relaxed feeling and the provision of a late checkout added to this again on our final morning. We didn’t make use of the in-house spirit bar, when in Bruges, it’s best to drink out.

We were attracted to this hotel with an anticipation of a small and friendly luxury base in the centre of Bruges. We weren’t disappointed! 

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank monochromexpeditions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were fortunate enough to secure a last minute room in this amazing small hotel in the beautiful city of Bruges . We not only loved the hotel lobby, view, and our perfect room but the staff made it absolutely a dream stay in Bruges. Unfortunately my phone was stolen in Bruges, but the young nighttime front desk man tried his very best to help us.The following morning the daytime staff was equally as helpful. We highly recommend a visit to this area of Belgium and Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce is a relaxing, charming, well staffed, meticulously clean hotel. We will be back as soon as possible. Thank you so much! The Frey's

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Missie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I would definitely say this was a 5* star stay, but i grappled with giving it 5* review on here. Only because it was more a boutique hotel without many facilities but for what it is it is definitely perfect! The room was lovely. We stayed up the very top and opted to use the stairs instead of the lift (as we wanted to burn off as much of Bruges delights as possible!) We didn't have breakfast so I can't comment on that. The staff were very friendly and the location couldn't be more perfect for Bruges!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank holidaysometimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Had a lovely 4-night stay in this wonderful hotel right in the heart of beautiful Bruges. Couldn`t be better-situated for visiting thje city -the hotel appears in many posters of the city because it is in such a beautiful setting. Very near canal tour stops and main square where you can soak up atmosphere in many terraces or start a tour in horse-drawn carriage. Near various musuems too (chocolate and chips/frites for example) and just next to famous Wall of Beer. Very friendly receptionists who were always ready to help and lovely old-fashioned decoration. Only small complaint was that it was a bit hot at night-air con or an electric fan would have been useful though at least there were mosquito nets on Windows (there are a lot of insects near Canals at night). Lovely city with very pleasant atmosphere-busy in the centre but there are parts of the city in the north east which are quieter but just as beautiful.

Room Tip: Apart from being a bit hot at night our room was great. I suppose a canal view would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bruce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I am amazed that no-one else has posted about the dreadful noise problems with this hotel's location.
We had on the basis of the reviews, booked 3 nights but left yesterday after 1 night. Canalside rooms have non-stop noise from tour boat loudspeakers, the boats pass right under the windows and you are forced to hear every word of their commentary and watch the occupants taking photos of you standing in your room! This goes on every few minutes all day long, with departures from the nearby jetty! Reception assured us the racket generally stopped at 6.00 in the evening and then we would have 'silence'. Well, it stopped around 6.30 and we looked forward to a peaceful night on our return from dinner. Not so! Now the pub/club opposite took over, shouting and singing through to well after midnight. I went down to reception to complain. Obviously they were well used to this, immediately claiming they would call the police. I don't think for a minute that they did. For this, we paid €350. Added to this, Room 10, where we were, is adjacent to a public drinks area and canalside balcony, so you can imagine that didn't help. We couldnt even open the windows because of the incessant noise, although it was very warm. By the way, if you really still want to stay at this place, the windows, if they are opened, are very dangerous indeed if you have children with you.
I notice that other reviewers say the streetside rooms can be noisy too, so I am very glad we made the decision not to accept the hotel's offer to move us to a non-canalside room. The only thing I would say in mitigation is that this same problem of non-stop engine noise and loudspeaker racket from passing tourboats will probably to a greater or lesser extent affect every canalside central hotel. With this hotel, it's intolerable.

Room Tip: Avoid the canalside and Room 10 in particular - rooms will be noisy because of the tour boats louds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank smudgecirencester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.0 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#8 of 97 in Bruges
747 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
428 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel

Address: Wollestraat 41 - 47, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#5 Family Hotel in Bruges
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £150 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic boutique hotel housed in extraordinary waterfront residence, decorated with antiques, objects of art and luxurious fabrics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce Bruges
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing