We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Ranked #3 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed at the hotel for one night received a very nice welcome the rooms are small due to the historic nature of the building but the location was amazing. There is no restaurant in the hotel but lots of dining options in the immediate vicinity. The hotel had lots of charm and the staff were extremely helpful Roel could not do enough for us and made us very comfortable. I would recommend this hotel for a short stay to high end travelers. .

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thealcoves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    880
    147
    26
    15
    8
See reviews for
85
784
28
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Firstly I must say that Bruges itself is totally worthy of a 5/5. There is more than enough to do over a couple of days, everyone we encountered were friendly, there are lots of places to eat out and the place itself is just beautiful.

This review is based on my opinion of what represents value for money. The location of the hotel is second to none and I can only think that it is this on which the pricing policy is based.

On arrival we were welcomed to the hotel, given a short orientation by friendly staff before being shown to our room (number 10). This is a Superior Classic room (bearing no resemblance to the photograph on the hotel website) on the first floor overlooking the canal. It is however true to say that the view was lovely, as it should have been for the price of 320 Euros per night (which included a 10% discount).

The room itself was small, dark and hot. It was also noisy with other tourists who constantly walked to the canal to take photographs (I think the room next door would be quieter in this respect).

We are pretty tidy but apart from making the bed and change the towels I am really not sure what else house keeping actually does.

A previous reviewer mentioned being disturbed by the tannoy of the constant tourist boats, however if you visit between November to March this won't be a problem as the boats don't run.

Breakfast (an additional 19 euros), served in a very cosy dining room by the canal was limited to a small selection of fruit, cereal and cold meats. A cooked breakfast was available and included in this price but the presentation of scrambled eggs, bacon and tomatoes unfortunately looked like a rather haphazard modern art! There is no bar as such which for us was not generally a problem as we dined out, however on our second night we asked if pre-dinner drinks were available. I asked for wine of which there was a choice between one red and one white which was slightly limited we thought.

The hotel is closing for a month for refurbishment and although the public areas are lovely, I really hope that the rooms are upgraded, some sort of sound insulation is introduced and consideration is given to improving breakfast and refreshment facilities. This property really could be fantastic.

Room Tip: If you go for a canal view ask for a room which is not adjacent to the passageway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MARIE_CLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed at the Relais after reading some great reviews about the hotel online. Although getting to Bruges was a bit of a pain from rainy Manchester, as soon as we arrived there it was all worth it. To start with Bruges is the most romantic and gorgeous place we have ever seen and when we pulled up at the hotel we knew we had made the right choice. The location was exceptional - really close to the main square get down a really quaint back street overlooking the water. The staff were simply the kindest people we have ever had the pleasure to meet, nothing was too much trouble and the little touches were amazing. Unfortunately I was taken ill during my stay and was unable to head out for the New Year celebrations as planned and again the staff were so great helping us to sort everything out. We didn't eat breakfast in the hotel due to the sheer choice of food available in the city and also partly because of illness although it looked gorgeous and the breakfast room has such a great location. We stayed in room 15 which was just lovely, the views were of the water through a small window on one side and also the cobbles to the left. It was such a romantic room, really roomy with loads of storage space. The décor was so classy - and had loads of mirrors which most hotels never seem to cater for. The only negative comment would be that the décor in the bathroom didn't match the style or standard of the bedroom, but it was a good size and really really clean. We had after dinner drinks in the bar on our last night and the waiter was fantastic and didn't rush us to bed at any specific time. The hotel security was fantastic and we thought for the price we payed for a city break it was really good value considering the standard of accommodation. We will certainly return to this hotel and will be recommending to all - such a hidden gem! Also - we didn't realise until we watched the film 'In Bruges' on the last day that our hotel had been used in quite a lot of the film so we enjoyed following Colin Farrells steps! You must watch this film before coming...
Dom & Lisa Manchester

Room Tip: We had room 15, which was overlooking the front of the hotel off the waters side. We had read that t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisalashes777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in and we travel a lot. We went here for two nights for our 5 year anniversary and were bowled over by everything. The hotel is breathtakingly beautiful inside and out. The decor is traditional and tasteful at the same time and the staff could not have done any more.

We stayed in room 14 which is the room above the hotel sign. It was one of the smaller rooms but very comfortable for the two of us and you could still see the canal despite facing the adjacent building. Rooms were very clean and very warm at night with it being so cold outside.

I have to give a special mention to Frederick and Raul (I hope I have spelt it write)! They literally could not do any more and treat every guest like they are the only ones there. The attention to detail is phenomenal. When it was raining they gave us umbrellas, they pointed out on maps where to go and gave us advice and knowledge on the surrounding areas. On our last day as we had a long wait before the Eurostar, they made us a place by the fire and a gave us coffees. This was all after we had checked out.

Yes, it is expensive but it is 5 stars so that service should be there naturally, but you do not get that personal touch everywhere and that is what tops this hotel as one of, if not the best hotel I have stayed in to date.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alexia-zsuzsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My husband and I booked this to celebrate our anniversary and to visits the christmas market. The hotel is lovely and clean and the staff friendly and helpful. The hotel is very near the main square and in a lovely street filled with chocolatiers.

The room we stayed in overlooked the canal and was clean and neat. The hotel does not have a restaurant or bar but does offer room service and has a breakfast room. The breakfast was delicious and cooked fresh whilst we waited.

Bruges itself is stunning. The only recommendation I would make is to book restaurants before you go or immediately after you arrive as we struggled to find anywhere that was not fully booked on the weekend we went (second weekend if the christmas markets)

I would also recommend you look up The Gingerbread Tea Room as this was a great place for lunch and the mother and daughter that run the tea room are lovely.

Overall I would thoroughly recommend the hotel, it was charming and I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlyh1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We were welcomed so warmly by the hotel staff and our bags were collected from our car by the most polite and cheerful lady. The hotel exceeded our expectations and was imaculate, very pretty and surrounded by beautiful buildings yet very peaceful indeed. Nothing was too much trouble for every member of the hotel staff, really cannot fault the hotel and service in fact, Bruges in general had an exceptional pleasant feel all over town.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

An overnight stay in Bruges was the final stopover in a car journey from Vienna to the UK. In the event, this was not the most convenient hotel to have chosen since it is bang in the middle of the old town. This caused a problem since it was a busy Sunday before Christmas and the old town was closed to traffic. I had confirmed my arrival time with the hotel just a day before and they made no mention of this little problem. Nor did they tell me about the hotel parking which was located away from the hotel.
The hotel itself is small but smart. I suspect that much of the wooden paneling and doors have been added after renovation, rather than being original, but the effect is pleasing (though I could have done without the noisy squeaking of the wooden door on the bathroom). The bed was very comfortable and the sheets (not duvets thank goodness)were of a lovely high quality. The bathroom was excellent. The hotel has a small dining room which only serves breakfast but has a nice view over a canal. We only had a pot of tea (having had a very filling meal the night before) but the buffet breakfast looked good. The breakfast is on the pricey side and was not included in our tariff.
Even by Vienna standards (our home city), the hotels and restaurants in Bruges are expensive. Personally, I thought the value for money was poor but there is no doubt that the town has charm. If we visit again we would probably come by train, not car.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmmgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.0 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#9 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel

Property: Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Address: Wollestraat 41 - 47, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#5 Family Hotel in Bruges
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic boutique hotel housed in extraordinary waterfront residence, decorated with antiques, objects of art and luxurious fabrics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce Bruges
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing