We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great disappointment and poor value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Ranked #4 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The best thing about this hotel is its position, right on the canal in the centre of the tourist area, dozens of photos per minute being taken of it. BUT it is a bijou hotel and this can mean all sorts of things. I had booked a special week as a treat, no expense spared, but at over £300 per day without breakfast or food we were really let down.
Start with the room (their best) small, badly lit, difficult to read in bed, no room for an armchair to relax, just a window seat overlooking the canal. Free water and Wi-Fi but no refrigerator. Bathroom door could not stay closed (how did previous occupants manage?) but they did provide a quick botch job to hold it closed. There is no English TV available, and the bath dripped incessantly. A large chest was at the foot of the bed. No real use and it took a lot of the available floor space. No other room was available. We were given a free breakfast in compensation for the b'room door but this was worth £19 each, for a continental meal, the service to offer a cooked meal was so slow that we were on our way out. There were no other occupants of the dining room at the time. Nobody offered us champagne. Our room was always serviced quickly, early in the morning and I am sure was clean, but it was so dark that I really could not comment.

Room Tip: Maybe choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ProspectGeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

461 - 467 of 1,132 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

Lovely hotel, but a little scary. The first room we we're put in was an attic. Very claustrophobic room. Elevator was tiny, only room for two people. Stairway was very narrow and dark. One flight of stairs didn't have any light at all.

Room Tip: Be careful if you get the top floor. Really small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My husband and I loved this historic hotel! The decor is absolutely beautiful, the location fantastic and the staff exactly the right mix of professional, friendly and fun. In addition to all that, the breakfast served here is among the best we've had...right down to the French champagne! Our three nights here enabled us to see the best of Bruges and we're very much looking forward to returning, both to the city and to the Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gayle162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely time in Bruges, hotel was fantastic, had the canal room which was just beautiful, the view is superb. The position in the town is great, everything is walking distance. All of the hotel staff were so friendly with us and our daughter and made our stay even more relaxing. We didn't go for breakfast as we only wanted a coffee out and about but it looked lovely. We're very fussy about where we stay but this place was perfect! Stop looking just book it!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lydie29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My family and I stayed here to celebrate my 50th Birthday. I chose this place because it looked beautiful, was in a fantastic position and as a bonus, this was the hotel used in the film 'In Bruges' with Colin Farrell. We booked 3 rooms, all looking over the canal. All rooms were tastefully decorated and in-keeping with the old style complete with antique furniture. The rooms were a touch on the small side, but this hotel is not a boring modern place and you don't really spend a lot of time in your room except for sleeping and the beds are enormous and comfortable. The marbled twin sinked bathroom with Bath & Shower was lovely. The staff were very helpful and very friendly and made our stay pleasant. The breakfast room was in a great spot overlooking the canal and the food was good. This hotel does not do Dinner. BUT! It does own it's own Restaurant called the Maria van Bourgondie, which is about 5 minutes walk along the canal. And the food was fantastic 10/10. The Markt with the clock tower is at the other end of the street, less than 5 minutes walk. Pre-booking your car is advised and they have their own locked indoor garage that fits about 10 cars just across the canal (3 min walk). We had no trouble parking outside the entrance on the street while we unloaded our luggage and there is a car space opposite as well. Plus Free Wifi. I would definitely stay here again. And highly recommend this hotel to people with taste.

Room Tip: Canal side rooms have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This is truly an amazing place and a little slice of heaven in this quaint town. We got a water view ( really cool!) and people were actually taking photos of us from their boat cruise as we sipped champagne in our window. Rooms are small, typical Europe, but well appointed. English spoken pretty well. We drove from Gent, pleasant enough ( have a GPS!!) but the city isn't meant for cars and driving especially on a holiday weekend, Bank Holliday! The hotel has no parking although a short walk away had a fine car park. Reasonable too! Probably wouldn't drive again however. The city is great, take a boat cruise, visit the churches, have Belgium Frittes, some waffles and enjoy. We were there for 2 full days and it was perfect.

Room Tip: Get a water view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GolingGal949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights. Service and accommodations were outstanding. Our room overlooked the eating area on one side and the canal on the other side. We we would stay there again without hesitation

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.0 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#9 of 97 in Bruges
749 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel

Address: Wollestraat 41 - 47, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#5 Family Hotel in Bruges
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £151 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic boutique hotel housed in extraordinary waterfront residence, decorated with antiques, objects of art and luxurious fabrics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce Bruges
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing