We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, superb location, but a bit pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Ranked #3 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Buckinghamshire
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, superb location, but a bit pricey”
Reviewed 1 March 2009

We stayed here for one night on our way back from a skiing trip. Because it was off season (February) we got a discounted rate - just €155 for a standard room. At this price, I think it was reasonable value for money, but the standard room rate is rather high, even allowing for the superb location, especially as it doesn't include breakfast, which is €21.50 per person on top.

The hotel entrance is tucked away down a side alley, so you need to keep your eyes peeled for the sign (on the left hand side of the road) - it isn't that hard to spot, but it's not overly obvious, either. If you've booked a place in the parking garage, then pull over at the side of the road by the alley, and send someone in to the hotel. I went in and the receptionist came out to get in our car and show us the way - it would be far from easy to find otherwise. Incidentally, whoever said that the parking garage is just a public car park was wrong. I'm not sure what happened in their case, but the hotel has a number of reserved spaces in a private parking garage nearby, with a code to enter. Definitely not public.

Despite the hotel being in a very old building, there is a lift, so if you have trouble with stairs, don't worry. We stayed in room 15 on the first floor. Just a standard room - a pleasant-sized double with a good-sized bathroom with bath and shower. The decor wasn't entirely to my taste - very floral (and why, oh why, have they papered over the old beams?), but wasn't really objectionable. The view was over the alley, but because the building is slightly wider just there, there was a little side window which looked down the alley to the canal, which was a bonus.

The staff were, without exception, helpful and friendly. The location of the hotel is unbeatable, right in the heart of things, and with the breakfast room looking right out on the canal.

Breakfast was very good, but unless you had your fill of the champagne and quail's eggs, it wasn't really value for money. For just one morning, I didn't mind too much paying it, but I think if I was staying another night, I'd have looked for a local restaurant or cafe to save some money.

In summary, if I could get another good off-season price, I'd definitely go back, but if I could only get the standard rate, I'd be looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bagpuddycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    898
    150
    26
    15
    9
See reviews for
86
803
29
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2009

Stayed in the hotel in Jan 2009 for the weekend over from England.The staff made a huge effort in making us feel welcome the room was fantastic as was the Hotel location.It was hard drag ourselves away from the breakfast room we could have sat there taking in the view all day.

Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank england68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2009

If you're staying in Bruges I would certainly recommend Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce hotel. We stayed for 1 night on 11 Dec which was a great time to visit such a beautiful place. The location is unbeatable. You will recognise the building as it is in one of the most photographed canel scenes in Bruges and minutes from the Belfry. We chose to stay in a Superior Classic room and it was worth every penny. The view from our windows over the canel was fantastic and the room was gorgeous and spacious, just as described on their website. The staff were incredibly friendly and couldn't do enough for us. We were made to feel extremely special. The breakfast was also fabulous. Can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — Our room and the friendly staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonie_S74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2009

This hotel was absolutely amazing. I was traveling with my Mother, but I can see how this town and hotel would make for the perfect romantic getaway. We walked in to the hotel during the evening, and the ambience, candle light, the scent of the candles, and the actual hotel itself is very charming, clean, and the room was much larger than expected and the service was very accommodating.

Chances are, if you book on Expedia, you will get the first floor garden room (no window view), but it was still beautiful, spacious and comfortable. I can't possibly complain about anything other than the noise - if there are people coming in and out, you will hear everything from this room.

Location is perfect - and if you are trying to figure out one night or 2, stay the extra night in Bruges. Shoppping, choclatiers, and restaurants are much higher end than expected (coming from the States, that is). I wouldn't miss an opportunity to stay here again..

  • Liked — Charming, Shabby Chic, Classy, Large rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank holmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2008

My Husband and I just returned from a trip to Europe and part of our initial plan was to stay in Brugge for three days, however after literally falling in love with the city and hotel Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce, we decided to cancel our trip to Cologne and stay in Brugge longer, and the hotel kindly accommodated us. Therefore we stayed in this lovely hotel for a total of 4 wonderful nights. If I were to describe this hotel in one word it would have to be “magnificent”. I think one of the reasons we enjoyed our stay so much was because the city of Brugge is a historical city full of medieval houses, so imagine how amazing it would feel to walk around such a beautiful historic city during the day and return to a room that has maintained it’s remarkable Flemish-style charm…but don’t get me wrong, the hotel’s exterior may look old but inside the hotel it’s all about luxury and comfort.
The hotel lobby is full of treasures, paintings and sculptures by Matisse and other renowned artists. The rooms are lavishly furnished with antiques, Tabriz silk Persian carpets, Ralph Lauren bed sheets and comfortable bed and pillows. Our room # 15 was so charming that we never wanted to leave. The hotel staff were all wonderful, we encountered with four hotel staff (two gentlemen and two ladies) who were all equally very kind and always willing to help. One of the hotel staff even gave us a tour of two of the vacant rooms on different floors and they were all exquisite.
Just few more comments about what the other reviewers had written: yes, the rooms do not have a minibar but with only 16 rooms in the hotel the staff are always there at your service and it feels far more personal, we ordered drinks one night and the room service was fantastic and it’s available 24 hours. We didn’t have the breakfast in the hotel but on our last evening after returning back from a long walk in the rain we had drinks in the lovely restaurant and I must say, with a view overlooking the canal, the beautiful lit up Christmas tree and the fire place we had one of the best hot chocolates in town…it was just magical.
I can go on and on about this hotel, but I will leave the rest for you to discover on your own. This hotel is the true essence of the Brugge experience, so if you pass through this magical city make sure you stay at Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce!!!!!

  • Liked — The rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank birdette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jersey channel islands uk
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2008

I had read a review about this hotel in one of the Sunday Papers and was very glad I had. A friend and I had decided to have a trip to somewhere in Europe to go Christmas Shopping and to hopefully start getting some of the Christmas atmosphere.

This Hotel has such a warm feeling the moment you walk in the door. All the staff are so very friendly and welcoming. Our room was wonderful we had a canal view which was worth every extra penny. The room itself was exceptional it felt very homely and was very beautifully furnished and decorated.

The Hotel is in a great location. Very close to the square and also very handy for all the main attractions.

The first evening we arrived we did not want to go searching for a restaurant so we decided to go to the one that belonged to the hotel. This again was excellent. The next night we decided to try a different restaurant but we were very disappointed so for the 2 following nights we ate again at the hotel restaurant. The food and staff were just superb. Eating out in Bruges can be quite expensive but at this restaurant you get what you pay for. Excellent.

My only complaint about the hotel would be that the rooms are just to warm at night. Even when opening a window we found it too warm and that's in the winter.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — too hot in the rooms at night
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paddyfamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2008

We chose this Boutique Hotel for our 1st Wedding anniversary based on the reviews we'd seen on TripAdvisor and it was simply fantastic!

The location of this hotel was excellent, a 10 minute walk from the train station and no more than 5 mins walk to all the main attractions of Bruges.

Our room was beautiful, very comfortable, warm, cozy and extremely atmospheric. Thankfully for us not a mini-bar of kettle in site (but this may be an inconvenience for some travelers). The marble bathroom was luxurious, clean and had a great shower.

We enjoyed the champagne breakfast buffet on the morning of our anniversary which was well stocked with a wide range of delicious choices. We enjoyed this in the sumptuous dining room sat next to the open fire, several pieces of art and antiques, looking out over the canal.

The hotel seemed to have reacted to previous reviews as maps of Bruges were plentiful and free water was provided in our room.

Before our arrival, the hotel’s staff were very helpful in assisting us with dinner reservations during our stay (including the hotel's own restaurant, where the food was delicious). The Hotel’s staff were polite, professional, helpful, and like the hotel, were very well presented. They maintained a very friendly and personal service throughout our stay and were a credit to the hotel.

This hotel was a real treat for us and we enjoyed every minute of our stay, if it wasn't for the various attractions and sites of Bruges, we would have happily spent out entire stay at the hotel!

This is not a cheap hotel but for us on this special occasion, it was worth every penny - If you like boutique, charming hotels, rich in character - stop searching and stay here!

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelGoonerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.0 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
396 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#8 of 97 in Bruges
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel

Property: Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Address: Wollestraat 41 - 47, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#5 Family Hotel in Bruges
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic boutique hotel housed in extraordinary waterfront residence, decorated with antiques, objects of art and luxurious fabrics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce Bruges
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing