We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very attractive small hotel in a very quiet central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Ranked #4 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
150 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Very attractive small hotel in a very quiet central location”
Reviewed 11 June 2009

This charming hotel is in a very attractive building, very tastefully converted to a modern hotel with lots of character, in a very quiet and central part of Bruges. I suspect its one of those canal side buildings on many postcards, and on most tourist cameras.

Our room was a reasonable size, especially given the quirky shaped building, and like the rest of the hotel, very nicely converted / carved out of the original structure. It was clean and well maintained, and had a very good bed and a modern bathroom.

In general, the staff were professional and friendly, but compared to our own experience, some reviews look unjustifiably effusive on this front. Maybe the “honeymoon” effect ?

Overall, I thought the hotel was very good, but at circa EUR 400 for a canal side room, it expect it to be. Breakfast was plus EUR 20 each, but worth having so you can sit outside near the canal.

The hotels associated restaurant is a short walk away in an attractive square, with a nice canopied outside terrace. It has a simple short menu, and good quality food.

Despite Bruges having far too many tourists, because it is much quieter in the evening and has lots of restaurants, it would be an attractive and convenient place to base yourself for a tour of the region. However, in order to see much outside (eg De Haan) of the town itself (which is really about wandering around for 1-2 days), I think you really need to hire a car. Trains are not that frequent and taxis relatively expensive.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmbklm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    888
    147
    26
    15
    9
See reviews for
85
792
29
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Tx
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2009

This was our second stay at the Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce. We absolutely love the romantic intimacy and superb service at the hotel. It sits on a scenic canal and is a block from the city square. It's sister restaurant, the Marie Bourgondisch, is a short walk from the hotel and is equally as wonderful. the food and service are excellent. We look forward to our next stay at the Relais.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2009

I booked the rooms through Hotels.com and was very pleasantly surprised to receive a confirmation from the hotel almost immediately... Upon arrival we were met by Isabel who was extremely corteous and friendly. She rode with me to the carpark, a secure garage very close to the hotel. When we got back to the hotel I was told that all the bagage had been delivered to the room. The room was very nicely appointed, the bathroom very clean with windows that open. The hotel's location can't be beat, the public areas super clean, elegantly furnished with beautiful fresh flower arrangements, original artwork...but above all the staff, Isabel, Yus and Ludwig were just outstanding! Hartelijk bedankt voor jullie gastvrijheid... Will definitely come back!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikedndc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2009

Pleasant staff that could not do enough, yummy meals, beautiful facility with splendid rooms and appointments that were close to everything, yet quiet, all in the storybook setting that is Brugges! We plan to return in the next year.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CTconnoiseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2009

My Mother and I were 1,000% delighted with our hotel experience at the Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce. We both highly recommend staying here! In fact, if we are lucky enough to travel to Bruges again, we would not consider booking a room anywhere else!

The entire staff 'spoiled' us - ensuring that we felt comfortable and special. We were especially delighted by "Eddy" who greeted us upon arrival - and continued to go out of his way for us every day during our stay.

Our room was spacious, clean and charming. We were situated on the top floor and enjoyed a wonderful view of the canal. Additionally, we were a fan of the hotel's generous and delicious breakfast - and later in the day, we did not miss a 'hotel bar' - since instead, we were graciously served drinks in a lovely sitting room, or by a fireplace in the breakfast room.

The hotel is located in the most beautiful part of Bruges - parking was provided by the hotel - and it was very easy to navigate in and out for day trips. Also the hotel recommended wonderful restaurants - and shopping and key sites were only steps away.

We enjoyed a totally relaxing and pampering experience - and hope to return on day!

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MotherDaughter09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2009

We stayed at the Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce for the last leg of our honeymoon. It was an excellent hotel, with a perfect location for sightseeing and getting around. The staff was friendly and often went out of their way to make us comfortable and feel at home. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. The room we stayed in was actually very large and had a partial view of the canal, I did not expect this for the price we paid, but I'm not complaining. We signed up for the sort-of complimentary breakfast, which was ample in quantity , quantity (no stinginess with the coffee!) and variety. We loved Bruges and had a wonderful, relaxing time there. The people were friendly, the restaurants were delicious, and the beer! So good!

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Effina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Bourgindisch Cruyce, based on reviews on Tripadvisor, for our first wedding anniversary and had a fantastic stay. Bruges itself is well worth the visit as is the hotel.

As all the reviews have stated the hotel is in a fantasic location and at the same time benefits from being in a quiet spot. The hotel frontage forms part of the most recognisable image of Bruges and the interior of the hotel does not disappoint either. The rooms are tastefully decorated and in keeping with the surroundings and building itself.

There are only a negatives that we found 1) there are no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms (well the standard ones anyway) but perhaps this only matters to Brits! 2) we didn't take breakfast at the hotel as it was 22 euros per person which we thought was quite steep, although it may well have been worth it.

All in all a very romantic hotel in which to stay when visiting such a romantic destination. We would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone thinking of staying here.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wisc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.0 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#8 of 97 in Bruges
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel

Property: Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Address: Wollestraat 41 - 47, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#5 Family Hotel in Bruges
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic boutique hotel housed in extraordinary waterfront residence, decorated with antiques, objects of art and luxurious fabrics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce Bruges
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing