We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basilica of the Holy Blood” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Basilica of the Holy Blood

Basilica of the Holy Blood
Book In Advance
More Info
US$13.19*
and up
Bruges Highlights Private Tour with a Local
Ranked #8 of 152 things to do in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This chapel contains a phial that reputedly contains Christ's blood brought back from the Crusades.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Basilica of the Holy Blood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

This basilica is amazing. The stained glass windows look stunning in the sunlight and the pulpit is very unusual

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Penny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,833
    1,066
    301
    45
    23
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
156 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Fascinating church”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Very interesting building in 2 parts with a medieval fairly plain part on the lower level and more ornamental newer part upstairs. Well worth a visit

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank xorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
612 reviews
230 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“beautiful church”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

You can go in this church and set for a long time taking in everything there is so much to look at. It was interesting to see someone try to take in his dog but fortunately was not able to.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank dil345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Beautiful Basilica”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

A beautiful little gem every inch of this lovely place is decorated. There is also a small room containing information and historical artefacts

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank suzanne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The oldest church in Belgium”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

I love old churches and this beautiful gothic example built around the Holy Blood relic brought back from a crusade to the Holy Land is beautiful. My first visit on a Sunday evening was just externally as I had just arrived in Bruges. I planned to go back the following day but be warned - this Basilica is closed ( like many other places in Bruges) on Mondays.
It is not only beautiful inside but the golden knights and icons on the exterior help one recognise it where it is set the corner of the square near the Town Hall.
Once up the stone stairway and inside visitors are asked to be respectfully silent in this sacred place but sadly so many people do not respond to the request and even when gently sshh'd by the pastor still did not stop their incessant and unnecessary chat. I am spiritual, rather than religious, but appreciate the beauty and energy of sarod red places no matter the religion so if you are likewise then I suggest either an early morning visit or last half an hour of the day. I visited just before closing on a Tuesday and suddenly the crowds evaporated and I had the opportunity to be the last person of the day to view the Holy Blood relic in silence!
I am so please I went back as the beauty, atmosphere and historical and religious significance is not to be missed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank ruthiephillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Basilica of the Holy Blood also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Basilica of the Holy Blood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing