We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful architecture”

Holy Savior Cathedral (Sint-Salvatorskathedraal)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$13.30*
and up
Bruges Highlights Private Tour with a Local
Ranked #24 of 152 things to do in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful architecture”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

A great example of Flemish architecture, art and magnificent tapestries. Take time to visit the tombs.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank VolvanaWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    216
    85
    13
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
n ireland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Would like to say better things but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

A very interesting and atmospheric place- what can be seen- the church is undergoing a massive refurb inside so a lot is not accessible- DO go though and support the efforts to restore the place and also experience the quiet and peace here after the bustle of Brugge.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank hotcookin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral England
Level Contributor
292 reviews
219 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Under renovation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Only a small part of the cathedral was open to view as there are extensive renovations going on. You could see a small amount of the stained glass but the majority was behind scaffolding. The outside of the cathedral is very photographic, the masonry seems to change colour depending on the weather and of course when it is lit up at night. Well worth a visit and hopefully the renovations will not take as long as they have been going on at The Church of our Lady.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank LizMarcWirralEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konigswinter, Germany
Level Contributor
92 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Beautiful Cathedral well worth a visit. This cathedral has amazing stained glass windows and art work.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelingDs1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
253 reviews
185 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
“I Enjoyed This Even More Than Welcome Church of Our Lady”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Unfortunately my review is some months old, so hopefully the things that I found awe inspiring are still there.
I really enjoyed The Welcome Church of Our lady but I just loved this cathedral!!! It’s grand, it’s imposing, and it’s filled with all sorts of special things. The serenity, but at the same time vibrancy, I felt when I entered this church was palpable.
Parts of the Cathedral were built during 1230s; tower, nave, transepts and choir. It’s worth taking your time to really look at every nook and cranny of the cathedral because surprises abound. To understand the older parts of the church take a look at the old tombs; with their decorations intact. There is a model of the cathedral, cleverly made so it is possible to understand the additions/renovations made transforming this parish church into a cathedral.
Look upwards and see the different styles used on the ceiling. Some have stone ribs that hold the ceiling up; with what I’m guessing isn’t the original paint but nevertheless gives an indication of an older style decoration. In one of the chapels the ceiling is white and very ornately carved.
The stained glass windows are lovely and worth taking some time to really study. There is so much going on in them.
Dominating one end of the nave is the massive loft organ with a carved statue of maybe Peter, robes billowing. You can almost feel the thunder and authority in him!!
Many of the pillars are richly decorated with painted designs but some of the pillars also have old paint on them, worn and flaking away. It’s funny because I didn’t find this shabby but endearing, allowing us to look back to the past. Tucked in the embrace of still other pillars are alcoves to Our Lord and Our Lady; at the foot of these, are piles of petitions.
The choir is a treasure trove; housing the main altar and beautifully carved choir stalls. Above the choir stalls are the coat of arms of the Order of the Golden Fleece, a chivalry order founded in 1430 by Duke Phillip III of Burgundy to celebrate his marriage to the Portuguese princess Isabel of Aviz. Tucked behind the main altar is the interestingly decorated sepulchre for the Bishops of Brugge. Within close proximity of the main altar are a number of tombs of famous Flemings; one being Joseph Adrien Le Bailly, who was the Lord of Inghen and Mayor of Bruges for 25 years in the 1700s. He died at the old age of 84, showing amazing longevity for the time.
Take your time wandering along the aisles of the cathedral, so you can absorb all that line them. Like the 2 slabs of stone that are carved with 3 people in a medieval style of dress; they probably would have made a good “rubbing” template at some point. Or the ornate silver shrine of St Eligius and probably more ornately decorated shrine of Charles the Good. The voluptuous statue of maybe Mary Magdalene, she’s so womanly but at the same time chaste, (this was one of my favourite pieces). Then there’s the statue of Mary holding her dying son, her eyes reflecting the anguish a mother would feel at losing her child. Along the walls are paintings by Flemish artists.
As I said at the start of the review I just loved this Cathedral and spent about 2 hours there.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 35yrdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Holy Savior Cathedral (Sint-Salvatorskathedraal) also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Holy Savior Cathedral (Sint-Salvatorskathedraal)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing