We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure you get a room in the main hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
Ranked #2 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Make sure you get a room in the main hotel”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Arrived for 3 night stay and were originally given a room to the back of the hotel in a motel type extension with (other people's) cars parked right in front of the door. Fortunately, upon our request, the staff were very helpful in moving us to a first floor room in the main building. This was fine with all the expected facilities. Reception very helpful in recommending and booking battlefields tour. Breakfast was fine although the breakfast room is rather cramped.

Room Tip: Get a room in the main building not the "motel"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr_MrsB_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,963
    212
    32
    9
    4
See reviews for
225
1,585
45
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights for a mini moon and it was perfect. Centrally located, small hotel, staff very lovely and not too invasive, yummy breakfast, great decoration and lovely rooms. We did the culninary experience and the 2 restaurants were top notch. The first, Kardinalshof (?), was absolutely perfect- see separate review. We had room 32 with jacuzzi and four poster bed and as a lovely surprise they provided us with a bottle of champagne as it was our honeymoon. Would highly recommend. We booked it because it was rated one of all hotels in Bruges so wanted to write this review to ensure they stay up there!
As an add on there were some building works going on next door and on the ground floor of the hotel but didn't notice any noise.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carareynoldsonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, CT
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Just returned from a trip to Belgium and a stay at the most comfortable and welcoming hotel I have encountered in Europe. Our stay at the Hotel Prinsenhof in Brugge, Belgium began with a warm and informational welcome by the proprietor himself, Thierry Lemahieu. He provided us with several luncheon suggestions, mapped out a variety of walking tours, stored our luggage, and provided an accurate estimate for our room availability.

The room was itself was large, bright, airy, and its various features were demonstrated by the hotel's friendly front desk staffers Paulien and Astrid. The four poster bed was beautiful, and, most importantly, extremely comfortable. The bathroom and separate toilet room were wonderful. For the first time EVER in Europe and almost ever in the USA, it included a DOUBLE sink. There was a whirlpool tub and a separate, very roomy, shower stall.

The location of the hotel is wonderful. It is a short walk down a side street from one of the main commercial way in town. While convenient, it is far enough away from the bustle so that it is extremely quiet.

As I was getting settled in the room, I noticed a welcoming letter from the proprietors. It was personally prepared for us with our names on it, a very nice touch. It described in detail the hotel services including the delicious breakfast-buffet, an included and excellent guided city walking tour, speedy and reliable included wi-fi, a new DVD-CD player and a selection of recent movies, and turn-down service. What was most impressive about the letter is that it named every member of the service team and used the term OUR hotel. I knew right away that the management was both proud and respectful of their service team.

If you are planning a trip to Brugge, don’t even think about staying elsewhere. Your experience will be spectacular.

HGS, MD

Room Tip: You can’t lose with any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank hgsmd716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We just returned from a two-night stay at Hotel Prinsehof and I must say that from the moment we walked in, the hospitality, warmth, friendliness, professionalism -- and beauty! -- was apparent. We were greeted by the proprietor, Thierry Lemahieu who clearly loves what he does. His wife, Katrien, who we met later, too, was always pleasant and helpful. Their staff are all well trained and couldn’t be more accommodating, anticipating needs and always providing the best in service with a smile and positive, friendly attitude.

The hotel is conveniently located, a mere 3-minute walk to the Markt and yet, it is romantic and tranquil. Our room was spacious and beautifully decorated with fine fabrics and bedding. The bathroom was unbeatable in Europe, as we had two sinks and, for once, a place to put everything! We also had a Jacuzzi tub, separate shower, and, my favorite, a heated towel rack!

The breakfast buffet was traditional with a huge array of meats, cheeses, breads, spreads, eggs, juices, coffee -- and again, generous and filling. A wonderful way to start the day!

TIP: We were given vouchers upon our arrival for a 2-1/2 walking tour, of which we did take advantage. Our guide was wonderful, well-spoken, and extremely knowledgeable. I highly recommend taking advantage of this.

I wish there were more places like Hotel Prinsehof. This exquisite hotel, the owners, and the staff truly is a gem!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JudyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I decided to use the Prinsenhof based on TA reviews and therefore arrived with very high expectations and a little bit of cynical scepticism.
However my guests and I were not disappointed. Our rooms were superb, the hotel was quiet but yet very close to the city centre. Our car was valet parked and fetched whenever we came and went. Breakfast was excellent and frankly there was nothing to complain about.
Sometimes small family run hotels can seem a little too personal but the Lemahieu family manage to hit exactly the right blend of personal service without overstepping the mark.
If you need to stay in Bruges you would be silly not to stay here - it represents everything a hotel should be. We used the hotel as a base to travel to Brussels, Leper etc as well as see Bruges.

Room Tip: We had two rooms on 2nd floor, a standard and a deluxe. If you need a walk-in shower rather than an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJH99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Stayed 2 nights at Hotel Prisenhof for our break in Bruges, it's in a great position only 5 minute walk from the Market Square.

Our room was extremely clean and had all of the comforts you would need. The bathroom had a great spa bath which was great after a day walking around the city to relax the feet.

I would recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Bruges you will not be disappointed!

The hotel is only a 15 minute walk from Bruges Railway station (very nice walk through the park), however there were a lot of taxi's waiting by the station should you choose to not walk.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wincanton
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I have no hesitation in endorsing the positive comments of other guests. The hotel is ideally located, only about 5 minutes walk from the main Market Square. Our room on the first floor of the main building was immaculate and freshly redecorated. It was quite small for a double, but we had deliberately economised by choosing a 'standard' room, so this is not a criticism. It was standard only in terms of floor area; the fittings and bathroom were worthy of any 5 star hotel. The bathroom included a jacuzzi bath, separate shower cubicle and loo.

The staff were delightful and helpful at all times. Well done!

Room Tip: Some rooms are in an annex to the rear of the hotel, some on the ground floor, overlooking the car p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank maxtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.0 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.5 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.4 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges

Property: Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
Address: Ontvangersstraat 9, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#1 Family Hotel in Bruges
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#4 Business Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Bruges and often awarded, the Prinsenhof Hotel is an oasis of peace, comfort and relaxation. The 24 splendid rooms of the Prinsenhof Hotel are not only stylishly decorated, they are an oasis of peace, one by one. The 3 types of rooms offer the best for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Lastminute, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prinsenhof Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing