We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treat!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
Ranked #2 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2013

What a fantastic hotel this is. I'd recommend it to everyone.

Booked a weekend at the Prinsenhof as a surprise for my wife and it was perfect. It is located 100 yards from the Markt down a little side street with virtually no cars passing so it was like an oasis of calm which you'd expect as it is part of the Relais du Silence group.

We had asked in advance for a walk-in shower room as my wife is pregnant and they kindly provided us with room 29 in the main house which had a massive comfy bed, a 40 inch tv and a large en suite with a separate whirlpool bath, walk in shower and double sink with orange blossom toiletries. The bedroom itself wasn't huge but big enough and nicely decorated.

The reception staff were amongst the nicest I have come across, always smiling and friendly and happy to help.

We didn't have breakfast because we thought 20 Euros each was a bit steep but I'm sure it would have been good - leave it up to your wallet to decide.

Bruges itself is beautiful but it can get crazy busy so try to get out early morning and early evening to get the best of it and make sure you do the boat trip (7 Euros). Difficult to recommend restaurants as they are everywhere but we had a great lunch at a little pub opposite the windmills on Camersstraat in St Anna (opposite De Windmolen) - relaxed place with good food at reasonable prices and full of locals chilling out. For the perfect drinking place make sure you go to De Garre down a side alley off Breidelstr (difficult to find but worth it) and have a glass or 3 of the Triple!

If you go to Bruges, stay at the Prinsenhof, it's perfect!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 29 which was in the main house had a walk in shower and overlooked the front rathe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank digcov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,110 - 1,116 of 2,274 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2013

Me and my husband stayed here for our honeymoon and to put it simply this hotel is wonderful and faultless. They upgraded our room (which was beautiful!) free of charge and the staff were obliging, very attentive and helpful. Bruges is fantastic and this is hotel is certainly one of the jewels in this beautiful city. Would highly recommend this hotel

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, having booked it after reading earlier favorable Trip Advisor reviews. Of the 8 four and five star hotels we stayed in on this trip in Holland and Belgium, this hotel provided the most welcoming, personal and comfortable experience. The front desk staff were genuinely helpful. Karen checked us in and gave us a thorough explanation of our location on the map and suggestions on where to eat. When we wanted an extra luggage rack, it appeared in our room. When we wanted to rent a bike, we received the card of the shop where the clerk had her bike repaired, the card for the shop and where it was located on the map. The room itself had tasteful and attractive decorating features. Each night the bed was turned down, chocolates were delivered and a card with the weather report "wishing us a good and peaceful night" from the owners and their staff was left. When we learned of a potential problem with the train schedule, Paulien at the desk immediately researched the issue on the Internet and advised us on the available information. The free wifi worked well and was explained in the welcoming letter that also identifed by name all of the staff at the hotel. Peggy in the breakfast room warmly greeted us each day and prepared cappuccino and omelettes to order. Breakfast items included smoked salmon, brie, croissants, pastries, eggs, meats, sauteed mushrooms, yogurt, etc. The location was excellent and we were able to explore the many sights of Bruges by foot easily from there. Also a plus is its quiet setting. I highly recommend this hotel to any traveler to Bruges.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Darlene51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

This hotel deserves all the accolades it receives. Fantastic position, great breakfast, outstanding stall and management. To rooms are comfortable and spotlessly clean.

I've seen complaints about the cost of the breakfast but you do get value for money. Fresh fruit, pastries, home baked bread, wonderful meats and cheeses, British / American cooked breakfast to perfection?

There is nothing to comment negatively about this hotel. The hosts are a credit to Bruges.

This is our 10th visit to the Prinsenhof! What more can we say?

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank RadioTircoed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

From the second you arrive to the second you leave perfect.

We arrived very early, check in is at 2pm we got there 10:30 all we wanted to do was park, go out and check in later but they're great with in 15 minutes the room was ready! Free upgrade too!

The room was perfectly clean tidy and well equipped. Bathroom is lovely.

If we go back to Brugge we will definitely revisit this hotel. I spent a air few years working in hotels and can say this was as good as it gets with the look and feel, the staff are all polite, big smiles and very efficient.

It's the perfect 4 star relaxed and well detailed without any of the pomp that makes you feel uncomfortable in a 5 star.

Thanks hotel prinsenhof. Keep up the good work!

Dave and Emma (stayed 7th may)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I spent 3 nights at the Prinsenhof in Bruges whilst spending a weekend exploring the lovely city. From the moment we arrived until we left we were made to feel very welcome. The staff were polite and very friendly and were always interested in what we were doing during the day. They recommended restaurants and booked things for us when asked.
The breakfasts were wonderful and had everything you could ever want including champagne. The rooms were clean, well stocked and very comfortable. I liked the touch of the chocolate left on the pillow and a weather report card for the next day when the beds were turned down each night.

The hotel is superbly situated near the main square and we were able to access everything but at the same time be in a peaceful location.
I have no hesitation in recommending the Prinsenhof and hope to return again one day.

Betty A.

Room Tip: All rooms nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed 4 nights here at the beginning of our 3 week holiday. The front desk staff was extremely helpful, phoning for dinner reservations and helping with arrangements for a 1 day tour of Ieper and the WWI battlefields and cemeteries. We were in the old part of the hotel, which I made sure to request based on previous tripadvisor reviews, and it was just right, pleasant furnishings, very clean for a reasonable price (for Brugge). The family clearly cares about making their guests satisfied and delighted by their stay. We booked online and the breakfast was included. The breakfast buffet was ample with fresh squeezed orange juice (even champagne to make mimosas if you wanted), scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, grilled tomatoes and mushrooms, or you could order an omelette to your pleasure, plus all the regular cereals, breads, cheeses, rolls, yogurt, smoked salmon, etc. The hotel is a bit away from the bustle of tourism (and therefore quite quiet), but just a short walk to all the places that we wanted to visit and very convenient to many excellent places to eat. All in all, staying at the Prinsenhof made our first trip to Brugge an excellent experience.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Cal_Travel_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
427 reviews
0.3 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.4 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges

Address: Ontvangersstraat 9, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#1 Family Hotel in Bruges
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#4 Business Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £145 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Bruges and often awarded, the Prinsenhof Hotel is an oasis of peace, comfort and relaxation. The 24 splendid rooms of the Prinsenhof Hotel are not only stylishly decorated, they are an oasis of peace, one by one. The 3 types of rooms offer the best for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prinsenhof Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing