We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Bruges”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
Ranked #2 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
St Helens, England
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best of Bruges”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We have stayed in Bruges many times over the years and have stayed in a few different hotels during this time. After a dissapointing stay in our usual hotel during December we decided to try somewhere else and picked the Prinsenhof on the reviews on Tripadvisor, we were not dissapointed.
When we arrived I was a little shocked at the size, it seemed very small in comparison to where we normally stay. The reception area is quite compact with a seating area in front on a fireplace. The lovely aroma of vanilla greets you from the many candles dotted around the reception area and this adds to the cosey atmosphere of the hotel.
The receptionist was very pleasant and helpful and the check in process was quick and easy.
I had requested a jacuzzi bath and also a separate shower as my husband had recently had surgery on his leg which the room had. We stayed in room 29 which was directly opposite the lift, I do not know if this has been given to us deliberatly to make it easier for my husband who is on crutches, but it was a real help. I was concerned that it might have been noisy but the room was quite and throughout our stay there were no issues with noise whatsoever, which is almost impossible in most large hotels. The room had a large bed (two singles joined together) a flatscreen TV and DVD player, a small table with two chairs and plenty of room for putting your clothes away including drawer space which is always a problem in hotels I find. There is a small fridge enclosing the mini-bar and also a coffee maker which once I had mastered how it worked, was very good. The bathroom was large with a double sink, Jacuzzi bath and separate shower and also separate toilet. The bathroom was on par with the 5 star hotels I have stayed in in the past and was imacculately clean. The hotel offer a turn down service at night where they prepare your bed and put a chocolate on your pillow together with the weather forecast for the coming day, it is a lovely touch and a great idea for visitors. Larger hotels should take a leaf out of their book.

The bar area is very small and cosey with bowler hat design lights which are very quirky. There is also a small patio where you can enjoy the peace and quiet and the sun with a drink or two. Considering how close to a major shopping street the hotel is it is so quiet and peaceful.

The breakfast room has plenty of choice for anyone and the staff are on hand to assist and are extremely helpful. There is even Champagne on hand if you fancy a pick me up or a bucks fizz to start the day. I normally only find this available at weekends however the Prinsenhof has it available all week.

All in all this was a most enjoyable stay and the hotel is a credit to all the staff who work to make it such a lovely place to stay. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: We had room 29 which is excellent for the lift if you need to be close. I am sure all the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Janet66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,950
    208
    32
    9
    4
See reviews for
222
1,573
44
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel has a prime location in tourist-filled Bruges: it is down a quiet side street but minutes from the main square. Rooms are individual in shape but thoughtfully furnished with amenities to make them cozy and welcoming. Guests receive a letter introducing all the staff by name, and this personal touch is carried out in many little touches and a general tone of helpfulness and hospitality. An excellent choice in a lovely city!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous39604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were very pleased with our four day stay at this lovely property. Small,intimate and very tastefully appointed, in common areas as well as our room. Very quiet, very comfortable, and an exceedingly helpful and attentive staff led by Karen, Stephanie and Tessa. Well located.

Room Tip: I imagine they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidhgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This was our first visit to Bruges so we wern't sure what to expect. We wasn't dissapointed in any way. This hotel is located in a quiet street a short walk from the main square which is ideal. There are loads of lovely shops too so plenty to do once you've walked miles round this beautiful city. The hotel and staff were lovely. Our room was so very clean and very very comfy!! My thanks to all who worked so hard to make our stay so wonderful, we will be back soon!!

Room Tip: We were offered a free upgrade to our room and it was really lovely. I'm sure all rooms in this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xxx503790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We visited Hotel Prinsenhof in the late 90's and chose again for our visit with friends recently.

This is most delightful hotel is every respect. The greeting from Reception staff is so warm and the traditional decor of the original "old" Hall area combined with the modern Bar and Breakfast room is beautiful. The courtyard, which was new to us, was charming, and a great place for an evening pre dinner drink in the sun. The courtyard rooms were perfect, a good size, with excellent bathroom.

Being able to park on site is a huge advantage, and the fact that the Receptionists are able to manoeuvre and park cars for guests is brilliant!

Breakfast is superb, again with excellent attentive service and an excellent choice from fruit right to Danish Pastries and doughnuts to finish!!

The icing on the cake of our stay in Bruges and would recommend totally.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, England.
Level Contributor
262 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This hotel well deserves the complimentary reviews it receives on Trip Advisor.

Your amazing guest experience starts from the moment you arrive. Karen at reception gave us a warm welcome, checked us in, showed us to our room and parked the car.

We loved our Courtyard Room, which gave us ground floor access through the back gate onto the quiet back street. You cannot believe that you are in the heart of a busy city when you are in your room - a truely relaxing weekend.

Amenities in the room are exemplary - everything is up to 5 star standard. The little extras add to your enjoyment. The bathroom was luxurious - coming a very close second to that of Ceasars Palace in Las Vegas. - a hard one to beat. The bed was very comfortable.

We eagerly anticipated breakfast on our first morning, as the Trip Advisor comments had been good. We were, again warmly greeted by the Breakfast Hostess, who served a busy restaurant efficiently. We were amazed how she went from table to table speaking the native tongue of the guests. The selection offered and quality of food was very good.

I cannot wait to return to this lovely hotel in this lovely city.

Room Tip: We liked our Courtyard Room but some may not as it is where the cars are parked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Essjay9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We arrived recently for a 3 night stay in Brugge after travelling through the Somme for about a week. We had already had some excellent experiences in our accommodation along the way and once again we were delighted to find the Hotel Prinsenhof absolutely up to the mark. Great location, attentive and helpful staff, graciously and without request gave us an upgrade to a more spacious room. The room (individually decorated) was great, comfortable large bed and excellent bathroom with spa bath. Breakfast is served every morning from 8.00am and is terrific. Lots of options - cold and hot. I cannot fault this terrific hotel. Should we ever return to Brugge there is no question that we would stay here. Hotel Prinsenhof gets our unconditional recommendation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Polly-Anna56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.0 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.5 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.4 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges

Property: Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
Address: Ontvangersstraat 9, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#1 Family Hotel in Bruges
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#4 Business Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Bruges and often awarded, the Prinsenhof Hotel is an oasis of peace, comfort and relaxation. The 24 splendid rooms of the Prinsenhof Hotel are not only stylishly decorated, they are an oasis of peace, one by one. The 3 types of rooms offer the best for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prinsenhof Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing