We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
Ranked #2 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2009

Just as good as the other reviews suggest! We arrived by taxi fron the rail station (8 eur), were greeted very efficiently and shown to our room (37, on second floor, looking onto the street). We would not have found it on foot as it was our first visit to Bruges. the location was perfect, just off a fairly main street 4 minutes walk from the Markt, but quiet enough we could leave the window open all night, and not on a 'tourist' route. Lovely, reasonably spacious room. Good sized bathroom with nice toiletries and bathrobes, the only drawback was the shower was over the bath, it took ages to get hot water first thing, and there was a bit of spray onto the bathroom floor. All the staff were really friendly, and spoke excellent English, and were happy to recommend places to eat, visit etc. Breakfast was superb - a light room at the back of the building, lovely staff and some of the best quality I've ever had in a hotel. There was even champagne available every day! The breads and pastries were so fresh and tasty, and there were cheeses, ham, etc and smoked salmon and shrimps aswell. Or cooked breakfast (eggs to order), or cereal/yoghurts etc. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hcdUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,822 - 1,828 of 2,289 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2009

We arrived at the Hotel Prinsenhof at about 2pm, an hour earlier than the check in time, however this was absolutely not a problem. We were greeted with the warmest of welcomes possible. Our party consisted of two couples, both of whom were celebrating Ruby Wedding Anniversaries. We were shown to our rooms, which were perfect, with beautiful décor and soft furnishings. Our hosts had very generously placed champagne on ice in both rooms which was just fabulous! We also had little dishes of chocolates and sweets. The bathrooms were very spacious, complete with bath robes and a very plentiful supply of towels and cosmetics. When we arrived back in our rooms after an evening spent at the fondue restaurant around the corner from the hotel (which we would highly recommend for a fun night out and good food) our beds had been turned down and a chocolate placed on the pillow, together with the weather forecast for the next day. We also ate at Maximillians down by the Lake of Love, which was very good value for the regional menu and extremely well cooked and presented and great service – good idea to book though as gets very busy at the weekend. Breakfast at the hotel is amazing with eggs, bacon, sausage etc and the usual continental breakfast of cheese and cold meats. We also enjoyed fruit salad and every conceivable type of bread and preserves, all of which were delicious. The staff at this hotel are an absolute delight. Everyone is so happy and obliging. If you are looking for a hotel in a peaceful but central location, where you will be thoroughly spoilt, look no further. We spent an idyllic three days in the beautiful city of Bruges and cannot wait to return when we will again, without a doubt, stay at the Prinsenhof.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheilanick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2009

We stayed here for one night and left wishing it could have been more. We were visiting Bruges as a belated Christmas treat for my old but spritely parents and loved every moment of our weekend. Prior to check in I had emailed the hotel with a few queries, their replies were prompt and helpful. The great service continued once we had arrived sorting us out with a local eatery and directions etc. We were given rooms at the very top of the hotel-both simply lovely. The beds were large and comfy but remember to use the extra pillows provided the ones on the bed are fancy to look at but not great to sleep on. We have a fantastic shower/bathroom which was vert spacious. Be warned do not use the toileteries provided - they were just nasty. Breakfast was simple but delicious, fresh pastries, breads and preserves etc The location was great within easy walking distance of the main attractions but tucked away in a quiet side street. We will definitely be going back the nexttime we pop over to Bruges.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelphobic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2009

I only stayed here for one night but enjoyed it tremendously!

Lovely hotel only made better by the beautiful town that surrounds it. We arrived Friday lunchtime and got a very warm welcome. We were surprised to find we had been upgraded to a supreme double which included a wonderful bathroom with a jacuzzi bath and all the other trimmings!
The room was warm (Had AC too), bright and cosy. Large TV was handy although given the town, didn't get much use. We made use of the minibar and had a great breakfast, both cooked and continental style.
For some reason we both found the supersize pillows quite uncomfortable at night but thats the only thing I can think that I disliked!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank megakid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2009

I booked to stay at Hotel Prinsenhof for a New Years Eve break with my husband and a couple of good friends. This hotel is lovely, the rooms were a good size and really quiet. They are furnished well, and being just after Christmas, everywhere was still decorated with Christmas decorations and looked lovely. It is tucked away in a quiet location yet so near for walking to the main square and all attractions. I would certainly stay here again if we ever went back to Bruges. The breakfast is good, lots of choices and everything well presented. We booked through Takethetunnel.com (even though we drove and took the ferry) and got a really good deal which included the ferry & the three nights at this hotel. New Years Eve was lovely, everyone went into the main square to watch the fireworks and then went back to the pub for drinks! We found a really good pub (not very large) which did a good selection of beers - the famous pub with 500 different beers was closed for the New Year break so we never went there. Given that the euro exchange rate isn't good, we did research around for places to eat that weren't too expensive. We went to a small restaurant round the corner from the hotel (can't remember the name now but it was something like the Flemish pot) for authentic Flemish food the first night, went to the Hobbit restaurant the second night (really recommend it as the food was good and the atmosphere was good but unfortunately it was shut for NYEve) lastly went to a restaurant on the square called Tom something which had good food but not as good as the hobbit. The Christmas markets were still on so plenty of Gluewein to keep the cold at bay, as it was extremely cold. Nice break, Bruges is really quaint and pretty in places and worth a visit.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jaegerchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2009

We stayed here for nights over new year 2009
The first thing we notice was the front desk was not flexable , we travelodge from london on the 6am ferry so we got the about 11.30am and was told that we could leave our bags but not check in before 2pm
Well you you paying 375 euro a night and the fact that you must check out by 11pm( which most hotels in the world allow you to check out at 12pm and in most cases late check out at 2)
Ever thing was extra b/fast was 17 euros and not worth 5, i had the worst omlet ever, and simple things like brown suger was not available, the selection at b/fast was limited to say the least.
There was a internet station that was free, and it was so slow it was worth using, wireless however was 16 euro for 24 hours, but when you book online it give the impression its free, which is misleading.
i stayed in room 32 whicj had a four poster room on the mail web site the room was ok but not worth the money.
the toilet had a toilet roele holder with belong in a public toilet.
the hair dryer was very 1980s.
the fruit bowl had fruits of poor quality and was change daily.
when we had the room cleaned the bin was not empty and the bottle water was not replace nor waere the glasses
at this level one would expect tea and coffee in the room or at the very least in the sitting area complementary.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Daz_London1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2009

My fiancee and I stayed here for 2 nights in December. Finding the hotel was not an issue for us because we had a map, but without one, or a bad sense of direction, it would probably be tricky. There are signs for it though at the end of the street.

Our room was on the top floor and somewhat small, but an ok size for us. The ceilings were sloped because of the eaves of the roof, and this was especially seen in the bathroom where the whole ceiling was on an angle. This made it a bit tricky to shower with the low ceiling and made it feel cramped. The tub also had no shower curtain or glass door, so between the sloped ceiling and trying not to soak the entire bathroom with water, including the towels which were hanging on a rack IN the tub, it wasn't that comfortable to shower. We mentioned this to the owner, and he said that many have complained about this and they plan to renovate all of those bathrooms this year. I was just disappointed because the bathrooms on the website looked AMAZING. I think our room probably would have been one of the few with this problem.

As others have mentioned, it would have been nice to have coffee/tea making facilities in the room.

Other than that though, the rest of the hotel was great. The location is perfect for seeing all the main sites. Only a 5 minute walk to the main square. The furnishings are very nice and comfortable. We were able to rent a parking space (arranged in advance) off the street. The staff were all very friendly and extremely helpful in every way. The lobby was decorated beautifully for Christmas.

All in all, I would probably stay at this hotel again if I went back, and I'd definitely have no problem recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurendell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
442 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.3 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#9 of 97 in Bruges
756 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges

Address: Ontvangersstraat 9, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#1 Family Hotel in Bruges
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#4 Business Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £144 - £325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Bruges and often awarded, the Prinsenhof Hotel is an oasis of peace, comfort and relaxation. The 24 splendid rooms of the Prinsenhof Hotel are not only stylishly decorated, they are an oasis of peace, one by one. The 3 types of rooms offer the best for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prinsenhof Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing