We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fairytale hotel in a fairytale city.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
Ranked #2 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2009

All I can say is "WOW". I was so impressed with the hotel that I want to go back there or wished this hotel could be everywhere I am going next. It is a very beautiful, elegant, charming, cozy, lovely, and friendly little family run hotel.
As soon as you enter through the glass door, your mouth will drop and that's not where it ends. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The owners are pretty much always there as well.

Our room was little but cozy enough for the two of us. The bathroom was equipped with two sinks, a bathtub and a shower stall and of course a toilet. We even had bathrobes. The colors of the room were dark furniture but the white and yellow upholstering on the chairs and bed made it look very light and fresh. Besides a big screen TV and a DVD/CD player there was also a well stocked mini bar and a safe.
You don't just get your beds made and room cleaned in the mornings but also in the evenings. There is always a little surprise somewhere. When we got back from dinner every evening, we found our room set up for evening time - bed covers pulled down, curtains closed, the TV/Radio playing soft music, chocolate on our pillows and a sweet card wishing us a "pleasant night" and the weather forecast for the next day.
The breakfast room is also very elegant. Maybe one table too many which crowded the room just slightly, but since there weren't too many people when we were there it worked out really great. The very friendly waitress "Peggy" greeted me with a big smile and asked me if I had a good night and whether I wanted coffee or tea. The quality and quantity of food was excellent. There was a big choice of breads and rolls, some pastry, jam, honey, fruits, deli meat, scrambled eggs, hot sausage, all kind of cheeses, cereals and and and. Besides bringing me my coffee she also brought me freshly squeezed orange juice. I am just overwhelmed with all this kindness and really wanting to please the guest.
There is wireless internet available but you need to pay for it if you want to use it in your room. However, there is a computer with free internet access on the first floor available which you can use.

The hotel itself is located in a very quiet side street off a shopping street and quite centrally located. You can reach pretty much all the sights by foot. There are a few brochures available from the hotel. You receive one map which has the most important sights mentioned. Through the hotel you can also get a voucher for a free guided walking tour which lasts about 2 hours. We did not do the walking tour but we did do the boat tour which is also recommended by the hotel. I got the tickets through them as well. The boat tour was about 30 minutes long and was quite informative.

Now to some things that I thought need a little improvement but weren't really disturbing - by the way, no hotel is perfect:
** Parking: Since the hotel's parking lot is quite small, they still pack it quite full. You have to leave your car keys with the receptionist so they can move your car should it be in the way of someone else trying to get out. Plus, parking at the hotel premises cost us 14 Euros/day - that's a little on the high side in my opinion. I don't know how the other hotels do it but parking at you hotel should be free or not that much. However, I feel like we used the parking for the entire time we were there and didn't use the car once since we did everything by foot.
** No afternoon tea/coffee. It's just an idea for the hotel to maybe have a little light afternoon snack waiting for the guests in the breakfast room. Tea, coffee, maybe cookies, crackers and fruit would be enough.
** Elevator goes only to 2nd floor. To go up another level you have to take quite narrow steps. Just be careful otherwise it's not a big problem. Plus, my husband and I only took the steps to go up and down - some exercise for us since we ate so much chocolate, waffles and other good foods.
**No money exchange at the hotel available.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonja-Tim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,820 - 1,826 of 2,289 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2009

Cant recommend this hotel highly enough for a couple looking for a quiet getaway in a lovely town.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BPCAusUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2009

Just as good as the other reviews suggest! We arrived by taxi fron the rail station (8 eur), were greeted very efficiently and shown to our room (37, on second floor, looking onto the street). We would not have found it on foot as it was our first visit to Bruges. the location was perfect, just off a fairly main street 4 minutes walk from the Markt, but quiet enough we could leave the window open all night, and not on a 'tourist' route. Lovely, reasonably spacious room. Good sized bathroom with nice toiletries and bathrobes, the only drawback was the shower was over the bath, it took ages to get hot water first thing, and there was a bit of spray onto the bathroom floor. All the staff were really friendly, and spoke excellent English, and were happy to recommend places to eat, visit etc. Breakfast was superb - a light room at the back of the building, lovely staff and some of the best quality I've ever had in a hotel. There was even champagne available every day! The breads and pastries were so fresh and tasty, and there were cheeses, ham, etc and smoked salmon and shrimps aswell. Or cooked breakfast (eggs to order), or cereal/yoghurts etc. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hcdUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2009

We arrived at the Hotel Prinsenhof at about 2pm, an hour earlier than the check in time, however this was absolutely not a problem. We were greeted with the warmest of welcomes possible. Our party consisted of two couples, both of whom were celebrating Ruby Wedding Anniversaries. We were shown to our rooms, which were perfect, with beautiful décor and soft furnishings. Our hosts had very generously placed champagne on ice in both rooms which was just fabulous! We also had little dishes of chocolates and sweets. The bathrooms were very spacious, complete with bath robes and a very plentiful supply of towels and cosmetics. When we arrived back in our rooms after an evening spent at the fondue restaurant around the corner from the hotel (which we would highly recommend for a fun night out and good food) our beds had been turned down and a chocolate placed on the pillow, together with the weather forecast for the next day. We also ate at Maximillians down by the Lake of Love, which was very good value for the regional menu and extremely well cooked and presented and great service – good idea to book though as gets very busy at the weekend. Breakfast at the hotel is amazing with eggs, bacon, sausage etc and the usual continental breakfast of cheese and cold meats. We also enjoyed fruit salad and every conceivable type of bread and preserves, all of which were delicious. The staff at this hotel are an absolute delight. Everyone is so happy and obliging. If you are looking for a hotel in a peaceful but central location, where you will be thoroughly spoilt, look no further. We spent an idyllic three days in the beautiful city of Bruges and cannot wait to return when we will again, without a doubt, stay at the Prinsenhof.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheilanick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2009

We stayed here for one night and left wishing it could have been more. We were visiting Bruges as a belated Christmas treat for my old but spritely parents and loved every moment of our weekend. Prior to check in I had emailed the hotel with a few queries, their replies were prompt and helpful. The great service continued once we had arrived sorting us out with a local eatery and directions etc. We were given rooms at the very top of the hotel-both simply lovely. The beds were large and comfy but remember to use the extra pillows provided the ones on the bed are fancy to look at but not great to sleep on. We have a fantastic shower/bathroom which was vert spacious. Be warned do not use the toileteries provided - they were just nasty. Breakfast was simple but delicious, fresh pastries, breads and preserves etc The location was great within easy walking distance of the main attractions but tucked away in a quiet side street. We will definitely be going back the nexttime we pop over to Bruges.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelphobic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2009

I only stayed here for one night but enjoyed it tremendously!

Lovely hotel only made better by the beautiful town that surrounds it. We arrived Friday lunchtime and got a very warm welcome. We were surprised to find we had been upgraded to a supreme double which included a wonderful bathroom with a jacuzzi bath and all the other trimmings!
The room was warm (Had AC too), bright and cosy. Large TV was handy although given the town, didn't get much use. We made use of the minibar and had a great breakfast, both cooked and continental style.
For some reason we both found the supersize pillows quite uncomfortable at night but thats the only thing I can think that I disliked!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank megakid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2009

I booked to stay at Hotel Prinsenhof for a New Years Eve break with my husband and a couple of good friends. This hotel is lovely, the rooms were a good size and really quiet. They are furnished well, and being just after Christmas, everywhere was still decorated with Christmas decorations and looked lovely. It is tucked away in a quiet location yet so near for walking to the main square and all attractions. I would certainly stay here again if we ever went back to Bruges. The breakfast is good, lots of choices and everything well presented. We booked through Takethetunnel.com (even though we drove and took the ferry) and got a really good deal which included the ferry & the three nights at this hotel. New Years Eve was lovely, everyone went into the main square to watch the fireworks and then went back to the pub for drinks! We found a really good pub (not very large) which did a good selection of beers - the famous pub with 500 different beers was closed for the New Year break so we never went there. Given that the euro exchange rate isn't good, we did research around for places to eat that weren't too expensive. We went to a small restaurant round the corner from the hotel (can't remember the name now but it was something like the Flemish pot) for authentic Flemish food the first night, went to the Hobbit restaurant the second night (really recommend it as the food was good and the atmosphere was good but unfortunately it was shut for NYEve) lastly went to a restaurant on the square called Tom something which had good food but not as good as the hobbit. The Christmas markets were still on so plenty of Gluewein to keep the cold at bay, as it was extremely cold. Nice break, Bruges is really quaint and pretty in places and worth a visit.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jaegerchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
442 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.3 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#9 of 97 in Bruges
757 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges

Address: Ontvangersstraat 9, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#1 Family Hotel in Bruges
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#4 Business Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £144 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Bruges and often awarded, the Prinsenhof Hotel is an oasis of peace, comfort and relaxation. The 24 splendid rooms of the Prinsenhof Hotel are not only stylishly decorated, they are an oasis of peace, one by one. The 3 types of rooms offer the best for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prinsenhof Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing