We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
Ranked #2 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Spangdahlem
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2010

We stayed here on our Valentine’s Day trip to Bruges. The rooms and the service were amazing. Checking in they give you a map and help you decided where you would like to go, if you are unsure. The desk clerk shows you to your room and explains how to work everything. The rooms were very clean and nice. I especially loved to chocolate and the next day weather report that were a part of the turn down service. The staff at the front desk was extremely helpful in helping us go to the right places and getting around. I would definitely come back to this hotel and recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank outbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,919
    208
    32
    9
    4
See reviews for
219
1,551
41
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Angus
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2010

We chose the Hotel Prinsenhof from the selection of hotels our travel operators offered us based on the reviews we read here on Tripadvisor, as well as elsewhere on the net. It is very rare to see such consistency of [almost] universal praise when reading reviews for hotels as it is oh so hard to please all the people all the time. In my experience people are far more likely to write a damning review due to unfortunate circumstances or poor treatment that they have encountered than to think to write offering praise if the service/facilities are good. In the case of the Prinsenhof we found the service and facilities to be just as excellent as all the previous reviewers had initmated it would be.

Due to exceptionally bad weather we did not arrive at the hotel until after midnight and were unsure of our reception at such a late hour but the night clerk on duty was expecting us, greeted us with genuine warmth and personailty and after the briefest of check-ins we were escorted to our room. And what a room it was - tastefully furnished with individual wooden furniture, a large sumptious bed already turned down waiting for us and a luxurious ensuite bathroom with lovely deep jacuzzi bath, large head shower, double wash basins in a marble top and with bath robes and slippers waiting. The weather forecast for the next day was already waiting in the room along with the daily chocolates on the pillows and a scroll welcoming us personally to the hotel. I agree with previous reviewers that the extremely large LCD TV does seem slightly incongruous in the room but it did come into its own one evening when we decided that we would make an early night of it just to enjoy the facilities the room had to offer and after a relaxing bath lay back on the bed and watched a movie ('In Bruges' as it happens - I took it with us as my partner had never seen it before).

The breakfast was very nice - the range provided was exceptional when one considers that the hotel is so small - served in a small but cosy breakfast room. The service here was, as with all aspects of the hotel, attentive and yet discretely relaxed. The freshly pressed orange juice was a nice feature and we managed to resist the temptation of the ever present champagne bottle until the last morning. The lounge, in keeping with the rest of the hotel, was small but perfectly formed and an extremely pleasant place to sit and take coffee - in case you do stay here I can hopefully prevent a future dilemma by stating that the little dog does indeed like chocolate raisons. While we were staying there the street that hotel fronts onto was closed for repairs - it looked like they were laying new drains and all the cobbles had been removed. However the back door was accessible through the next street via the small hotel courtyard (which looked as if it would be a very pleasant place to sit in summer). The hotel is very centrally situated (although as with much of Bruges it is not particularly accessible for large vehicles. Stepping out of either the front or back doors you have a choice - turn one way, walk 100 yards and you are on one of the main shopping streets - turn the other way and after a similar distance you are on a quiet backstreet and can peacefully stroll along enjoying the amazing architecture and the sheer quirkiness to be found in each building. The main tourist areas - the Markt, Burg, museums etc - are a pleasant 5 minute stroll away from the hotel.

The cobbles (perhaps more accurately setts) are omnipresent but are quite flat and easy to walk on - as can perhaps be testified to by the large number of cyclists (of all ages) who zip their way through the narrow streets. Central Bruges is very small and the tourists do congregate in large numbers (not so bad out of season) in the streets around the main squares but if you like peace, architecture and gentle strolls there is a world of quiet joy just two or thee streets away with odd nooks (I hesitate to say 'alcoves'), crannies and canals waiting to be found.

Top Tip: take a copy of the Around Bruges In 80 Beers guide as it gives a good insight into the many possible places to eat and drink there - especially some of the less obvious locations. We had several 'guide books' with us but found that after the first day all we took with us was a foldout map and the afore mentioned book. I understand that the staff of the hotel will recommend and help reserve places to eat (as they do not serve evening meals themselves) but we had already identified so many places we would like to try from reading this book that we did not need to avail ourselves of this service.

All in all we had a delightful stay in Bruges. We would heartily recommend Bruges and particuarly the Hotel Prinsenhof for anyone who appreciates gentle charm, luxury and serenity. Three or four nights for Bruges are just about perfect and at some point we would be happy to return and do it again in warmer weather.

Enjoy.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Izboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
320 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2010

The details of this hotel really stand out from Champagne in our room (with a jacuzzi tub) to squeezed orange juice and fresh cooked eggs for breakfast. Since this is family run, you can't beat their friendly and helpful attention to getting your dinner reservations and helping you find places. They even let us keep our car there some extra hours so we could walk around more. You can't beat this place for location, service, and homey atmosphere.

Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2010

We had the most memorable experience staying at the hotel Prinsenhof .
After staying at many different places within Bruge over the years we wanted something special to celebrate our wedding anniversary. we were not to be dissapointed.
The reception staff were very kind & always smiling , you always felt welcome.
Our room was just great , very clean & well presented with a lovely bathroom.
Breakfast was not included within the room price but none the less it was worth every penny with champagne included . There was a splendid selection of cheeses , meats etc & also a cooked breakfast.
Truely a lovely hotel to stay & enjoy.
Malc Farmer

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capri27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2010

I have stayed many times at this Hotel. Every time seems better than the previous. It is a family Hotel with very friendly staff and all of this makes you feel like at home. All the rooms that I have stayed in, were very comfortable, very clean, with impressive bathroom.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParisThessaloniki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bollington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2010

I took my partner to the Prinsenhof for his 30th Birthday after reading so many positive reviews on Tripadvisor and I cannot fault the hotel.

When we arrived we recieved a very warm welcome and were given maps and information about Bruges by the receptionist.

The room was gorgeous, a lovely big bed, lounge area, vast bathroom with seperate shower and bath; and huge television set. The bed was very comfortable and the maid service not only made up the rooms in the morning but offered a "turn down" service in the early evening, lovely for when you've had a long day and just want to collapse into bed.

Breakfast was a buffett but a substatial buffett including cereals, cold meat, cheeses, smoked salmon, full "english style" hot breakfast items, breads, pastries and croissants plus freshly squeezed orange juice and tea or coffee. Certainly a good start to the day, we never wanted a big lunch.

The location was also excellent, a 15 min walk (5 min cab ride) from the train station and literally 5 mins from the Markt (the tourist centre of Bruges). The hotel is located in "Old Bruges" on a charming side-street and restaurants, cafe's and shopping are all within a stones throw. We couldn't have asked for a better location considering neither of us had been to Bruges before.

On my partners birthday the hotel organised for a lovely tin of gorgeous Belgian biscuits to be delivered to the room and nothing seemed too much trouble for the staff.

All in all I can highly recommend the Princenhof and understand why it is the #1 hotel in Bruges on Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmlabbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2010

Without exception all of the staff at the hotel Prinsenhof made us feel most welcome and the hotel is to be congratulated on the comfortable environment that they have created. The location of the hotel is perfect for ease of walking access to all the main attractions of Bruges.
A particular highlight was the free city tour provided by the hotel and led by "Andrew", a uniquely experienced and knowlegeable guide.
We shall be telling all our friends about the trip and the hotel.

Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank citybreakcheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.4 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges

Property: Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
Address: Ontvangersstraat 9, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bruges
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#4 Business Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Bruges and often awarded, the Prinsenhof Hotel is an oasis of peace, comfort and relaxation. The 24 splendid rooms of the Prinsenhof Hotel are not only stylishly decorated, they are an oasis of peace, one by one. The 3 types of rooms offer the best for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prinsenhof Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing