We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First timers”
Review of Burg Square

Burg Square
Book In Advance
More Info
US$126.95*
and up
Brussels Super Saver: Brussels Sightseeing Tour, Antwerp Half-Day Trip, Day...
More Info
US$23.73*
and up
Private Medieval Tour With a Local Guide in Bruges
More Info
US$112.71*
and up
Bruges Day Trip from Amsterdam
Ranked #3 of 154 things to do in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“First timers”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Love this city will come back for more one day was to short will have to stay for longer,st johns hospital is a must but the weather is not

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karl1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,888 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,877
    909
    97
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent town for family and romantic gateway”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We loved the city and the historical centre including the boat trip along the canal and the excellent bistro restaurant. Easy reach from London, affordable and plenty of things to do and see. Just book your hotel in advance as it is fully book on week ends

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stef3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TN
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Interesting architecture but it can get you lost”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Architecture from different periods; first walked into the Burg from the vismarkt only a block or 2 from hotel. But when we tried to return to hotel, we mistakenly missed the passage from the Burg to the vismarkt (and hence our hotel). It was cold and rainy and what turned out to the passage out of the burg just looked like a door similar other others, not like an outlet. In daylight, we found it, of course!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank PatKTn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Just beautiful.”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Our hotel was on this square. Really beautiful and picturesque. Don't miss the Basilica of the Holy Blood. Check out the basement of the Crown Plaza for a nice bit of history. We were staying there, so we were able to go down even though it was closed for an event. I think it is free and open to the public though on a normal basis. First thing in the morning, it seemed to be a meeting place for drivers and their horse-drawn carriages. Loved this city.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The Burg”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Lovely place to visit and take some great photos. A great place to people watch with a lot of places to visit all round

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireAliBongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Burg Square also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Burg Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing