We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus
Reviewed 1 June 2012

As far as hostels go its clean enough but plumbing was blocked and no hot water in showers which made it pretty chilly. Wifi good in reception area.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dishmoptop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (893)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

460 - 466 of 893 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2012

I was looking forward to stay in this hostel after staying in the hostel in Paris, however, I'm afraid this hostel doesn't compare.

When booking, due to other reviews I had read, I initially booked to stay in a four bed dorm as I expected there to be a curtain on each bunk, as there was in the Paris hostel. The room was an ok size, very basic but fine. However, there were no curtains, and when sharing with another 3 guys i found this a problem. My lock was too thin for the locker, there was only half a curtain on the window and the toilets were not clean. My room was directy above the bar which was unbelievably noisy all night, and in the morning as the delivery of new kegs and bottles being thrown into the bottle bank began at 7am and went on for hours I got hardly any sleep.

We upgraded to a double en suite for an extra 20€ the next day and the room was beautiful. It was better than most hotels I have been to so I was very impressed, however be aware that you will get no wi if in these rooms.

The location was excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. First night in a private room was great at the end of a corridor andyvery quiet , 2nd night we were in a 5 bed dorm on the top floor was a bit noisey but too be expected in any hostel. There were 2 of us and we seperated off from the other 3 we shared which was nice, so plenty room to stay apart Location is a little out the centre but not a problem as Bruge is so small anyways. There is a bar and resturant in the hostel, food is quite pricey , drinks not so bad. Bar is always busy with travellers and also some locals. Hostel is pretty big , has a nice garden out back with BBQ facilties. The rooms were of good standard. Lots of showers and toliets. Defo reccomend if staying in Bruges , Staff are real friendly. Overall good stay, met lots of cool people.

Room Tip: 5 bed dorm on top floor is huge , room 22. private room 19 is t end of corridor and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willnicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

ok sleep, yet ground floor rooms had a smell, very good breakfast, 10 min walk to center. perfect for young people travelling on a budget

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurabanica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We got the 16 bus from the Train Station to within 100m of the Hostel but took a taxi when we left which cost 10e.

We stayed in a private room for 2 ensuite and it was on par if not better than some hotels / B&B's i have stayed in.
Front desk staff are very friendly and helpful with directions and places to check out. They run a couple walking tours / pub crawls so be sure and ask if that is up your street!

Room was plenty big for two people and secure. Ensuite was ideal, shower was small but did the job.
Breakfast was included which was basic buffet but did the job for the amount you were paying for it.
Over all a very young feel to the hostel and good buzz. The restaurant staff seem constantly annoyed and I didn't find them very helpful or user friendly but then again that seems to be par for the course in Bruges, you get the feeling people don't like tourists!

The bar has a good buzz at night and you get 10% off food and drink when staying in the Hostel. Watch out for the old(ish) lady who sits at her usual chair all day and night and waves on people sitting too close : )

Wifi available in the lobby area and bar for free

Would stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

6 beds, one room, in need of a paint. Sheets with permanent stains. Beds ok. Receptionist efficient, not overly friendly. House rules explain to see reception to book your next hostel from the chain, 2 girls asked the receptionist and she said not possible, I only read the house rules after but thought it funny.

cold showers, i tried at 830am and 3 different ones and all freezing.

Breakfast disgusting to say the least, 3 staff, not anywhere remotely interested in serving, I am Dutch and therefore understood everything they said which was a lot of complaining about the job and about boys and about anything but breakfast really.

Just not professional, and although good price, i have stayed in other hostels of similar pricing with far better quality service and amenities.

A lady in my room stole my blanket and although the receptionist was in the bar obviously not working she was very helpful to get me a new one.

The next morning the staff was apologetic about the issue and the particular client and gave me a towel foc as a goodwill gesture which i appreciated.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

The bunks were the best make sure you stay in the Bunks, Th hostel has really though about the privacy for each person with power points in every bunk, Curtains and basically your own little room in a room with lockers under the bed to provide more space and so you can lock up your luggage!!!

Highly recommended :o)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReneeandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
3.1 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
#66 of 97 in Bruges
666 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#46 of 97 in Bruges
2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.8 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus

Address: Langestraat 133 - 137, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Bruges
Price Range: £15 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a complex of six UNESCO World Heritage listed Brugean step-gable houses and surrounded by Bruges' historical centre, St. Christophers Inn - The Bauhaus offers the best party atmosphere and beer selection of any Bruges hostel. With Legends of Bruges walking tours and Belgian beer tastings on-site EVERY DAY, there's always a great experience waiting for you in the bar - stop in and try one of our 40+ high quality Belgian beers and chat to our friendly international staff for some restaurant and sightseeing recommendations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Christophers Bauhaus Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing