We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus
Reviewed 5 July 2012

I stayed one night in the 10 bunk pods which were pretty neat - curtains, little shelf and a light. however the bunk beds creaked and the lockers were loud and pretty much bothered the rest of the room every time you moved. the next night I was in a 5 bed room which was a lot quieter obviously and I wasn't in a bunk bed, and was on the top floor so it was isolated from the noise from the bar and had a nice skylight.

the bar is really fun, however as mentioned it gets really loud sometimes. the restaurant was okay but it was expensive. the free breakfast is just that - free, so don't expect too much out of it but sustenance. and get there early as well.

the one thing that would make me reconsider staying here again is the wi-fi situation. not only is it unavailable in the rooms, but it's ONLY available in reception, where there are limited seats and it's quite unpleasant. there is another lounge area in the back but for some reason there's no internet there either. i don't really understand why. another thing that would make me reconsider staying here is that a lot of the showers are absolutely HORRIBLE. many don't drain, are covered in hair, etc. it's pretty unpleasant.

they recently got rental bikes which would have been very nice, but unfortunately it was raining the nights I was there. all in all, i would probably stay here again as the value was pretty good.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexSB155032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (900)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

456 - 462 of 900 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2012 via mobile

I would definitely stay here again. I stayed in a 10 bed room with pid beds. Everyone has 2 outlets and a light at their bed and a curtain. Guests get discounts at the restaurant and bar. The restaurant is okay. I wouldnt recommend the veggie burger unless you want a deep-fried potato on a bun, but everything else that i ate was good. The free breakfast is average.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexs27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012 via mobile

Hostel rooms poor as we're toilets and showers but the breakfast pub and location in general was nice - only stayed a night but would stay again

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbs111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Bruges is a small city, so in terms of location it was great, only a 5 - 10 minute walk to the Bruges centre. We booked a double room with private ensuite and our room was directly upstairs from reception so we did not get a lot of noise from the bar downstairs (our friends who stayed above the bar on the other hand had problems sleeping from the noise). The ensuite was very small (reminded me of being in an airplane toilet) and we had to keep pushing the tap every 20 seconds as it was timed.

Pros:
Opportunity to meet other travelers
All you can eat breakfast (very simple foods though - boiled egg, bread, jam)


Cons:
There was a funny stale smell in the room
Shower was timed every 20 seconds
Can get quite hot, no air conditioning

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

This hostel was fully booked and quite cramped. There was an error with our reservation, but the extremely helpful staff got us a private room at the same price as a dorm. The room was very small and stuffy, but it was ours alone. The stairway to the top is very narrow and hard to navigate with full backpacks. The showers and restrooms were just terrible, dirty. The hostel is cheap and does cater to the younger backpaker. The have organized pub crawls and other organized things to do at night. They also have a small bar attached to the hostel. The free breakfast was really good for a cheap hostel. It included several different cold cereals, bread, cheese, meat and soft boiled eggs. The luggage room is hard to get to, it is down a narrow passageway in the basement, but the rental system they use is really good. You can just leave your luggage down there too, it seemed safe enough. If you arrive without a towel toothbrush or soap, they do rent or sell those items. You can even book a hostel to your next destination through a special computer in the lobby. The location is quite a ways away from the train station, and a very bumpy 15 min bus ride to get there.

Room Tip: Pay the extra cash for the private room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed for one night. We had booked the pod beds, but were allocated to an old dorm of 8 beds, right next to the door. Some of the lockers in the room were broken and there were only a couple powerpoints for everyone. The room was quite stuffy and the bathroom was a floor below. The bathroom was clean enough, however the showers were very small and had no hooks, shelves or anywhere dry to put your things. The showers relied on a button to be pushed regularly which was very annoying. The water pressure was hard and painful. The wifi was slow and did not always work. Breakfast was very basic. Overall, it was disappointing and would it stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WLB1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

As far as hostels go its clean enough but plumbing was blocked and no hot water in showers which made it pretty chilly. Wifi good in reception area.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dishmoptop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
0.8 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#45 of 97 in Bruges
2,338 reviews
3.1 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
#67 of 97 in Bruges
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,581 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus

Address: Langestraat 133 - 137, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Bruges
Price Range: £25 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a complex of six UNESCO World Heritage listed Brugean step-gable houses and surrounded by Bruges' historical centre, St. Christophers Inn - The Bauhaus offers the best party atmosphere and beer selection of any Bruges hostel. With Legends of Bruges walking tours and Belgian beer tastings on-site EVERY DAY, there's always a great experience waiting for you in the bar - stop in and try one of our 40+ high quality Belgian beers and chat to our friendly international staff for some restaurant and sightseeing recommendations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Christophers Bauhaus Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing