We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really friendly place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really friendly place”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Stayed for one night at the start of my packing around europe. Hostel is centralish and has really nice Bar. The hostle also has free computers which is always a plus. The dooms and the showers are basic but what still good value for money. The staff were really friendly an helpful, but to be honest I would stay there again but i wouldnt visit Brugge as it was really dull.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    320
    185
    79
    62
See reviews for
33
192
192
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012 via mobile

There is only 3 hostels in Bruges and felt like for the price and expectations of St Christopher's it could have been closer to the main center but otherwise it was clean and nice hostel. We enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank semill11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Not a clean hostel. Couldn't handle a full hostel. Toilets and showers were disgusting & extremely smelly all day. Staff were ok, much nicer in Bar though. Only 10 bed dorms have pod beds with curtains. 12-16 dorms don't. Free breakfast was only thing good about hostel. Not much to seem & do in Bruges so research first being going.

Room Tip: Book 10bed dorm so you get curtains or book a private room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

This hostel is not like the rest of St Christopher's hostels around europe. You have common bathrooms (that are poor and mixed) and the rooms are very simple. The insulation of the rooms with other rooms or even the bar is not the best, so on weekend you may feel the music. They do have a bar and a restaurant with good prices and the hostel is close to the city center.

They offer a free walking tour (day and Night) that is ok, a good way to get to know this small city.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yo-no-fui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bruges hotels

Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2012

When booking this hostel there was no mention of an age restriction (I am 16) and as I am new to hostels didn't even consider there to be one. So upon arrival with my friend (also 16) I was amazed to hear that you had to be 18 to stay there. After about 2 hours, they finally said that there was a room at the top of the hostel where an ex-employee had been staying that we could use. This was very messy with things all over the place but we were too tired to care. There was no clean sheets on the bed but we were told they would bring some up. After going down three times we finally managed to get some by midnight and then we made our own bed.

Also, there was nowhere for our bikes (which suprised me as I thought being a hostel, they would get cyclists all the time). They told us to just leave our bikes outside. From a neutral perspective, the queue in the reception was constant as the staff appeared to be very slow. This meant that even when you wanted to ask the simplest of questions you had to wait for 5 - 15 minutes. If it was very cheap then I wouldn't have minded as much yet it was more expensive than many of the hotels we stayed in. It is a shame that my first experience of a hostel went like this and this has made me more likely to stay in hotels next time. Overall, this hostel is probably really good if you are 18, not a cyclist, not in a rush and do not have high expectations. Sorry for the moaning I but felt it necessary.

Room Tip: I've heard that the 10 and 16 bed rooms are a lot better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathieu R, Assistant-Manager at St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Greetings,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. Every bit of information might help
us improve.

I apologise that your stay was not optimal, but we did try to help you out as much as possible.
Our company policy says we do not allow persons under 18 to check in on their own. They are only allowed to stay in private rooms, or in dormitory rooms that are booked for use of one family or group of persons, unless otherwise is authorized by a family member.
All bookings must be on the bases of one person = one bed. This is for Security and Fire Regulations.

Your friend and yourself, both minors, came into our hostel around 11pm to check-in. You booked a dorm room from what I understood from our receptionists. Because of the age restriction that is applied to those dormrooms they could not let you enter that said dormroom.
There was no adult accompanying the both of you to sign a waver as well.
Because it was late in the evening we were a bit concerned of turning down two minors, so we looked for the best available option. That was an extra unused room of a former employee.
This was the only option because we were fully booked and could not place you into a dormroom; or in an to expensive private flat.
I'm sorry you had to wait a bit for the clean sheets, but on evenings that time we do not have allot of staff around; reception was still busy with other check-in, bartenders can't leave a full bar immeadiatly. In the end you have received them.

Then for the bikes. We have some cyclists now and then, but the majority comes on foot/bus/car. We have bicycleparkings right across the street from our hostel that are safe to use. Our receptionist even offred to put your bikes in our cellar but you declined his offer and said that it would not be needed.

Afterwards we also asked if everything was well for the two of you and you both said you were happy with the stay. If we would have known during your stay we would have done the best effort to improve our hospitality.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Clean accommodation. Good location. Worst nights sleep. Room was directly above the hostel bar and music went until about 3am it seemed. I could hear every lyric of every song. When I looked the next day the speaker was directly below my bed. Invest in earplugs. WIFI was useless. Kept cutting out and at one point was turned off for half the day.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hamiltonnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
171 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

As Bruges is a small town, the location's hostel is good. Is possible going to the main attractions walking. The breakfast is good. The bathroons are not so clean.
My slippers were robbed, so, my advise is to putting all your stuff on the locker!
There is a bar under the hostel, and I was in a bedroom above. I couldn't had a good night's sleep.
A nice place to stay 1 ou 2 night...

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ana-celia2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
3.1 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
#68 of 97 in Bruges
599 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#46 of 97 in Bruges
2,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
9.1 mi away
Hotel De Stokerij
Hotel De Stokerij
#25 of 97 in Bruges
339 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus

Property: St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus
Address: Langestraat 133 - 137, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a complex of six UNESCO World Heritage listed Brugean step-gable houses and surrounded by Bruges' historical centre, St. Christophers Inn - The Bauhaus offers the best party atmosphere and beer selection of any Bruges hostel. With Legends of Bruges walking tours and Belgian beer tastings on-site EVERY DAY, there's always a great experience waiting for you in the bar - stop in and try one of our 40+ high quality Belgian beers and chat to our friendly international staff for some restaurant and sightseeing recommendations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Christophers Bauhaus Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing