We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No matter what room you get, it's a hostel.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus
Calgary
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“No matter what room you get, it's a hostel.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

We stayed in the apartment which looked great online. They took a while to get back to us about the reservation but we got it sorted. We arrived and the reception was very helpful. The room was at the top of a set of poorly made stairs and when got in the apartment we quickly realized it had been slapped together. The was no soap, dishtowels, towels, and little crockery. We asked for some of these and they said they would be supplied the next day along with a remote for the TV but nothing ever came. The walls were paper thin and the towels they lent were bleach stained. The floor in half the apartment felt like it would cave in. Luckily the living room and kitchen were so spacious we could pull the mattresses off the bed and sleep on the floor in there where it was more quiet. The sink leaked and the kitchen was dirty. Although it is walking distance from everything, it is clearly on the far end of Bruges and I'm sure we could have found something nicer, cleaner, and closer. Most importantly quieter. The bedding was also all mismatched and different materials. Lower your expectations for this place. The only positive was the size and we had three great windows out to the street!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzypoopoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    316
    181
    77
    62
See reviews for
32
187
186
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Brugges is a small town, so within a walking distance you get easily to the town center. It seems to be a growing hostel because it is spread in two or three buildings.
This hostel was OK, the lobby has always a lot of people and you can mingle there. It has free WiFi, a couple of computers you can use, lockers and a bike rental.
The room has a sink inside, the bathrooms are shared and outside. We were a party of 3, so it was nice to get a 3bed room. The rooms are in a labyrinth, there are stairs, hallways and rooms everywhere, its curious.
The bathrooms are sort of OK, not too dirty, not too clean.
The breakfast is the same as in any other hostel, bread, jam, cereal and juice.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

I've stayed in Pensiones and Hostel in over 8 countries and this was the worst one I've ever had the displeasure to stay at. I think that says a lot. It smelled. The rooms have beds that are basically a couple of 2 by 4's slapped together with a "mattress". I took TWO sleeping pills so I wouldn't have to endure the grossness of the room any longer than necessary. We had a private room and they couldn't bother with even putting a mirror over the sink. Did I mention the smell? We rented a couple of bikes which were in slight disrepair, which is expected, but the ridiculously unhelpful front desk girl couldn't give a [--]!
Oh, and don't believe the directions they give you regarding telling the bus driver to let you off at the Bauhaus. Ours let us off on a completely different street and just kind of gesticulated in the general direction of the hostal.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chaipilates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bruges hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

Check in was a nighmare.It took forever. The room was in a seperate block to the reception, which is random. the room was small and had no curtains. The showers were small and harsh, no seperate doors so your clothes get wet. The toilet rooms are tiny and sometimes no exceptionally clean. the bin in our room wasnt emptied the whole time we stayed. Under the rooms was the pub so in the night it was really loud and in the morning they were changing the beer kegs so was sooooo loud.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dek207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

I stayed at this hostel for 2 nights as a couple in a private double ensuite room. Check-in was unfortunately a nightmare, with only one person working the check-in desk and a nightmare of a customer in front of me, the process of took a total of 45 minutes. The worst part was that there were 2 other employees just sitting in the back room on their computers, oblivious to the line up of 6 people that had formed. Entry to the building and room were via key card, there is no elevator in the building and there is a tiny smoking patio. The room was on the smaller size with mostly Ikea furnishings.. although it did have a musty smell and a few stains on the bedding. The view was directly into the window of a large hostel room next door. I would highly recommend getting a Use-It map from the reception area, very useful info included on the map of the city. There are computers, lockers, luggage area, bike rentals and tours available at the hotel. There is also a bar attached, great for meeting new travellers and eat breakfast. Service at the bar was fantastic & the bartender claimed to have had a cameo in the movie "In Bruges". Look out for the 10 year old candle! Bruges is a great city to walk around, and this hostel has many interesting places near by. This is such a great city and if you are looking for budget accommodation as a base for exploring and meeting people, this is the place for you! However as a travel agent, I do admit I would probably be able to find something similar in price with a nicer atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ExploreWithMaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

I found this hostel to be spacious and I liked that there were lockers in the rooms. The rooms were ok but the bathroom was shared between everyone, regardless of gender and it was pretty disgusting, and also you could hardly fit in the toilet. The bar was great and good atmosphere but very loud till quite late at night so better to be down there than in the room trying to sleep!! The location was good, nice and easy to get to the main square.

Room Tip: 4 bed dorm was spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JessicaP88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

This hostel was good for a single traveler. Stayed for one night. There were a number of organised group activities set up by the hostel which were heaps of fun and a great way to meet people. I went on a free walking tour, then later a beer tasting and this moved on to a pub crawl. The atmosphere was friendly and the rooms were fine, just normal hostel standard. The only annoying thing was in the showers you had to keep turning the water on as it would only last for a short-ish amount of time. However the hostel is in walking distance of the city, has free wifi, several computers (slow internet unfortunately), a laundry area (which I believe you had to pay for), storage facilities, a bar, and a lounge room.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ellewoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
3.1 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
#70 of 97 in Bruges
3.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#44 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#39 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,740 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel De Stokerij
Hotel De Stokerij
#23 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus

Property: St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus
Address: Langestraat 133 - 137, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a complex of six UNESCO World Heritage listed Brugean step-gable houses and surrounded by Bruges' historical centre, St. Christophers Inn - The Bauhaus offers the best party atmosphere and beer selection of any Bruges hostel. With Legends of Bruges walking tours and Belgian beer tastings on-site EVERY DAY, there's always a great experience waiting for you in the bar - stop in and try one of our 40+ high quality Belgian beers and chat to our friendly international staff for some restaurant and sightseeing recommendations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Christophers Bauhaus Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing