We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly place suited for seasoned travellers as well as newbies :D”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights with a friend, never stayed in a hostel before nervous of what to expect but absolutely loved it :) stayed in 8 bed mixed dorm lovely big bed real friendly people n nice relaxed atmosphere to make you feel at ease :D breakfast was included in the price and was great considering how cheap the room rate is....... Bar area relaxed, friendly n great prices highly recommended the 5 euro pizza.... Loved it so much we are off to their Paris one in July :)

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (893)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

333 - 339 of 893 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

I was extremely disappointed with my stay so much so I ended up leaving one night early.

Although the facilities were basic and adequate, my main issue for leaving was the relenting music from the DJ in the bar below which went onto 4am. I read nothing previously about the music and noise being right above the bar but I should have done.

I went down to speak to the staff and the DJ himself who said he would finish at 2.30am. He also turned the music up noticeable and when I told a staff member, he denied this which angered me more.

Music and noise continued until about 6am and when I went down to the bar the same night, they said it would be live music the following night which would potentially finish earlier but based on that evening, I did not want to stay longer.

I don't mind a party hostel but there should be limits or some sort of noise curfew or sound proof rooms!

The worst experience of a hostel and I was firmly ready to leave.

Unless you are a heavy partygoer, avoid at all costs as you will get no sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark_T2806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The staff was super friendly and it was really easy to meet people here. The breakfast was great as was the bar at night. There was a tour guide that came through inviting people to a pub crawl and who gave a great tour. The staff was really the best part, they were extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobby703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Myself and 3 friends stayed here in a private 4 bed with our own bathroom. The room wasn't the cleanest. One of my friend's bedsheets had what appeared to be a bloodstain on it. I never have the highest expectations for a hostel in comparison to a hotel but I still prefer the place to be cleaned. The location was within walking distance to the main square of the small city, which is convenient. WiFi was only available in the lobby, and not in the room. I will say that the bar is pretty nice for a pint and has a decent atmosphere. A simple breakfast was included, but it was okay. I'm not sure if it would be my choice if I had to stay again, but it wasn't terrible.

Room Tip: Stay in a private room instead of a dorm and you'll have a better stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren_K_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The room was clean and good. The double was two single beds pushed together though which causes an annoying gap inbetween the beds. The bathroom was clean though the sinks draining was a bit dodge,
The actual hostel was excellent. The bar is cheap and has an excellent atmosphere and easy to meet people and chill out. Wifi good and showers etc clean.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Bruges is expensive, and there aren't many budget choices. My two nights here were OK, but could have been better. My room had a leak right inside as you entered, and one right outside the door in the hallway. There was a garbage can under the leak in the room. Upkeep in general was generally a problem. Very busy place. The bathrooms generally had an unpleasant smell. Pro's were that the staff were pleasant, the breakfast was pretty good, and the "vibe" of the place was pretty good. With a little more attention to upkeep, this hostel could have a much better rating.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaltLakeCityStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

From what I understand, there is an older building and a newer building. I stayed on the top floor of the older building. While I found the room quite clean and the best reasonably comfortable, the locker did not work and the building seems to have some serious plumbing problems!

There was only one shower on the top floor which was cold the first few nights I was there and flooded every time you used it. It was no use wearing thongs in the shower as your feet were covered in over an inch of water by the time you were finished. The sink in our room also didn't drain very well.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Jessica O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
0.8 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#45 of 97 in Bruges
2,327 reviews
3.1 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
#65 of 97 in Bruges
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.8 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.5 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus

Address: Langestraat 133 - 137, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Bruges
Price Range: £17 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a complex of six UNESCO World Heritage listed Brugean step-gable houses and surrounded by Bruges' historical centre, St. Christophers Inn - The Bauhaus offers the best party atmosphere and beer selection of any Bruges hostel. With Legends of Bruges walking tours and Belgian beer tastings on-site EVERY DAY, there's always a great experience waiting for you in the bar - stop in and try one of our 40+ high quality Belgian beers and chat to our friendly international staff for some restaurant and sightseeing recommendations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Christophers Bauhaus Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing