We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“home away from home in Brugges...stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of De Drie Koningen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
De Drie Koningen
Certificate of Excellence
ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“home away from home in Brugges...stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

We stayed in the St Donaas apartment first week in July and had such a good time we didn't want to leave! The building is old, beautiful high ceilings and spacious rooms, the terrace was a godsend, loved having breakfast there every morning. Nico and Ann offer a great service, ipad on arrival for the duration of our stay, honesty bar, bakery delivery each morning, small swimming pool if it got too hot, towels, tv, dvds and best of all a fantastic location. We walked everywhere, saw so much and to have the amount of space to relax in and enjoy a few drinks every evening was priceless, beats a cramped hotel room any day of the week!! We are raving about it since we came home and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: we had a downstairs apartment which was fantastic in terms of size & outside space but there was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank breakingwaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
63
38
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

4 of us stayed in St Donaas apartment and it was perfect. Lovely old building, really spacious rooms and very comfortable. The honesty bar, iPad and bakery delivery were brilliant and the location was very central yet quiet. Would strongly recommend staying here and hope to visit again!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kwajalein Marshall Islands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

My husband and I stayed for a week in February 2012 and LOVED the Carmers apartment! We booked online with no problems - Nico was very responsive to my emails/questions prIor to booking. The apartment was spacious, very clean, had everything we needed, and was in a perfect central location to see all of the sights in Brugge (but on a quiet side street so there is no noise in the apartment). Ann recommended a Flemish restaurant (Cabrinas??) right down the street where we had fantastic local food (in fact we ate there twice). We loved having the iPad to use during our stay - we were able Skype to family/friends, check out places to go see, order from the bakery for next morning delivery, and reach Ann/Nico - a very smart guest amenity! We would ABSOLUTELY stay there again if visiting Brugge. P.S. Take the city guided walking tour! We learned so much more about the city and history of the area.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KwajChristie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

I stayed in the St Donaas apartment for 4 nights at the end of May. The apartment is very spacious and well equipped. Great bathroom with big walk in shower (and separate bath) and a really lovely garden/patio area with access from the main bedroom (which is huge!) - a perfect place to enjoy a drink from the honesty bar or an al fresco breakfast. I didn't meet Ann, but Nico was extremely helpful and welcoming, and all of the little extras like the honesty bar, bakery delivery service and ipad were really nice touches. The apartment is in a great location, just a couple of minutes walk from the main Markt square and close to shops, cafes, restaurants etc. but in a quiet street - the best of both worlds! De Drie Koningen is the perfect place to stay in Brugge and If I ever return I would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Queenie023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

My wife, young daughter, and I have been visting Bruges at least twice a year, without fail, for the last twelve years. For the last ten years we have been staying at De Drie Koningen. Over the years we have stayed in all of the apartments that Ann and Nico have on offer. Without exception they are fantastic. Ann and Nico run a fantastic operation here. In addition to fully equipped apartments, they offer a splendid walled garden area, complete with BBQ and pool, in the very heart of the city. If there is any self-catering accommodation closer to The Burg and The Markt then I would be very surprised. It simply doesn't get any better. Well done Ann and Nico! We have already booked to stay at New Year 2012/2013 and will be reserving an apartment for two weeks in the summer of 2013. Can't wait to get back. It's like a home from home for us now. :-)

Room Tip: There are 1,2,3 and 4 bedroom apartments available to let. In addition to the private garden, pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NeillM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

We recently stayed in the St-Niklaas apartment at De Drie Koningen and it was perfect. The host Nico was very helpful and the apartment, which is only two minutes walk from Markt and Burg, was fantastic and very well equipped. Booking online was straightforward and there were no hidden costs. When we arrived we were given an ipad to use during our stay to find attractions, order bread etc. and we found this really useful. The prices for items in the well stocked honesty bar were very reasonable and there was a large dvd collection. We can not recommend De Drie Koningen highly enough. I am sure that anyone looking for somewhere with character to stay in the centre of Bruges would not be disappointed here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leafy_Bean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

6 of us stayed in the St Jan ground floor apartment for a long weekend in April. The apartment, which opened directly onto the courtyard, was spacious, well equipped and maintained, and spotlessly clean. The kitchen area had all the equipment you'd require, and the dining and sitting areas were tastefully furnished and lit, with TV, dvd and sound system - 8 people could be comfortably accommodated. The bedrooms were all of a decent size, and there were two large bathrooms and separate w/cs. The honesty bar in the hall featured a wide selection of wine and local beers, very sensibly priced, and there was also a free-to-use dvd library. Nico was a friendly and helpful host, and the free use of an iPad was a nice touch! The apartment is right in the city centre, just couple of minutes' walk from Burg and Markt squares, and all the bars and restaurants you'd ever need. The fact that you can walk everywhere quite easily in Bruges, with the centre largely pedestrianised, reinforces De Drie Koningen as an outstanding base for a visit - we'll definitely be going back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dash1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.1 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.1 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Drie Koningen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Drie Koningen

Property: De Drie Koningen
Address: Twijnstraat 17, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel at home in 'De Drie Koningen' - Bruges 6 comfortable and spacious apartments in the same location. Very centrally located in Bruges. Historical heritage (14th – 19th century) apartments until 8 persons | until 4 bedrooms, garden | private parking space | swimming pool****-holiday rental licensed by the Flemish/Belgian government. Available all year round for weeks, midweek and weekend breaks. Hope to welcome you soon in Bruges, Ann & Nico ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your De Drie Koningen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Drie Koningen Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing