We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to all the sights and restaurants.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canalview Hotel Ter Reien
Ranked #70 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Reviewed 21 March 2011

We stayed in a small room which, we were told, had just been refurbished. The new carpets and curtains were very nice but the wardrobe was not tall enough to hang a coat in and there was no peg on the back of the door either. I think the " bathroom " had just been installed. I have never been in such a small shower! I could hardly move.The water was hot though!. On the plus side the bed was about the only comfortable one I have slept in in a hotel.
Tea making facilities were 5 euros per day for 2 people. Breakfast was fine. The receptionist we had dealings with was not particularly helpful.
It is very near the sights and opposite a large selection of restaurants along side the canal.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muriel_cornwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (725)
There are newer reviews for Canalview Hotel Ter Reien
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 725 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2011

We've stayed at the Hotel Ter Reien twice now, once in November of 2010 and another time in February 2011. Both times we've travelled with two others and have stayed in the Quadruple Room. It's a large room, definitely big enough for the four of us. The bathroom is nice too, though is shower is a bit small (but still fine). The owners are very friendly, and accommodating. Both times we had to arrive late, and they gave us the code to get in and our key was at the desk. Breakfast is included in the price and is very good. They are also pet friendly, which is great. It's also in a good location, a very short walk to the town center.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jess_2419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2011

We got a room facing the canal, and the nice view from our room, made somewant up for the minuses.
Bathroom was probably the smallest we ever saw in a hotel. There was not even enough room in there to change your mind !!!
Overall the room was very basic, but the bed was nice and comfortable and we had 2 good nights of sleep.
Close to the city center. Less than 5 minutes walk.
If you dont require a lot of space, it is recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HenrikRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

this hotel has charm and modern fittings as well as a very pretty situation, took a taxi from the station (14e there and 8e back) but you can walk it. Room 10 with 4 poster is in a little gazebo of it's own overlooking a canal, we had cheaper ones on first floor. Places to eat nearby, tho best one we used was The Olive Tree, Greek restaurant in Wollestraat. No cheap food found anywhere really, but lovely place. Best time to go we were told is May, far too busy in July.....The Groeninge museum is closed till April, and the carillion does not, as stated in Time Out play at 2.15 on Sunday, but do climb to see it in the Belfort, it's worth the effort, and the climb has resting places.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

We liked
Price and location. We paid an internet price of e64 per night in February for a room overlooking a quiet sidestreet. The hotel is more of a 5/10 min walk from the centre rather than a stone's throw but still pretty close. It's on a cobbled street and some rooms (extra payment) overlook the canal. No hotel parking and street parking is restricted but there is an underground carpark available, again 5/10 min walk away, at e8.70 for 24 hours. Good buffet breakfast.

We didn't like
Disinterested receptionist. Bathroom refurbished but not particularly clean. Tired room furnishings. Late start to breakfast (available 08.30 am onward). Extra charge (e5) for wi-fi or computer use. No tea coffee facilities in room.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wton_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2011

My husband and I stayed here in February 2011 for 3 nights. I say "luck of the draw" because when walking through the hallways when the maid was cleaning the rooms seemed to vary in size. We had a canal view room which was nice, however the room was extremely small with a very small bathroom. The walls were paper thin as well so we heard many of the "activities" of our neighbors. The bathroom was the size of most showers. If you are not comfortable with your significant other or friend while in the bathroom don't come here. All bathroom amenities such as shampoo, conditioner were included and our bathroom did have a blow dryer. The flat screen television in our room was nice and there were many stations in English. The bed was very comfortable and we both slept well. WiFi was available for 5 euros for your length of stay. This hotel was in a nice location, just a few blocks to the town square. Overall we enjoyed our stay, keep in mind that this is a basic hotel, no frills.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L0ve2Travel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

I would definitely not recommend this hotel. Damp and dirty hotel with a very curt woman at the desk. The bathroom was a horror show. It's a good thing I am in very good shape, 5'3 and 115 pounds or else I would not fit in the shower with the filthy shower curtain.
The only decent thing about this hotel is the location is within walking distance to the sights and the breakfast food was fresh and plentiful. Very cold. Not enough heat.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hb92557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel de Goezeput
Hotel de Goezeput
#32 of 97 in Bruges
717 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#45 of 97 in Bruges
2,292 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Van Eyck
Hotel Van Eyck
#66 of 97 in Bruges
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Koffieboontje
Hotel Koffieboontje
#83 of 97 in Bruges
623 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
#65 of 97 in Bruges
179 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fevery
Hotel Fevery
#7 of 97 in Bruges
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canalview Hotel Ter Reien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canalview Hotel Ter Reien

Address: Langestraat 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: £64 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Canalview Hotel Ter Reien 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ter Reien is situated an arm's length from the Burg and the Main Market square. On top of its central location, the hotel has a quiet placement away from all commotion and charges a reasonable price. An ideal choice for those who prefer individual and friendly service. Enjoy your stay in a relaxed and casual ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Canalview Hotel Ter Reien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ter Reien Hotel
Ter Reien Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing