We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canalview Hotel Ter Reien
Ranked #63 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
Reviewed 20 May 2011

Superb location on the canal, 5 minutes walk from the centre. Worth spending the little extra to get a canal view. Very comfy rooms. The bathrooms are small but they serve their purpose. This is a historic building after all and not a purpose built hotel!
The breakfast is typical continental affair and very good. Plenty of choice and nice coffee.
On our short European trip around Holland, Belgium and Germany it was the cheapest place we stayed but definitely the best.
If you intend to drive there, as we did, there is a secure 24 hour underground carpark just around the corner that is less than 10 euro a day.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    319
    147
    48
    31
See reviews for
77
428
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Where do I start?!
Staff /owners were sullen ( man) and the young lady at the reception incredibly rude!
We arrived at about 8 O'clock, nobody at the reception, had to ring a bell and were given the room overlooking verandah. Had a shock of our lives, room was so..small you could barely move! Opened the bathroom, a horrible plastic bathroom. Flush was going on all night. And worst of all there were ANTS in the room!
So complained next morning,with reluctance she offered another room after telling her that I booked after reading the reviews. She offered to change when we returned in the eve.
So bit hopeful this time, went to the other room to find it marginally better than the other one but the bathroom was the SMALLEST I think I had seen in my life. Again plastic, two people could barely fit in it.

Breakfast was just about bearable, no fresh fruit or salad...very basic.
Bruges is a lovely place but this experience left a sour taste in our mouth.
We were looking forward to this hotel after reading the reviews, but were soooo disappointed after having paid so much. I think hostel down the road would have been much better!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotrotter40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bruges hotels

Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2011

On arrival in bruges,we spent two hours looking for a hotel....{very busy place}
Tried this one by chance,the receptionist {Daisy}, went out of her way,made us feel really welcome,told us way to park,where to eat etc.

FOUR STAR HOTEL WITH FIVE STAR STAFF

MANY THANKS - ENJOY

Room Tip: Very clean,lovely staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FUBSEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

The accommodations were great. The view from our room opening onto a picturesque canal, crossed by a bridge paved. The rooms were a little more modern as the exterior betrayed, but it was only enhance the experience. It was the best of both worlds.
The location was ideal. Just far enough from the main squares to be quiet, but close enough that you felt part of the scene. There were many wonderful restaurants and pubs within walking distance, and prices were considerably lower than the squares.
The only significant drawback was the channel used as a route for the visit. Something to be wary if you demand, or are given, a side channel. The romance of the night before, easily replaced by capatalism early morning boat full of tourists clutching cameras. However, if you're not a late riser and accept the fact that beauty attracts attention, you will easily be able to look right past this small inconvenience.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kamatshaivee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

I loved this place. OK, the room we had was a bit on the small side, but the large windows overlooking the canal filled it with light, and being able to watch the swans gliding past was really something. The bed was probably the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept on, which at the end of a long day's sightseeing is a bonus, believe me. The bathroom was snug, one of those composite plastic units found in cruise ships' cabins, with a tiny shower area, small washbasin, and a loo that might be a bit of a squash for fat bums. But everything worked, the water was hot, and the place was spotlessly clean, so no complaints there. Breakfast was good, too. For the price we paid for our three-night stay, I would rate Hotel ter Reien as excellent value, and given the choice of similarly-priced hotels in Bruges, this is the one I would come back to.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judijee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2011

We spent several nights at this hotel and enjoyed a canal view perfect for watching the tour boatsglide by. The rooms are nothing fancy but we did not plan to spend much time at the hotel. We wanted a great location and a great value. This hotel delivered on both counts. Breakfast in the morning was fine, not grand, just fine. Our bathroom was quite large but having a tub with a shower wand (no curtains or doors) can make quite a mess for those of us who are accumstomed to showers with curtains or doors. In any event, the location made walking anywhere in central Bruge an easy stroll and the price was more than resaonable.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rga777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

This was clean, comfortable and central. The price was reasonable and the location excellent. The breakfast was plentiful. My only gripe is the surly staff who did not greet us or smile. The receptionist did not take her eyes from a computer screen when we asked for guidance to a site and it was clear we were a nuisance. A 'Good morning' was too much trouble. Despite that I would go again if I was in Bruges and just accept feeling unwelcome.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nandi2434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel de Goezeput
Hotel de Goezeput
#31 of 97 in Bruges
685 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Van Eyck
Hotel Van Eyck
#70 of 97 in Bruges
262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#46 of 97 in Bruges
2,237 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
0.3 mi away
Hotel Koffieboontje
Hotel Koffieboontje
#84 of 97 in Bruges
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canalview Hotel Ter Reien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canalview Hotel Ter Reien

Property: Canalview Hotel Ter Reien
Address: Langestraat 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Canalview Hotel Ter Reien 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ter Reien is situated an arm's length from the Burg and the Main Market square. On top of its central location, the hotel has a quiet placement away from all commotion and charges a reasonable price. An ideal choice for those who prefer individual and friendly service. Enjoy your stay in a relaxed and casual ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Canalview Hotel Ter Reien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ter Reien Hotel
Ter Reien Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing